OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zaurus-powered Usb External Storage, What hard disks don't need AC adapters?
icruise
post Oct 1 2005, 07:39 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 292
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 7,447



I thought I would resurrect this thread to add some information I've just gotten about using iPods as external storage for a Zaurus. It is possible, although there are a few things to keep in mind. First, the iPod needs to be formatted on Windows to be readable by the Zaurus. Also, you have to go into the iPod preferences within iTunes and check the "enable disk use" box. Once you do this, you can connect it to the Zaurus with the USB host cable. I don't know precisely which models are compatible. The ones that predate the dock connector were firewire only, so they won't work for sure. I've tried it out with a 40GB 3rd generation model, and I've read of people using Shuffles and nanos. I'm sure the current full-sized iPods will work as well.

Auto-mounting of the iPod does not appear to work (from what I've read anyway). You need to manually mount it from the terminal. The Japanese website I found used this command:

mount -t vfat -o iocharset=utf8,codepage=932 /dev/sda2 /mnt/usbstorage

But I'm not sure that all of it is necessary. The data storage part of the iPod shows up under /dev/sda2.

Depending on the model of iPod you have, it may charge from the Zaurus when plugged in. That may be good or bad depending on your point of view. If you'll mostly be using it when plugged in, having an iPod that charges would be good, because you could use it for as long as you want without running out of power. But if you will be using it on batteries, having one that doesn't charge might be best, because it wouldn't sap power from your Zaurus battery. My 3rd gen iPod can use USB, but apparently can't charge from it, so it runs off its own internal battery.

I tried playing a divx file directly off of the iPod and it played fine. However, since my iPod doesn't get power while connect to the Zaurus, I have to be careful about running down the battery. I don't know how long it would last, but probably not all that long with constant disk access. I also copied the same divx file from the iPod to the internal microdrive of the Zaurus. I didn't pay too close attention to the time, but I think it took around 15 minutes to copy a file of around 400 mb.

I think getting an iPod would be a better choice than many other kinds of USB disks for the Zaurus, since it runs off of battery and can also be used as an MP3 player.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Oct 1 2005, 11:26 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



then maybe i can pick up an old ipod that doesnt charge via usb, use it as a powered external hdd smile.gif my mini draws power so that would be bad, unless of course you clip the charging wire wink.gif (aka, a special cable)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
oneguynick
post Oct 8 2005, 08:51 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 18-August 04
Member No.: 4,327



I use my mini all the time with my c1000. You do have to watch out for the c1000's desire to charge up the ipod. All the same I love having 6gb of space.

QUOTE(bam @ Oct 2 2005, 07:26 AM)
then maybe i can pick up an old ipod that doesnt charge via usb, use it as a powered external hdd smile.gif my mini draws power so that would be bad, unless of course you clip the charging wire wink.gif (aka, a special cable)
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jandr
post Jan 11 2006, 02:32 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 10-January 05
From: Boston
Member No.: 6,178



Hi everyone,
Here's a question that hopefully isn't too-too far off topic for this thread: does anyone know of a USB enclosure for 2.5" HD that will take an older 17mm high drive (8GB IBM Travelstar)? Everything I've found so far is for newer 9.5mm drives only, with the occassional 14mm one. It'd be great if the Z's USB could power it but far more important that my drive fit in the enclosure in the first place.

thanks!
jg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Jan 11 2006, 03:53 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



My Archos AV420 with a 20 GB hard drive is recognized by my C1000 - the Zaurus shows the files on the Archos. I didn't try transferring files or anything though.

QUOTE(TsingTao @ Aug 9 2005, 08:14 AM)
I tried the Archos FM Juke.  It attemts to charge itself off the usb (and the Zaurus seems to try to charge it...even when it's running on it's battery).

It shows up in the usb que and is identified quite handily, but I can't seem to mount it properly.  I think I tried setting it to sda2 as mentioned above, but I will try again tommorow, as will I try Ev1l's auto-mounting package.

Can't do it tonight though, I just installed the extended power battery i the archos and it needs it's inagural charge...
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bjornkeizers
post Jan 14 2006, 02:02 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 11-January 06
Member No.: 8,906



The Archos Gmini 400 multimedia player works with the Zaurus C1000 and Cacko 1.23 I assume the newer 402's work as well as they're basically the same unit.

The Gmini 400 has an internal battery and 20 gigs of storage. I've used it for the past year, and it's pretty good.

The Zaurus immediately recognized and mounted the drive. I was able to play the specially formatted movies just fine in Kino2. Runs at good speed in small size, but full screen is a no-go at the standard processor speed.

I didn't check read/write speeds or anything, but I don't have any complaints so far biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 15 2006, 11:21 AM
Post #22





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I found that my 6000 will host an iPod nano, and the nano even indicates that it is taking charge; it was an iPod for windows owners and so I could mount it vfat.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pwaak
post Apr 18 2006, 07:31 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Fort Worth, Texas
Member No.: 9,656



Here's an update for Mac iPod owners. I've mounted my Mac style 4G on a SL-C1000 with a cacko 1.23 rom. I made a directory /mnt/ipod and used the command

sudo mount -t hfsplus /dev/sda3 /mnt/ipod

I currently have a /etc/fstab entry:
/dev/sda3 /mnt/ipod hfsplus noauto 0 0
so
sudo mount /mnt/ipod
works like a charm. I expect that making shell scripts and giving then icons will make mounting and unmounting a snap. BTW, I'm using /mnt/ipod so this won't conflict with normal usb drive automounting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 19 2006, 12:49 AM
Post #24





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I was able to smb mount my nephew's ipod nano. Then I discovered after copying a load of mp3s to it that you need the special synchonisation software to make it work :-/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Apr 19 2006, 10:55 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Apr 18 2006, 11:49 PM)
I was able to smb mount my nephew's ipod nano. Then I discovered after copying a load of mp3s to it that you need the special synchonisation software to make it work :-/
*



It required iTunes to populate the database or the iPod doesn't know the mp3s are there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Apr 19 2006, 10:56 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(bam @ Oct 1 2005, 10:26 PM)
then maybe i can pick up an old ipod that doesnt charge via usb, use it as a powered external hdd smile.gif my mini draws power so that would be bad, unless of course you clip the charging wire wink.gif (aka, a special cable)
*



If it doesn't charge from usb how are you going to charge it??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Apr 19 2006, 01:56 PM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



I have a Ipod Video 30gb (5G) can I do a trick by catting the "power" cables from the usb cable of the ipod(not the white one... Ill buy an extension tongue.gif ) and use it with my Z?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pwaak
post Apr 19 2006, 06:38 PM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Fort Worth, Texas
Member No.: 9,656



QUOTE(DaemonsGR @ Apr 19 2006, 04:56 PM)
I have a Ipod Video 30gb (5G) can I do a trick by catting the "power" cables from the usb cable of the ipod(not the white one... Ill buy an extension tongue.gif ) and use it with my Z?
*


I'm not sure about the safety of this for your iPod or Z. I hear that USB is not kind when it operates outside the standard. I got a battery powered USB hub to handle the iPod's recharging urges. The down side is the hub now claims to be recharging off the Z. This kind of defeats the purpose. Does anyone know how to measure how much power is actually being drawn from a Z?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 04:20 PM