OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Some Questions About The C3200, Some help for new C3200 owner?
Heather
post Aug 14 2007, 02:28 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 14-December 05
Member No.: 8,715



I'm trying to flash Tetsu's kernel from Tetsu's website, which points at an updater.sh from Sharp's website.

Of course I can't read Japanese so I don't know what it's supposed to be named. According to the translation:
"It is noted that it is not zImage.bin. When changing to the setting to which the extension of the file is not displayed with Windows etc.There is a possibility of remaining even if bin is not displayed."

The original filename is zImage-v18i-c3200.bin

Oh there it is in the big text, it's supposed to be zImage without the bin. I'll try that right now.

I always flash it without any other cards in there.

EDIT: I guess I should change my sig now, because the System Info shows the kernel was built August 2007 and I think I have successfully flashed the kernel. Is it always going to show that extra stuff when my Z boots or was that a forced fsck from the new kernel?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 14 2007, 11:46 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



when you flash to tetsu's kernel, if you ad the modules, and tools (maybe it is automatic, now) you install console scroll---that is what rolls the sustem messages on boot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Heather
post Aug 14 2007, 03:36 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 14-December 05
Member No.: 8,715



I definitely prefer that over the blank screen that seems to take a long time.

Thanks for the help.

I'm really liking the Zaurus. It was a good investment. I think I'm going to try out Tetsu + Cacko lite (for wifi support, hopefully).

The USB 120GB HDD works with NTFS. The joypad works for SNES9X after I got a Logitech one instead of the cheapie one. I haven't got the NES+joypad thing working yet, but I haven't given up. GBA runs too slowly to be used, but well ... seems kind of stupid to be upset about that since I own a GBA and it's designed to be portable. X/QT Jumbo on cramfs worked flawlessly thanks to Meanie's efforts ... it's awesome that you really have to do 0 work and suddenly you have Gimp and Firefox and Java 1.3 and so much more all available to you without having to reflash anything or quit out of Qtopia.

I work an hour away from home, so the Z really is my portable laptop.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 14 2007, 04:13 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



welcome. btw, the X/gtk stuff, like firefox and gimp are faster on pdaxii13 than on pdaxqt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Aug 14 2007, 06:46 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Unless I'm mistaken, Cacko comes with Tetsu's kernel already; there should be no need to flash it separately.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 14 2007, 06:50 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Aug 14 2007, 06:46 PM)
Unless I'm mistaken, Cacko comes with Tetsu's kernel already; there should be no need to flash it separately.
*

I think he just added eviljazz's sound patches..have a look at the "sound" thread, though.

Incidentally, the kernel (fastfpe if you don't mind trading some impresion in math calculations for speed, nwfpe if you want good, engineering prescision at the cost of a little speed) in the "what's with the sound" or something like that, thread has tetsu's patches and cacko and pdax--EvilJazz uses it on cacko, I think--maybe have a look there? (you get way better sound--though the new tesu should be about the same thing now)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthis
post Aug 14 2007, 07:44 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



Tetsuu has added the sound patch to his latest kernel (18i)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Heather
post Aug 15 2007, 08:59 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 14-December 05
Member No.: 8,715



I know it's faster on pdaxii13, but I like my QT apps and I thought that distro didn't have QT. So X/QT jumbo was my best option for both worlds. I had thought about going to the super jumbo one, but it was stated as "running half as fast" so I thought X/QT jumbo was the simple solution.

Gimp is usable as slow as it is, and I'm an artist so I would be the first to declare it unacceptably slow. I think when I enable swap it'll be a little faster. It's amazing that the full blown Gimp can run on my little Zaurus, even without swap, and still be usable. Here's my first Gimp on the Zaurus picture: http://kaleyobsidia.deviantart.com/art/The-Fallen-61527085

I was hoping to see pressure sensitivity work, but that's not as necessary.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 15 2007, 05:37 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



pdaX has qt3.5
NOT the same as QTE, though.
Nice job on th drawing biggrin.gif
btw, if you are an artist, and not an engineer you would likely see a definite improvement in speed if you use a "fastfpe" kernel rather than a standard nwfpe one
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Heather
post Aug 16 2007, 02:32 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 14-December 05
Member No.: 8,715



There are some programs that I have carried over from SL-5500 Sharp distro that I do not want to be without. Do you think they would still work under pdaxii13? If so then I might consider changing.

What's the fastfpe kernel (other than what it stands for, I think I can figure that it means floating point emulation) and how would I get it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 16 2007, 03:47 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I doubt any QTE app from the 5500 will run on pdax...otoh, they might possibly be recompiled (not real likely) or there might be gtk or QT equivalents. There is a fastfpe kernel available through the "whats with the sound quality" thread. It is supposedly working fine with cacko; almost fine with sharprom. (there is an explanation towards the end of the thread)

kernels
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Heather
post Aug 19 2007, 04:45 PM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 14-December 05
Member No.: 8,715



Whatever benefit can be gained by running pdax isn't worth it to me if I can't run my 5500 apps on it.

I think I have the fastfpe on the Tetsu kernel 18i? The boot up text shows "fast floating point emulation 0.94M by Peter Teichmann" ... Seems a likely candidate to me. Also, Gimp's response time after each pen stroke has improved so much that now there's no waiting needed. I run out of memory after the second flood fill on a 1024x1024 image, but that's not a big deal and I haven't enabled swap yet so I imagine that will get better.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Heather
post Aug 21 2007, 02:47 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 14-December 05
Member No.: 8,715



Well, I have gotten myself confused now. I was hoping to install the Tetsu special kernel, which apparently has fastfpe, tspressure (which I have not been able to get working ... are you supposed to restart something after you echo 1 > /proc/zaurus/tspressure ? rebooting sends the value back to 0). On Meanie's site it says with the Sharp ROM, Tetsu kernel, and Cacko lite packages, you can have an almost-ish Cacko distro. But I don't know what packages to install to give me better networking options. It seems I have purchased two WiFi cards that can't work on stock ROM (Socket low power and SanDisk ConnectPlus).

So, I would like to try to install Cacko 1.23 except the downloads area of http://my-zaurus.narod.ru/cacko.html gives me 404 errors. I went to the ZUG downloads area as the page directs, but it gave me PHP errors when I clicked on the Cacko link.

I went to the kernel page adf recommends, and I looked at the documentation, and it said the kernel modules are "not necessarily required for Cacko 1.23, which is confusing because I thought you could flash a new distro, or flash a new kernel. You can do both? A site that explains how to get hostap (which I've been told comes on Cacko by default), says you have to compile it into the kernel ... well ... I'm certainly not competent enough at this point to try that stunt. So if you have Cacko, wouldn't flashing the kernel lose all that great extra device compatibility?

And if it's not part of the kernel, is there a place that provides that great extra compatibility as lite modules or kernel modules? Or would flashing one of the kernels on evilJazz's download area that adf linked to make my WiFi cards work? I looked at the changelog file and it seems like the fastfpe-cached kernel for the C3200 will give me hostap, device support, tspressure, and all the goodies I could want in the kernel. So I wouldn't need to install Cacko-full (since I'd be doing it only to make 2 devices work properly and for no other reason) if I update to this kernel?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Aug 21 2007, 04:51 AM
Post #29





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



you can download Cacko from my website - see sig.

hostap is reasonably well documented across many posts on this forum - just edit the wlan-ng.opts files (search forum) to add WPA=y then fix up /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

can't help you with ts pressure, I never got it to work with petite-peinture but I didn't know about the /proc/zaurus/tspressure file, so no surprise; I'm now on Angstrom BTW.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
walts
post Aug 21 2007, 07:01 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 20-April 04
From: Florida, USA
Member No.: 2,933



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Aug 21 2007, 12:51 PM)
you can download Cacko from my website - see sig.

hostap is reasonably well documented across many posts on this forum - just edit the wlan-ng.opts files (search forum) to add WPA=y then fix up /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

can't help you with ts pressure, I never got it to work with petite-peinture but I didn't know about the /proc/zaurus/tspressure file, so no surprise; I'm now on Angstrom BTW.
*



I have been wrestling with WI-FI (using WPA/PSK) on the c1000 and now on the c3200 for weeks. I can sometimes get it to work for a little while and then it quits.
I've had the most success with pdaXii13. I'm using an AmbiCom WL1100C which uses the prism3 chipset and hostap drivers, and already is properly configured for WPA, but the simple approach you outline never works for me. I have to first tell all the config files about the card, otherwise it thinks it is a MA701, which used the orinoco drivers. I don't know how to tell what version of hostap is installed with the ROM flash, so I've taken to installing hostap 0.4.7-3 straight away before doing anyhting else.

I'm always eager to hear about any othe users' successes, as this has become my one "show-stopper" frustration with the 3200.

Once I think I understand what I'm doing, I will glady write up something for a wiki.

Walt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 07:48 AM