OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Should I Get A C3k Or C3100, pls help!
MONVMENTVM
post Jul 25 2005, 01:48 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



hello!

i plan to buy one of these zauri... but i really dont know which of them. i like the color of the c3100 really much... it looks really great. i also plan that i'll change the microdrive for a 4 GB CompactFlash card (so that it is faster and the battery lasts longer). another option would be to change the microdrive with a 512MB Kingston Elite Pro CF card and put the microdrive in the cf-slot when i need more space or want to watch movies/ listening to mp3's.

I would get the C3000 on pricejapan for EUR 477 and the C3100 for EUR 573 both including shipment to austria.

The next thing which is annoying is that there is still no alternative rom for the C3100 now... and who knows how long it takes sharp to release the code (i dont think that somebody will risk to damage a new c3100 just to test a modified c1000 or c3000 cacko rom).

... the next thing is that i believe that sharp has plans for a new zaurus (i believe that now it is really the time to release one with wlan... maybe they would also add another 64MB ram).... i think it wont take really long.
so 100 euro would be a lot more for a c3100 which has just a better color, the rom in the nand flash (ok it is a bit faster...) but also no alternative rom yet.

Should i take the c3000? i have enough money for both... but also i am not rich.... and 100 EUR is a lot.
when i would buy a c3k i could spend the money for a leather case and a charger for Europe (230V)... and for a CF card to exchange with the microdrive.

... and another question: is the c3x00 chargeable with the included usb-cradle like the cxx0 series? or do i need the charger?

thanks in advance!

monvmentvm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
icruise
post Jul 25 2005, 10:05 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 292
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 7,447



As someone in a similar position, let me tell you my reasoning for getting the 3100 instead of the 3000.

From what I have read, the 3100 is a bit faster than the 3000. Nothing huge, but Japanese users who have both have commented on it. The 3100 has more internal flash, which can't be a bad thing. I believe that this is part of the reason that the 3100 is faster, too, since none of the OS resides on the microdrive (correct me if I'm wrong). This also means that replacing the microdrive with compact flash on a 3100 probably won't result in the same kind of speed improvements seen with a 3000 (so you might be better off getting the 3100 and saving the money you'd have spent on the 4GB CF).

Also, it's a better color (not black, but more like a charcoal grey). I don't know how this will affect you living in Austria, but the 3100 also comes with a charger that can be used in the US directly, as opposed to the 3000 which needed a different charger. Given that the price difference isn't that huge, and given the fact that the 3100 probably has other minor improvements that we aren't aware of, it seems to make sense to get the newer model.

I'm hoping that Sharp will release a new model sometime soon as well, but the 3100 really just came out a few weeks ago, so I don't expect it really soon. And who's to say that it will definitely include wi-fi? Everyone sort of assumed that the successor to the 3000 would include it, but it didn't.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jul 26 2005, 03:42 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



You should buy me a C3100 and I will compare it to my C3000 after which I can tell you which one is better tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
whaq
post Jul 26 2005, 06:44 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-July 05
Member No.: 7,619



Isn't it okay to use C1000 ROM on the C3100?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MONVMENTVM
post Jul 26 2005, 06:44 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



yes that is true that the c3100 is faster because of internal flash. the c3k has just a bit of the OS in the flash... thats why it takes longer to load and sometimes lags appear. The only thing is that the microdrive consumes much more power than a compact flash card. and also movies load faster etc.

about the power adaptor: is it the ea-72 or ea-75? the ea-72 would not work in europe because it is 100 to 120V and the ea-75 needs a special adapter plug for europe.... where do i ge something like this?

the only thing what i dont like about the c3100 (now) is that there is no alternative rom yet...

cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Absolute Nirvana
post Jul 26 2005, 07:54 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 5-December 04
Member No.: 5,779



QUOTE(MONVMENTVM @ Jul 26 2005, 02:44 PM)
the only thing what i dont like about the c3100 (now) is that there is no alternative rom yet...
*


If current ROM support is a big thing, you could always buy a C1000 and pickup a 4GB microdrive. That way you have the ROMs that are out now (OZ, pdaXrom, and soon to be Cacko) and the space of the microdrive. Plus, you might same some on batt. life if that is another thing you are worried about. The only downside is that you would have to swap the microdrive in and out if you want to use anything else.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MONVMENTVM
post Jul 26 2005, 11:44 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



the problem here is that i need my wlan card very often. the next thing is that the difference between the c3k and c1k is less than 100€.... and the microdrive costs nearly 200€. so it would be better for me if i get a c3k and put my 512MB kingston elite pro cf card instead of the microdrive... and as you said i could have my microdrive for more data then in the normal cf-slot.

anyway i ordered a c3100 now from pricejapan.... one argument is the included power adaptor... and the beautiful design (i think the c3100 looks best of these 3... but the c1k also looks nice. the c3k doesnt look that beautiful. i am a person who likes dark colors more... and i will also install a "green on black" theme on my zaurus (as i did on every zaurus i had wink.gif )... and the white case doesnt fit that really good. i also think it will not take too long to have an alternative rom for the c3100... i will (have to) resist this short period.... i think i fell in love with the beauty of the c3100 biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Absolute Nirvana
post Jul 26 2005, 12:27 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 5-December 04
Member No.: 5,779



Good, sounds like you picked out the right zaurus for you, and that's all that matters. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
terryleung83
post Aug 1 2005, 07:06 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 68
Joined: 1-August 05
Member No.: 7,753



I want to ask if the adapter of C3100 or C3000 can be used in HK
the voltage here is 220V
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
whaq
post Aug 1 2005, 08:18 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 18-July 05
Member No.: 7,619



Should be no problem, Terry.
It's rated for 100-240v.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MONVMENTVM
post Aug 2 2005, 12:15 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



hello!

i have still one question: i will buy the zaurus directly from pricejapan... but how do i convert the c3100 to english? is it the same procedure like for the c3000 (described here: http://oesf.org/index.php?title=Localising...ting_to_English )?

hope that someone can help me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fluffybob
post Aug 2 2005, 01:46 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 13-April 05
Member No.: 6,865



QUOTE(MONVMENTVM @ Aug 2 2005, 09:15 AM)
hello!

i have still one question: i will buy the zaurus directly from pricejapan... but how do i convert the c3100 to english? is it the same procedure like for the c3000 (described here: http://oesf.org/index.php?title=Localising...ting_to_English )?

hope that someone can help me.
*


I got my C1000 from pricejapan and forgot to ask them to convert it to English for me. They did it anyway though so you'll probably be ok...

fluffybob
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MONVMENTVM
post Aug 2 2005, 04:02 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 4-July 05
Member No.: 7,526



what really? i didnt know that pricejapan also converts them to English. anyway i asked them if they could do this for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th December 2014 - 07:01 PM