OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Updated Vnc Viewer For Sharp Roms, New features added to keypebble
TimW
post Mar 11 2006, 04:46 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(ken @ Mar 12 2006, 12:38 AM)
QUOTE(TimW @ Mar 11 2006, 02:36 PM)
Here is the latest.


This wouldn't by any chance act as a terminal services client would it?
*


No - there is a terminal services client for the zaurus, though. Search for rdesktop. The ELSI entry is on this page and the ZSI one is on this page. I'm not sure which you need for your ROM but I'm pretty sure I'm using the ZSI one on my Sharp ROM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post Mar 11 2006, 09:31 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



QUOTE(TimW @ Mar 11 2006, 02:46 PM)
No - there is a terminal services client for the zaurus, though. Search for rdesktop.


Thanks, had hoped to do 2 birds with one stone. I installed that one before, but was never really successful with it. I guess I can take a second crack at it again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chyang
post Mar 12 2006, 03:25 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-June 03
From: Beijing,China
Member No.: 156



Ivhave posted the english one sometime before, the qtrdesktop is cey good.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Mar 12 2006, 11:21 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



QUOTE(TimW @ Mar 11 2006, 04:36 PM)
I've added some more trace to help track down problems with unusual server pixel formats, and added some extra code to cope with them - I may even have caught them all, this time 8^).

I've also done a little bit more optimisation by forcing the pixel format to little endian which reduces the amount of byte shuffling and is more likely to match the server (unless you have a PowerPC Mac).

Here is the latest.
*


Got your PM, thanks! I'm getting the same error as stated above. I don't think the problem is on the server side as I get the same error regardless of the IP.

Opie-keypebble 1.0.0 connects (without error) but won't accept the correct password.

Has anyone else tried this on a 6000?

Thanks for your work Tim!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 13 2006, 02:05 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(undrwater @ Mar 13 2006, 07:21 AM)
Got your PM, thanks! I'm getting the same error as stated above.  I don't think the problem is on the server side as I get the same error regardless of the IP.

Opie-keypebble 1.0.0 connects (without error) but won't accept the correct password.

Has anyone else tried this on a 6000?

Thanks for your work Tim!
*

The problem is that none of that trace is generated by my code so I don't know how far you're getting. Is it possible to do

teakettle 2>errs.txt

from a terminal and then send me the errs.txt file?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Mar 13 2006, 08:47 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



QUOTE(TimW @ Mar 13 2006, 02:05 AM)
QUOTE(undrwater @ Mar 13 2006, 07:21 AM)
Got your PM, thanks! I'm getting the same error as stated above.  I don't think the problem is on the server side as I get the same error regardless of the IP.

Opie-keypebble 1.0.0 connects (without error) but won't accept the correct password.

Has anyone else tried this on a 6000?

Thanks for your work Tim!
*

The problem is that none of that trace is generated by my code so I don't know how far you're getting. Is it possible to do

teakettle 2>errs.txt

from a terminal and then send me the errs.txt file?
*



I'm still not getting the trace. All I see is:
CODE
QGDict::hashStringKey: Invalid null key
QGDict::hashStringKey: Invalid null key
QGDict::hashStringKey: Invalid null key
QGDict::hashStringKey: Invalid null key

even when doing teakettle 2>errs.txt

I should add that I installed using ipkg install, and no errors were thrown.

Curious! blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 13 2006, 10:21 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(undrwater @ Mar 13 2006, 04:47 PM)
I'm still not getting the trace.  All I see is:
CODE
QGDict::hashStringKey: Invalid null key
QGDict::hashStringKey: Invalid null key
QGDict::hashStringKey: Invalid null key
QGDict::hashStringKey: Invalid null key

even when doing teakettle 2>errs.txt

I should add that I installed using ipkg install, and no errors were thrown.

Curious!  blink.gif
*

I didn't realise that was the entire trace! I am completely stumped.

The whole app is in a single executable file which I run directly from the command line when testing - I don't even install it usually - so installation location shouldn't matter. I'll try putting up just the executable when I've got it to hand, if you want to try. I generally just do:

/mnt/cf/teakettle

or, if I'm testing for speed

/mnt/cf/teakettle 2>/dev/null

since printing to the terminal is very slow.

Has anyone else succeeded on a 6000?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 16 2006, 03:29 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



Another update. A few more percent speed increase and I've found the correct functions to use to set the cursor but under Qtopia there are no cursors so they still don't work....so I've just taken it out. This means that the "Local Cursor" setting cuts down on network traffic but removes the cursor (providing the server understands that encoding).
Attached File(s)
Attached File  teakettle_0.5_arm.ipk ( 51.92K ) Number of downloads: 62
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
periodontist
post Mar 16 2006, 12:07 PM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 13-July 05
From: San Diego, CA
Member No.: 7,593



Tim,

Just a little feedback. I installed an earlier version of TeaKettle and had no errors connecting to my WinXP box which is running the TightVNC server.

I tried a setting of Scale = 0 and it seemed to work flawlessly...although talk about a tiny display...

The only thing I noticed (and I didn't really run it through a lot of tests) was that the screen was inverted when running in landscape mode (I was not running teakettle in magnified mode if that makes any difference). Luckily, when I turned my Zaurus 180 degrees, everything looked right!

Thanks for your many efforts. Your OPIE Reader is the most used program on my Zaurus...it would be hard to live without it.

Matt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sidmoraes
post Mar 16 2006, 06:27 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 25-July 05
From: Brazil
Member No.: 7,691



Does not work with realvnc...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 17 2006, 02:24 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(periodontist @ Mar 16 2006, 08:07 PM)
Tim,

Just a little feedback.  I installed an earlier version of TeaKettle and had no errors connecting to my WinXP box which is running the TightVNC server.

I tried a setting of Scale = 0 and it seemed to work flawlessly...although talk about a tiny display...

The only thing I noticed (and I didn't really run it through a lot of tests) was that the screen was inverted when running in landscape mode (I was not running teakettle in magnified mode if that makes any difference).  Luckily, when I turned my Zaurus 180 degrees, everything looked right!

Thanks for your many efforts.  Your OPIE Reader is the most used program on my Zaurus...it would be hard to live without it.

Matt
*

Thanks for the feedback. It is nice to know it does work for someone other than me 8^).

The scale = 0 option probably isn't much use for windows boxes where the size of the served display must be the same as the physical display - although I do use it for monitoring sometimes (control is pretty much impossible with buttons about the size of a pixel 8^)).

It works okay with my linux and Mac boxes, though - but even then for serious work I wouldn't use it - but it is "nice to have".

The rotation direction was chosen for my convenience on my SL5000 - I can easily flip it 180 degrees (I'll make it configurable). See the next release 8^).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 17 2006, 02:44 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(sidmoraes @ Mar 17 2006, 02:27 AM)
Does not work with realvnc...
*

It does for me! RealVNC is my server of choice both on Windows and XP (mostly because it lets me try out the latest encoding I've added and is more compliant to the standards - but generally, when I'm not tweaking vncviewer code, I use tightVNC on windows, RealVNC on linux and OSXVnc on Mac).

How about a little more detail....

For example, run "teakettle 2>trace.txt" and send me trace.txt, or just teakettle on its own from the console and let me know what it prints out, or what operating system is the server on, what screen res and colour depth its using, whether it crashed or failed to connect, whether you were using 0.5 and it used to work with previous versions, etc.

Then I may be able to help 8^).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 20 2006, 06:19 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(TimW @ Mar 17 2006, 10:24 AM)
The rotation direction was chosen for my convenience on my SL5000 - I can easily flip it 180 degrees (I'll make it configurable). See the next release 8^).
*

I've got all orientations working (0, 90, 180, 270 degrees) so if anyone is in a hurry for this functionality post here and I'll put it up. Otherwise I'll leave it until there are a few more improvements to make it worth while.

Oh, and I think I've got a version which'll work on Opie ROMs - which is good as I started doing this specifically for my Simpad running Opie! I'm just testing it out on 3.5.4 (typically I got it working on the previous version the day the new version came out).

Let me know if anyone wants to test an opie version....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loji
post Mar 20 2006, 10:40 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 3,244



I'm using teakettle_0.5 and i recieve the same errors as stated:

OGDict: hashStringKey: Invalid Null Key
KRFBConnection: Socket error 1


I am running a 5600 w/ Wapaton 1.6.1 ROM, No overclocking
I have a Linksys wifi card, on a wep enabled home network.

I have TightVNC running on a winXP box that accepts local connections, so it's running. The VNC server log files don't even show a connection attempt form the Z, so i guess the socket error means it's not even getting out.

What could be the problem here? IPK installed fine - no dependancy problems.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TimW
post Mar 20 2006, 02:48 PM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 8-December 03
From: London, UK
Member No.: 1,065



QUOTE(loji @ Mar 20 2006, 06:40 PM)
What could be the problem here?  IPK installed fine - no dependancy problems.
*

How far have you got after starting up teakettle?

Do you even get the dialog displayed?
Have you managed open up the new bookmark?
Have you managed enter everything on the server screen?
Does it crash when you hit the connect button/the okay button/any other button?

Sorry for the tedious questions but this is really puzzling so I have *no* idea what is going on. There is a reference in the original keypebble readme to a bug in QSocket which causes a mysterious crash when connecting to a non-existent server. I can't reproduce this but maybe this is what you are hitting and it is caused by the Zaurus not being able to see your desktop?

I've used tightvnc on against a WinXP box without problems - though I was hitting the problem where tightvnc wanted a 32 bit session and the Zaurus wanted something less but wasn't filling in the whole of the response correctly - but that is all fixed in 0.5. (BTW, have you configured the XP firewall to let VNC through?).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 08:28 AM