OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Camera Software Not Working, Doesn't 'see' the camera
rogerbowering
post Mar 1 2006, 01:16 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 8-November 04
Member No.: 5,380



When I had my old C750, I installed the qpe-camera_1.5.0-1_arm.ipk software, then plugged in the Sharp CE-AG06 camera into the CF slot and everything worked.

Now I have a C3100 (FigLabs translation). I've installed the software but when I plug in the camera I see a little 'CF' in the system tray, and when I run the software it tells me to insert the camera before starting the software - so I guess the software isnm't recognising the camera's inserted.

I've tried version qpe-camera_1.5.0-3_arm.ipk; I've tried installing to Program area and to SD card - no joy

Anyone know how to fix this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Mar 1 2006, 03:55 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



The camera requires a kernel module, which is supplied in the ipk. Your c3100 uses a slightly later kernel version and so it won't see the kernel module (it will be installed in a differerent sub dir under /lib/modules/). Even if you move it, as the kernel versions are different, it probably won't work.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
patrickcptsang
post Mar 1 2006, 04:48 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 16-July 05
Member No.: 7,606



The camera kernel module sharpzdc-cs in Sharp rom is for kernel 2.4.18 only. Use the one in pdaxrom RC12 feed (see http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...16416&hl=camera - Yes, it works with sharp rom!) and it should work with qpe-camera, albeit some quirks (e.g., very bizzare viewfinder orientation angle, CF unusable after unplug the camera, etc...)

Honestly speaking, the camera is really too low quality for any serious photoshooting, but if someone can make it work as a web camera then it'll be real cool! (I know it occupies the CF slot, but CXX00 machines have usb LAN/wifi/BT ) wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rogerbowering
post Mar 2 2006, 12:12 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 8-November 04
Member No.: 5,380



Thanks for your help.

But.....I'm absolutely useless at Linux or anything technical.

Can you possibly let me know what file(s) I need, where I can find them, where I should paste them...please

I know the camera's a bit basic, but the Z's with me constantly and it's just for fun I can whip in the camera and take some pics
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 2 2006, 12:55 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(rogerbowering @ Mar 2 2006, 06:12 PM)
Thanks for your help.

But.....I'm absolutely useless at Linux or anything technical.

Can you possibly let me know what file(s) I need, where I can find them, where I should paste them...please

I know the camera's a bit basic, but the Z's with me constantly and it's just for fun I can whip in the camera and take some pics
*


just install cacko, it has the required driver.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
patrickcptsang
post Mar 2 2006, 04:26 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 16-July 05
Member No.: 7,606



rogerbowering,

You may download and install the package from here if you want to try:
http://mail.pdaxrom.org/1.1.0beta1/Zaurus-....1_armv5tel.ipk

meanie, do you mind posting the Cacko driver so i don't have to re-flash my sharp rom to try? (Can't find it in Cacko's feed) Hopefully it will solve the quirkness i experience...
happy.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Mar 2 2006, 06:58 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



I have Cacko on my C1000 and while the camera is recognized by Cacko when you insert the camera card, the software does not acknowledge that the camera is in the slot and so I can't use the camera.

Will try some of the suggestions in this thread.

And it is an EXCELLENT camera. I always see people who say how bad it is who don't even OWN it. It takes amazing pictures in GOOD LIGHTING conditions...it's certainly as good as or better than most cell phone cameras.
I've used it in a store to take pictures of the specs on something I was thinking of purchasing and the pictures are crisp and clear. Pictures taken outside in sunny conditions are just marvelous for a camera this size.

QUOTE(Meanie @ Mar 2 2006, 08:55 AM)
QUOTE(rogerbowering @ Mar 2 2006, 06:12 PM)
Thanks for your help.

But.....I'm absolutely useless at Linux or anything technical.

Can you possibly let me know what file(s) I need, where I can find them, where I should paste them...please

I know the camera's a bit basic, but the Z's with me constantly and it's just for fun I can whip in the camera and take some pics
*


just install cacko, it has the required driver.
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Mar 2 2006, 09:03 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(tombraider @ Mar 2 2006, 08:58 AM)
I have Cacko on my C1000 and while the camera is recognized by Cacko when you insert the camera card,  the software does not acknowledge that the camera is in the slot and so I can't use the camera.
*

I know I'm a newbie, and this may not be the correct answer to your problem,
but my GPS card gets suspended when inserted.
Try dmesg after you insert the camera card, and see if it is suspended.
I just issue the below command and my GPS card starts working, (acquiring satellites)
-------------------
cardctl resume
-------------------

Jon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Mar 2 2006, 11:56 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



Thanks, Patrick, the installation of that ipk worked! The camera software works.
Here's a sample of a quick picture I took inside of some print in a catalog...as you can see the camera does very well on print media in fairly dim light. And it takes very nice outdoor pix with true color...of course, it is no Canon Powershot but it is very acceptable.




QUOTE(patrickcptsang @ Mar 2 2006, 12:26 PM)
rogerbowering,

You may download and install the package from here if you want to try:
http://mail.pdaxrom.org/1.1.0beta1/Zaurus-....1_armv5tel.ipk

meanie, do you mind posting the Cacko driver so i don't have to re-flash my sharp rom to try? (Can't find it in Cacko's feed) Hopefully it will solve the quirkness i experience...
happy.gif
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th September 2014 - 08:04 PM