OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Henteges 3.5.3 Rom Issues
chayimkirshen
post Jun 8 2005, 04:17 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,076



All,

I've got a bunch of problems on Henteges 3.5.3, and I'm hoping someone can help out. All in all it's a great rom, but these issues are killing me. If it helps, I've got an SL-5000d

1. My Zaurus randomly shuts off, requiring a reboot to make it alive again. This seems to happen daily, and is really starting to get to me (happened 3 times during my subway ride to work).

2. All my alarms are off. For some reason my zaurus is in a different time zone than I set it to using the DateTime control panel. Anyone know where the localtime file is, or what I need to do? It appears that my alarms are off by about 5 hours, which is where Grenwich is from my current time zone.

3. The Z halts after syncing with Qtopia. I'm not sure why, but I need to reboot after I sync. This only happens if I USB sync, which I have to at work.

Any help would be lovely!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreDump
post Jun 9 2005, 08:53 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 715
Joined: 25-July 04
From: .de
Member No.: 4,094



QUOTE(chayimkirshen @ Jun 8 2005, 12:17 PM)
[...]

1. My Zaurus randomly shuts off, requiring a reboot to make it alive again.  This seems to happen daily, and is really starting to get to me (happened 3 times during my subway ride to work).


I can't reproduce this problem. Suspend /resume works perfectly fine as long as you do not use the "Cancel" key to suspend. I never had the Z shut itself off for now reason. Maybe your battery is about to die?

QUOTE
2. All my alarms are off.  For some reason my zaurus is in a different time zone than I set it to using the DateTime control panel.  Anyone know where the localtime file is, or what I need to do?  It appears that my alarms are off by about 5 hours, which is where Grenwich is from my current time zone.


I tried a few of the default timeszones and the alarm worked as expected at the correct time.

QUOTE
3. The Z halts after syncing with Qtopia.  I'm not sure why, but I need to reboot after I sync.    This only happens if I USB sync, which I have to at work.


Sorry, I can't help you with that one. I've never used Qtopia.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chayimkirshen
post Jun 9 2005, 11:01 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,076



It's more the first two which worry me. I always suspend my Zaurus with the cancel button, but in this case that isn't the problem. The Zaurus suspends itself (permanently) while I'm doing work. I really can't make this fix.

As for the timezones, perhaps I'm doing something incorrect. Where do I set the current timezone belonging to my Zaurus? Perhaps I've buggered up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreDump
post Jun 9 2005, 12:02 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 715
Joined: 25-July 04
From: .de
Member No.: 4,094



QUOTE(chayimkirshen @ Jun 9 2005, 07:01 PM)
It's more the first two which worry me.  I always suspend my Zaurus with the cancel button, but in this case that isn't the problem.  The Zaurus suspends itself (permanently) while I'm doing work.  I really can't make this fix.


"While I'm doing work" == Pressing and holding right-arrow or some other hardware buttong for more than 3 seconds? Known Bug of 3.5.3 sad.gif

QUOTE
As for the timezones, perhaps I'm doing something incorrect.  Where do I set the current timezone belonging to my Zaurus?  Perhaps I've buggered up.
*


I've just selected another city/timezone while setting the date and time in Opie.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chayimkirshen
post Jun 10 2005, 04:50 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,076



Ah... I didn't know about the the button bug. Now I'm the wiser =)

As for the timezone thing, here's the interesting bit. The alarm clock app sets the correct times (all my alarms work). However, alarms from the datebook don't do the correct thing. The alarms are displaced by about 5 hours.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chayimkirshen
post Jun 15 2005, 09:51 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,076



I should add to this that today shows the apps time displaced (i.e. displaced by the 5 or so hours). This is really frustrating me, rendering my Z useless.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chayimkirshen
post Jun 17 2005, 03:53 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 18-October 04
Member No.: 5,076



Okay,

Here's all the knowledge I now have (and it's good stuff!).

1. Both the Zaurus and desktop share the same time zone information (i.e. America/Montreal).

2. If I make an entry on my desktop for say 8am, it shows up on my Zaurus' datebook (and today) as 1pm.

3. If I make an entry on my Zaurus for 1pm, it shows up on my desktop for 8am.

I'm quite buggered. Does anyone know if OZ 3.5.2 does this? I'm pretty willing to give up now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Jun 17 2005, 04:57 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



QUOTE(chayimkirshen @ Jun 17 2005, 11:53 AM)
Okay,

Here's all the knowledge I now have (and it's good stuff!).

1. Both the Zaurus and desktop share the same time zone information (i.e. America/Montreal).

2. If I make an entry on my desktop for say 8am, it shows up on my Zaurus' datebook (and today) as 1pm.

3. If I make an entry on my Zaurus for 1pm, it shows up on my desktop for 8am.

I'm quite buggered.  Does anyone know if OZ 3.5.2 does this?  I'm pretty willing to give up now.
*


I'm not have any time problems with this ROM other than the OZ 3.5.3 feature that when you do a hard reset, the time reverts back and you have to reset it - might happen with soft reset too, I'm not sure - it's annoying. And the other feature with OZ that the Zaurus just turns off for no reason and the cancel/off button causes it to go off PERMANENTLY.

Try going to time/date and when your Z is connected to the internet do a time server update of the time - see what happens then.

Only other thing could be something got corrupted during the flash install so you might have to reinstall.

Hope this helps. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2014 - 11:46 PM