OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Xp Cannot Detect Zaurus C860 On Usb, XP cannot detect Zaurus C860 on USB
jeevandras
post Jul 15 2006, 09:27 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-July 06
Member No.: 10,417



Hi,
Just bought a 2nd hand C860 today. My very first task was trying to get it to sync with my laptop running XP. I have managed to install QTopia Desktop 1.7 on my laptop. And then I hooked up my pda onto my usb port and XP did not detect the device therefore unable to complete install drivers. I assume one of the problem could be due to a bad cable. However, I am not entirely sure about that coz the pda is still able to be charged by the suspicious cable. Is there anyway to ascertain that my IO-USB port on my pda is running ok with some sort of a loopback test? Should there be certain configuration I should look out for? Btw... I m running Opie 1.2 but not sure what release of OZ I am using. Also, how can I find out what version of OZ I am using? I really hope somebody could advise me on how to solve this problem. I have to say that its been a while since I had been on the linux environment and USB hardware details and workings are quite foreign to me. Though i have a fairly good grasp on networking. So any advice would really be appreciated. I thank you in advance for the help you can give me.

Regards,
Jeev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
brashley46
post Jul 15 2006, 10:26 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 29-May 05
From: Toronto
Member No.: 7,227



QUOTE(jeevandras @ Jul 16 2006, 12:27 AM)
Hi,
Just bought a 2nd hand C860 today. My very first task was trying to get it to sync with my laptop running XP. I have managed to install QTopia Desktop 1.7 on my laptop. And then I hooked up my pda onto my usb port and XP did not detect the device therefore unable to complete install drivers. I assume one of the problem could be due to a bad cable. However, I am not entirely sure about that coz the pda is still able to be charged by the suspicious cable. Is there anyway to ascertain that my IO-USB port on my pda is running ok with some sort of a loopback test? Should there be certain configuration I should look out for? Btw... I m running Opie 1.2 but not sure what release of OZ I am using. Also, how can I find out what version of OZ I am using? I really hope somebody could advise me on how to solve this problem. I have to say that its been a while since I had been on the linux environment and USB hardware details and workings are quite foreign to me. Though i have a fairly good grasp on networking. So any advice would really be appreciated. I thank you in advance for the help you can give me.

Regards,
Jeev
*


Jeev, no matter what ROM you're running on the C860, you're going to need the specific USB driver for that Z installed on your XP machine ... which you can get off the Zaurus User Group downloads page, here: http://zaurususergroup.org/UpDownload+inde...oad-cid-6.phtml
Second item down. (The third item was better, containing the entire install disk image, but Foxdie has pulled the page from his website.)

I'm not sure 1.7 will work with the C860 in any case. probably better to find the Qtopia 1.5 that shipped with the SL 5600, and use the c860 driver above.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeevandras
post Jul 16 2006, 04:57 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-July 06
Member No.: 10,417



Thanks Ross,
Appreciate your reply. The problem I am having is trying to get the drivers installed. Here is whats happening. When I connect my Zaurus to my pc via USB for the 1st time, Windows does not prompt found new hardware. It just go undetected. As a result, windows is not able to install the drivers since it detects no new hardware. I did make windows to look for the hardware, but still no. I assume its either there is something wrong with the cable or something wrong with my C860. However, my cable is still able to help charge my pda when I connect it to my laptop. So I am not entirely sure if its the problem. Before I go out and get a new cable, I was wondering if someone could help advise me to check if USB has been configured properly on my C860. Is there a loopback test I can carry out on it? I bought this Z 2nd hand from someone off ebay so I was wondering the previous owner might have done something to mess up its USB configuration.

Also, you said QTopia desktop 1.7 may not work with C860. Could you please point me to where I can obtain 1.5. The link on zaurus user group is giving me a 404. Thanks again!

Jeev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Jul 16 2006, 06:10 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



If you have a Linux computer to plug it in then "dmesg" will tell you if it was detected or not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeevandras
post Jul 16 2006, 06:21 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-July 06
Member No.: 10,417



QUOTE(Mjolinor @ Jul 16 2006, 07:10 AM)
If you have a Linux computer to plug it in then "dmesg" will tell you if it was detected or not.
*


Thanks Mjolinor,
But I don't have a linux pc available to me at the moment. What do u think the problem could be?

Thanks again and really need all the help i can get.

Jeev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Jul 16 2006, 06:30 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



Here is a pinned thread that lardman started for help with this:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=11785
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeevandras
post Jul 16 2006, 07:28 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-July 06
Member No.: 10,417



QUOTE(Greg2 @ Jul 16 2006, 07:30 AM)
Here is a pinned thread that lardman started for help with this:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=11785
*


Thanks Greg,
I have looked through this before but doesn't seem to address my problem. The bottom line is that XP is not detecting my Z as a hardware. I have also tried hooking my zaurus with my friend's Macintosh, and also nothing is detected. I could only point the problem to Z then. It could be
i) The USB interface is down, faulty or not properly configured. How can I test that my Z's usb is ok?
ii) The USN cable between Z and XP is not working. However, it still seem to be able to recharge my Z so I m not entirely sure if this is the case.

Once again... Many thanks and I m really desperate.

Jeev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Jul 16 2006, 08:16 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



It´s possible that you missed the first detection and it is now installed as an unknown device. Check in your control panel for question marks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jul 16 2006, 08:42 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



What's the output of lsmod? and of "uname -r" too? (both on the Zaurus) ifconfig will tell you whether the usb0 device is up on the Zaurus

If it's a 2.6.x kernel then do "modprobe g_ether", if it's 2.4.x then do "modprobe net_fd".

Windows driver for 2.6.x kernel requires linux.inf (search the forum) and for 2.4.x you need the usual c7x0 drivers.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeevandras
post Jul 16 2006, 10:21 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-July 06
Member No.: 10,417



QUOTE(lardman @ Jul 16 2006, 09:42 AM)
What's the output of lsmod? and of "uname -r" too? (both on the Zaurus) ifconfig will tell you whether the usb0 device is up on the Zaurus

If it's a 2.6.x kernel then do "modprobe g_ether", if it's 2.4.x then do "modprobe net_fd".

Windows driver for 2.6.x kernel requires linux.inf (search the forum) and for 2.4.x you need the usual c7x0 drivers.


Si
*


Thanks all,
I am finally able to get XP to detect the connected hardware. Basically modprobe g_ether did the trick. I was wondering why is this necessary whereas most installation instruction precluded that. I m not sure what modprobe does, as far as I am aware it involves loading modules? Can somebody please advise on what modprobe actually did? Yup, i get 2.6.16 from uname -r. Is that the kernel version of OZ i m using?
I have managed to install a new network connection to my Z from my XP. Yup, linux.inf did the trick! However, I am not able to ascertain that the TCP/IP stack is properly configured.

In my network configuration on Z, i.e Settings->Network (in Opei 1.2) I have
"Automatically bring up" checked, My IP Address is set to 192.168.0.202, My Subnet Mask is set to 255.255.255.0. I have set my Gateway to the IP address in my new LINUX USB/ RNDIS connection on XP... mine in particular is 192.168.128.200.

Of course this IP address 192.168.128.200 is also set on my XP connection and Subnet Mask is 255.255.255.0

However when I try to ping 192.168.128.200 from my Z I get network unreachable. Does this mean something is wrong? My ifconfig shows usb0 to be configured.

I am trying to get QTopia or Intellisync installed and communicating with my Z. Somehow that doesn't seem to work. I was told earlier that QTopia 1.7 may not work with C860, so does anyone know where can I get ver 1.5. Could somebody also point me to a good resource on configuring Sync using Opie 1.2.

On Opie 1.2 Settings->Security->Sync. What should I select the parameter "Accept sync from network" to be?

I assume the "Select you sync software" would be the sofware I am using on my desktop to synch with my Z, no?

Its been a long weekend trying to figure this thing out. I guess I need a short break. Neglected my gf so gotta go make it up to her now. I heard thats what linux can do to u.

Anyway, i appreciate any help u guys can give. Once again thanks so much for your help.

Jeev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Jul 16 2006, 11:51 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



QUOTE(jeevandras @ Jul 16 2006, 02:21 PM)
Can somebody please advise on what modprobe actually did?

Modprobe added the g_ether module to the kernel.
QUOTE
Yup, i get 2.6.16 from uname -r. Is that the kernel version of OZ i m using?

yes
QUOTE
I was told earlier that QTopia 1.7 may not work with C860, so does anyone know where can I get ver 1.5.

You will find Qtopia Desktop version-1.5.4 in the 560v132s.zip at the bottom of this page:
http://www.myzaurus.com/ROMupdate6.asp

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jul 17 2006, 02:40 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
In my network configuration on Z, i.e Settings->Network (in Opei 1.2) I have
"Automatically bring up" checked, My IP Address is set to 192.168.0.202, My Subnet Mask is set to 255.255.255.0. I have set my Gateway to the IP address in my new LINUX USB/ RNDIS connection on XP... mine in particular is 192.168.128.200.

Of course this IP address 192.168.128.200 is also set on my XP connection and Subnet Mask is 255.255.255.0

However when I try to ping 192.168.128.200 from my Z I get network unreachable. Does this mean something is wrong? My ifconfig shows usb0 to be configured.


Only the last set of numbers should be different (due to the subnet mask), so use something like:

192.168.0.202 & 192.168.0.200

or

192.168.128.202 & 192.168.128.200


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeevandras
post Jul 17 2006, 05:26 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-July 06
Member No.: 10,417



QUOTE(lardman @ Jul 17 2006, 03:40 AM)
QUOTE
In my network configuration on Z, i.e Settings->Network (in Opei 1.2) I have
"Automatically bring up" checked, My IP Address is set to 192.168.0.202, My Subnet Mask is set to 255.255.255.0. I have set my Gateway to the IP address in my new LINUX USB/ RNDIS connection on XP... mine in particular is 192.168.128.200.

Of course this IP address 192.168.128.200 is also set on my XP connection and Subnet Mask is 255.255.255.0

However when I try to ping 192.168.128.200 from my Z I get network unreachable. Does this mean something is wrong? My ifconfig shows usb0 to be configured.


Only the last set of numbers should be different (due to the subnet mask), so use something like:

192.168.0.202 & 192.168.0.200

or

192.168.128.202 & 192.168.128.200


Si
*




Thanks a lot Si,
Yup, looks like I got the subnet details wrong. I m now able to ping XP from Z and Z from XP. However, still not able to get Qtopia Desktop or Intellisync to talk to Zaurus. They keep complaining that they cannot detect Z and prompt me to make sure it is on the docking station. Which is not the case for my Z since its a C860. The problem start first when I try to change the connection mode on Zaurus Manager from USB I/0 (default) to USB-TCP/IP (advanced). It complains that C860 is not on the docking station. However, managed to get around that by altering the parameters in the file C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sharp\SL\SSPCLINK2/ComSet.ini. So that stopped Zaurus Manager from complaining. However, when I try to sync with Z it gives an error

"An error occured while trying to connect to Zaurus. Please remove the Zaurus from the cradle or serial cable and reconnect. Wait approximately 30 seconds...... Please verify that the PC link application settings on the Zaurus match the Zaurus Manager settings on the PC".

Paying particular attention to the last sentence. The 2nd hand Z I bought comes with Opei 1.2 installed. This means of changing the settings via "PC link application settings" is non existance on Opei. As I see it Sync settings is editable on Opei through Settings->Security->Sync.

I have set "Accept sync from network" parameter to "Any".
And "Select your sync software" to IntelliSync.

But that didn't help. Also I have disable XP firewall on the XP - Z link. Do you know any instructions on how to get Opei 1.2 to work with IntelliSync or Opei 1.2? I have installed the Sharp Zaurus 2 package that came with Qtopia Desktop 1.5. I was told to use 1.5 because 1.7 may not work with C860. But somehow I m not having any luck with 1.5 as well.

I would appreciate any advice you can give. Thanks again.

Jeev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jul 18 2006, 01:28 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
The problem start first when I try to change the connection mode on Zaurus Manager from USB I/0 (default) to USB-TCP/IP (advanced). It complains that C860 is not on the docking station.


You need the older version of Qtopia Desktop/Intellisync which came with the 5500 2.xx Sharp images. Take a look here: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=11783

Anyone know of a download link for the old Intellisync & Qtopia Desktop software (assuming it's not in the above thread)?

The newer versions (I recognise them by the presence of the connection manger which didn't used to exist afaicr, plus the option to do usb-io which isn't supported by the OZ machines) have a different database format for the contacts/calendar/etc.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeevandras
post Jul 19 2006, 05:31 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 15-July 06
Member No.: 10,417



Synch Software 1.43
QUOTE(lardman @ Jul 18 2006, 02:28 AM)
QUOTE
The problem start first when I try to change the connection mode on Zaurus Manager from USB I/0 (default) to USB-TCP/IP (advanced). It complains that C860 is not on the docking station.


You need the older version of Qtopia Desktop/Intellisync which came with the 5500 2.xx Sharp images. Take a look here: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=11783

Anyone know of a download link for the old Intellisync & Qtopia Desktop software (assuming it's not in the above thread)?

The newer versions (I recognise them by the presence of the connection manger which didn't used to exist afaicr, plus the option to do usb-io which isn't supported by the OZ machines) have a different database format for the contacts/calendar/etc.


Si
*




Thanks a lot Si,
I am finally able to install a suitable Intellisync software for my XP. Yup, I had to go in search of a very old version of I.
For those who may encounter the same problem. The link to the Intellisync or QTopia Desktop software that may help solve this issue is
Sync Software 1.43

Using sync on the Intellisync, I get Z & XP to see each other do it always the crude way of doing this as explained in

http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=11783
After like a gazillion prompts letting me know that an unauthorised sysetm is requesting access to this device, it arrives at "Preparing record for...". On most times... it just freezes there and on a better day it goes up to " "Synchronization in Progress. Please do no operate or remove the Zaurus from the Docking Station" and flashes that indefinitely.

Just wondering if there is a better way of making Intellisync use my preferred IP add on Z and also if you have any idea on why the sync process is hanging. I read somewhere in the forum that by selecting on Opie the settings for the sync software to be QTopia 1.7 would end all those prompts. However, when I tried that with my Intellisync the XP and Z do not communicate. The reason may be fairly obvious but I had an impression that this workaround works for Intellisync as well. Any idea?

However, the File Transfer feature does seem to operate ok... i.e. XP sees Z access directory but not tried transferring any files yet.

Once again. Many thanks for your help.

Jeev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 07:59 PM