OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Buffalo Lpc-cf-clt Lan Card Connection, Getting LPC-CF-CLT working with Zubuntu on an Akita (sl-c1000)
Jockie
post Jul 2 2009, 11:16 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 26-April 09
From: Japan
Member No.: 37,769



Hi,

Has anyone got a buffalo LPC-CF-CLT LAN card connected while running Zubuntu? (HINT: It's not a wifi card, it's a wired one).
It works without any tinkering under Cacko. It couldn't be as ludicrously simple as just copying over drivers from Cacko to a driver folder in Zubuntu, could it?

Should I do a "dmesg" as suggested in a previous post on connectivity today and post the last 10 lines over here?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
duo
post Jul 3 2009, 04:09 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-August 08
Member No.: 22,227



do an lsmod and see if pxa2xx_cs is loaded. this module controls the CF slot.

if not loaded then modprobe pxa2xx_cs.

and yes, listing a dmesg result after inserting the card wouldn't hurt.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jockie
post Jul 3 2009, 06:49 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 26-April 09
From: Japan
Member No.: 37,769



Many thanks for your assistance duo.

CODE
root@Zubuntu:~# lsmod

makes no mention of pxa2xx_cs

CODE
root@Zubuntu:~# modeprobe pxa2xx_cs

gets the ACT light on, then plugging in the LAN gets the LINK light on.

Is there a further command to complete the connection? Currently firefox just displays "Address Not Found".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
duo
post Jul 3 2009, 07:37 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 20-August 08
Member No.: 22,227



you need to setup your /etc/network/interfaces file.

you will probably want something like this for dhcp:

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

or this for static ip:

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 123.123.123.123
netmask 123.123.123.123
gateway 123.123.123.123

if you are using dhcp, then you also need to edit your /etc/passwd file.
find the line that has
dhcp:x:10n:10n::something and change the 10n (where n is a number) to 0.
mine looks like this:
dhcp:x:0:0::/nonexistent:/bin/false

if you are using static ips, then you will need to edit /etc/resolv.conf
and add your dns server addresses in this format:
nameserver 111.111.111.111
nameserver 222.222.222.222
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jockie
post Jul 3 2009, 07:50 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 26-April 09
From: Japan
Member No.: 37,769



I have tried:
CODE
root@Zubuntu:~# ifup eth0

A few lines of text about Internet Systems Consortium appear followed by these lines:
CODE
No support for INET on this system.
Can't create addrlist socket
Failed to bring up eth0.

I tried:
CODE
root@Zubuntu:~# ifup eth1

....but that resulted in this:
CODE
Ignoring unknown interface eth1=eth1.

What next?

EDIT: Spent too long composing this message and missed duo's message posted before it. Will try duo's suggestion.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jockie
post Jul 3 2009, 08:14 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 26-April 09
From: Japan
Member No.: 37,769



My /etc/network/interfaces file looked liked this:

CODE
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp


I altered it to look like this:
CODE
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Rebooted.
Modeprobed.
Ran:
CODE
ifup eth0

...and again got this message:
CODE
No support for INET on this system.
Can't create addrlist socket
Failed to bring up eth0.


Anything else I should try?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jockie
post Jul 6 2009, 11:07 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 26-April 09
From: Japan
Member No.: 37,769



Anyone?
Anything?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbeckerd
post Jul 7 2009, 07:59 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 12-September 04
From: Eastern Oregon USA
Member No.: 4,560



A few thoughts

Have you run pccardctl ident to see what your system is seeing?

Also what is ifconfig showing? Your card may not be eth0 and this will show you that.
Netstat -rn can also be helpful in seeing if you are routed

Since you can get the lights up on your card it looks to me like a config issue and I would try static instead of dhcp to see if that is the problem.

Steps for Static IP
modprobe pxa2xx_cs
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig eth0 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx broadcast xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx netmask xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
route add default gw xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx eth0

You can find the numbers for the x inputs on a machine on your network with

ifconfig -a or ipconfig /all depending on OS
netstat -rn

This is just my method and others may have better methods.

Good luck


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jul 18 2009, 02:33 PM
Post #9





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



is there still a problem with zubuntu not running dhcp client as root? try running it at command line as root, e.g. dhclient eth0, or dhcpcd eth0.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 05:44 AM