OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fast (tetsuized?) Kernel For Sharp Rom, Does it help mplayer play wmv files better?
adf
post Jan 30 2008, 03:10 PM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(the_oak @ Jan 30 2008, 09:11 AM) *
I've been checking around and now believe my power button not working is a result of one of the .tbl files I copied into /opt/Qtopia/etc. I followed the directions in the howto I've linked to at the start of this thread. I now wish that I had backed up the .tbl files before deleting them.

Can anyone (who is still using the default Sharp ROM) post any files ending with .tbl from their /opt/Qtopia/etc folder?

You installedsome of guylhems old unfinisehed work if you installed from externe. The tetsu stuff is at something like tetsu.homelinux.org
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfbrown
post Feb 18 2008, 06:42 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 12-June 07
Member No.: 17,103



Apologies if it seems as though I'm going off-thread, but this seems the most active relevant thread. Has Guylhem's externe.net site got a temporary problem, or have we lost his ROM? It's all 404ing at me! I am a new 6000 owner, haing had a 3100 on Cacko for a while, and wanted to try G-ROM. Or should I stick to Tetsu-ising Sharp? And I can't seem to get to Tetsu's kernel either. Can anyone help, or do I just try again in a few days?
Thanks,
Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 18 2008, 07:43 AM
Post #18





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I think that Guylhem was essentially taking the tetsu kernel, as much of cacko as could be imported, and rolling a ROM without all the symlinks in it that made Cacko a nuisance (i.e. /usr/bin.rom held all the binaries in cramfs loopback mount, and so /usr/bin/ls was a softlink).

using aufs (a unionfs variant) would make life much easier as you could use squashfs (which cannot be rewritten unlike cramfs) for the base distribution, and then you can mount an overlay from another flash partition and/or SD and/or CD card. You can then experiment with the system and even break it, then fix it by removing the overlay!

--edit--fixed typo
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Feb 18 2008, 01:09 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(mfbrown @ Feb 18 2008, 05:42 AM) *
Apologies if it seems as though I'm going off-thread, but this seems the most active relevant thread. Has Guylhem's externe.net site got a temporary problem, or have we lost his ROM? It's all 404ing at me! I am a new 6000 owner, haing had a 3100 on Cacko for a while, and wanted to try G-ROM. Or should I stick to Tetsu-ising Sharp? And I can't seem to get to Tetsu's kernel either. Can anyone help, or do I just try again in a few days?
Thanks,
Mark

G-rom never got finished. At my last look it seemed kinda broken. I stuck to tetsuizing sharp. When I get a chance in the next few days I'll see what I can upload to you for tetsuizing if you like.

Speculatrix is quite right, of course--but if you can do what he is suggesting, then you can probably make Angstrom do your bidding as well. I'd love to see a really working angstrom qtopia 4 on a 6k (though you'd be trading vid acceleration for a faster kernel performance wise)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 18 2008, 01:43 PM
Post #20





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(adf @ Feb 18 2008, 09:09 PM) *
Speculatrix is quite right, of course--but if you can do what he is suggesting, then you can probably make Angstrom do your bidding as well. I'd love to see a really working angstrom qtopia 4 on a 6k (though you'd be trading vid acceleration for a faster kernel performance wise)


yes, any serious effort on the 6000 would be better spent getting angstrom or debian up and running on it - search the angstrom mailing lists as there's been quite a bit of effort to make the 6000 work well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfbrown
post Feb 19 2008, 12:40 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 12-June 07
Member No.: 17,103



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 18 2008, 09:43 PM) *
QUOTE(adf @ Feb 18 2008, 09:09 PM) *
Speculatrix is quite right, of course--but if you can do what he is suggesting, then you can probably make Angstrom do your bidding as well. I'd love to see a really working angstrom qtopia 4 on a 6k (though you'd be trading vid acceleration for a faster kernel performance wise)


yes, any serious effort on the 6000 would be better spent getting angstrom or debian up and running on it - search the angstrom mailing lists as there's been quite a bit of effort to make the 6000 work well.


Thanks very much adf and speculatrix - yes, I'm afraid what speculatrix is suggesting is wholly beyond me - I'm just an "ordinary intelligent person" with an OIP's computer ability, not a programmer/hacker/whatever. I would be very happy with a Cacko-type ROM, just a bit more flexible and overclockable than SharpROM, and G-ROM release 4 looked OK. But it's gone. So, yes please, anything you can let me have to make my task easier and more idiot-proof would be very welcome! Incidentally, I don't know even where to get a SharpROM image now that interne.net is down - can anyone point me in the right direction for that in case I give up and have to go back to that? Mine as loaded is a bit buggy (battery applet disappeared, etc.). Thanks.
Regards,
Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Feb 24 2008, 08:07 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



It appears that Guylhem has recently taken down his 6000 related files. I was one of the people who tested his ROM a couple years ago. It had some really nice features including the faster kernel, and builtin bluetooth support. But a couple of show stoppers were the circular simlinks, no right-hand rotated fonts, the on-off switch was set to control something different, and no gui for WIFI setup. (Well the last two are not really show stoppers, but inconveniences.)

Regarding the Tetsuized kernel, NOT Guylhem's ROM, just the kernel he had on his site, as reported earlier in this thread, the only thing I found not working was the physical power switch.

So I guess when I have time, I will try the Tetsuized kernel from:
http://tetsu.homelinux.org/zaurus/kernel/v...e-v16a-6000.bin
consolescroll, and updater.sh from here:
http://developer.ezaurus.com/sl_j/source/6...update_6000.htm

It appears that the kernel gets renamed zImage, and ONLY consolescroll, updater.sh, and zImage should be on the memory card when doing this update.

And do I need the modules from:
http://tetsu.homelinux.org/zaurus/kernel/v...es_v16a_arm.ipk ?

Also I would need to add the big SD card module I guess.

I believe this next link is to the original sharp rom: (at least it is labeled "normal kernel")
http://tetsu.homelinux.org/zaurus/kernel/v...zImage-6000.bin ???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Feb 24 2008, 12:56 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



I'd do a new sharprom, followed by tetsus stuff and his modules. Check sd-- I'm not sure if the big sd module is there. You'll also have to install the combo battery applet for speed scaling.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 24 2008, 02:12 PM
Post #24





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I do have some of Guylhem's stuff downloaded, I can upload if useful?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 24 2008, 02:15 PM
Post #25





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 24 2008, 10:12 PM) *
I do have some of Guylhem's stuff downloaded, I can upload if useful?


OK, check my website downloads area in 6000 dir.. am just uploading his ROM image now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Feb 24 2008, 05:06 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



Well, I've updated to the v16 Tetsu kernel!! biggrin.gif
So far, so good. I already had the Big SD driver in place, and the upgrade retained it!
When I reboot, there is a lot of scarey looking stuff that scrolls by saying such things as "cramfs: wrong magic", "FAT: bogus logical sector size 480", and about a dozen somethings about "Inode # (5 digits) was a directory with children - removing those too".

In spite of these objections, the kernel boots, and everything (including the power button) works fine.

The only thing I would like to change is that it boots with the 530 Mhz clock speed as the default (called a "163" by qclockchange). Can I change that to default to the 241 setting (200 Mhz for run mode and 400 Mhz for Turbo mode)? If so, where do I change that?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post Feb 24 2008, 10:02 PM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



Ignore those particular "scary errors", nothing is actually wrong. If you search the forum I'm pretty sure I've explained why about ten times already biggrin.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
the_oak
post Feb 26 2008, 04:51 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 426
Joined: 10-February 04
From: Virginia, USA
Member No.: 1,794



Any thoughts on changing the default clocking on reboot?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfbrown
post Feb 27 2008, 09:30 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 12-June 07
Member No.: 17,103



QUOTE(the_oak @ Feb 24 2008, 04:07 PM) *
I believe this next link is to the original sharp rom: (at least it is labeled "normal kernel")
http://tetsu.homelinux.org/zaurus/kernel/v...zImage-6000.bin ???


Thanks very much. Sadly, this link points to something only 1.1Mb in size, so not the SharpROM. If I try the kernel, is anything likely to go wrong? I.e. is it "safe" to do without access to a full SharpROM backup in case?

Thanks,
Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfbrown
post Feb 27 2008, 09:34 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 12-June 07
Member No.: 17,103



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 24 2008, 10:15 PM) *
QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 24 2008, 10:12 PM) *
I do have some of Guylhem's stuff downloaded, I can upload if useful?


OK, check my website downloads area in 6000 dir.. am just uploading his ROM image now.


Thanks very much. But (and apologies for duplication, see my response to the_oak's post, if I try this and screw up, is there a SharpROM image around, now that it's gone from externe.net?
Cheers,
Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 10:01 PM