OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C3000 Issues / Solutions, C3000 Issues / Solutions
Charlovski
post Jan 30 2005, 01:53 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 30-January 05
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,351



QUOTE(devster @ Jan 30 2005, 10:55 AM)
Trying this, at the second menu (step 6) it would not proceed - it gave a japanese dialog prompt with an OK button, clicking it, would not let me proceed, coming back to the menu again.

You should get a confirmation (YES/NO, OK/CANCEL) dialog after selecting the 3th followed by the 1st item in the servicemenu. Within this dialog you should select the option on the left to confirm. Strange yours has only one button?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
devster
post Jan 31 2005, 03:36 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 21-November 04
Member No.: 5,547



QUOTE(Charlovski @ Jan 30 2005, 09:53 AM)
QUOTE(devster @ Jan 30 2005, 10:55 AM)
Trying this, at the second menu (step 6) it would not proceed - it gave a japanese dialog prompt with an OK button, clicking it, would not let me proceed, coming back to the menu again.

You should get a confirmation (YES/NO, OK/CANCEL) dialog after selecting the 3th followed by the 1st item in the servicemenu. Within this dialog you should select the option on the left to confirm. Strange yours has only one button?
*




ahhh... yeh... by that stage of trying to recover, it was getting late, and I was mindlessly pressing the OK button on each item.... now I see its actually 2 and one says Y and one says N .... blink.gif

its just restored... but im not so happy Ive lost the whole setup...

anyway, tnx for the prod!!

cheers,
D.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Charlovski
post Jan 31 2005, 03:52 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 30-January 05
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,351



QUOTE(devster @ Jan 31 2005, 01:36 PM)
its just restored... but im not so happy Ive lost the whole setup...

At least it boots again and the backup/restore application in the Settings tab is available... (you did make a backup, right?)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
devster
post Jan 31 2005, 05:47 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 21-November 04
Member No.: 5,547



ahem... I wont answer on the grounds I may incriminate myself ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Feb 14 2005, 09:29 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



QUOTE(pelon @ Dec 29 2004, 07:08 PM)
I've created a HOWTO on restoring a C3000 from scratch.
Other than hardware problems, there should never be a need to send it back for reflashing.
I hope it helps.
*


Pelon,

Good work, sorry you had to go through the pain before anyone else but you answered a crucial answer that I was waiting for before upgrading my SL-C860 to an SL-C3000 (man I gotta have that storage).

It looks like, and perhaps you can confirm this, that the NAND image carries a mini Linux distro that can be booted using the D+B menu. Or did I get that wrong, is that the same kernel that the Z boots anyway (just fails later on if you hosed the HDD). Anyway, have string'ed my way through the NAND image and can see references to the kernel and busybox with various commands alongside (the busybox links) so if you can pull yourself back from the brink using a NAND image then that's good enough for me.

(also got your hdd1 image).

Once again, thank you so much. Hopefully this is the first step towards getting some custom ROMs build for the 3000.

Regards,

- Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bear426
post May 13 2005, 03:56 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 11-May 05
Member No.: 7,116



Syncing issues:

We recommend using the C860 drivers for the C3000. We have had reports of the C3000 drivers causing syncing issues. This unit will work with the English sync software. Please make sure to select the Mode Setting of PC Link Setting in PC Link.


Where would I get the C860 drivers because I too am having trouble syncing with the SLC3000? The drivers don't remain in device manager and when the unit actually communicates, which is practically never, I then get a message that states I have an incorrect value and then the whole process shuts down.
Jennifer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post May 14 2005, 04:05 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



QUOTE(bear426 @ May 14 2005, 12:56 AM)
Syncing issues:
The drivers don't remain in device manager and when the unit actually communicates, which is practically never, I then get a message that states I have an incorrect value and then the whole process shuts down.
Jennifer
*

Jennifer,
have you followed the instructions : here ?

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bear426
post May 14 2005, 05:20 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 11-May 05
Member No.: 7,116



The drivers don't remain in device manager and when the unit actually communicates, which is practically never, I then get a message that states I have an incorrect value and then the whole process shuts down.
Jennifer

Jennifer,
have you followed the instructions : here ?

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*

[/quote]

Hi Marc,
Yes, I was given this information in the beginning -- successfully installed the Japanese drivers from the 3000, and pasted the English version of Intellisync (found in the 5600 software) over the Japanese one. There was communication at first, but no longer.
You mentioned something about the 3000 drivers not being good, that I should be using the 860 drivers. Is this what I should actually do and will this solve my problem? If so, can you guide me to the site where I would get them? I very frustrated. Thanks.
Jennifer unsure.gif sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post May 15 2005, 02:27 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Jennifer,
we tested the procedure with WinXP (SP2), Win2000 and
Win 98.
Slight problems with drivers only encounter with Win2000
and they can be solved by changing the TCP/IP mode in
the IntelliSync settings (in this case the "SL-series" driver
will be reinstalled).
Please tell us a bit more about the PC side (what OS,
Firewall, Antivirus...). And i guess it's a good idea to open
a new thread for this.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bear426
post May 15 2005, 10:32 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 11-May 05
Member No.: 7,116



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ May 15 2005, 03:27 AM)
Jennifer,
we tested the procedure with WinXP (SP2), Win2000 and
Win 98.
Slight problems with drivers only encounter with Win2000
and they can be solved by changing the TCP/IP mode in
the IntelliSync settings (in this case the "SL-series" driver
will be reinstalled).
Please tell us a bit more about the PC side (what OS,
Firewall, Antivirus...). And i guess it's a good idea to open
a new thread for this.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*


Hi Marc,
I'm a little confused by your response. Does it mean I should be using the 860 drivers or staying with the 3000 ones? Also, I have changed the TCP/IP settings on Intellisync (re the 3000 drivers) and on the unit - and still I get nothing blink.gif Any ideas?
Jennifer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wareazy
post May 22 2005, 09:39 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 11-April 05
Member No.: 6,849



QUOTE(pelon @ Dec 29 2004, 03:08 PM)
I've created a HOWTO on restoring a C3000 from scratch.
Other than hardware problems, there should never be a need to send it back for reflashing.
I hope it helps.
*



I tried to Use your guide to restore my zaurus 3000. I orignially screwed the pooch installing openBsd 3.7.

And now i only get HDD1 error.

So following your instructions i get to step 4. type in your commands and get this
"
modprobe: modprobe: Can't locate module block-major-22
/dev/hdc: No such device or address

sfdisk: cannot open /dev/hdc read-write
"


If i try using the "mkhdd.sh" file i pretty much get the same error ... just more words to it ... MUCH MORE.

Some one help a newbie out please! Im going on a week trip on thursday and would really love to have a working Zaurus by then!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AndyTiedye
post May 24 2005, 12:01 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 16-March 05
Member No.: 6,650



QUOTE(Wareazy @ May 22 2005, 10:39 PM)
QUOTE(pelon @ Dec 29 2004, 03:08 PM)
I've created a HOWTO on restoring a C3000 from scratch.
Other than hardware problems, there should never be a need to send it back for reflashing.
I hope it helps.
*



I tried to Use your guide to restore my zaurus 3000. I orignially screwed the pooch installing openBsd 3.7.

And now i only get HDD1 error.

So following your instructions i get to step 4. type in your commands and get this
"
modprobe: modprobe: Can't locate module block-major-22
/dev/hdc: No such device or address

sfdisk: cannot open /dev/hdc read-write
"

might be on /dev/hda if there's nothing in the CF slot.



If i try using the "mkhdd.sh" file i pretty much get the same error ... just more words to it ... MUCH MORE.

Some one help a newbie out please! Im going on a week trip on thursday and would really love to have a working Zaurus by then!
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelon
post May 24 2005, 04:49 PM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 23-December 04
Member No.: 6,006



QUOTE(Wareazy @ May 22 2005, 10:39 PM)
QUOTE(pelon @ Dec 29 2004, 03:08 PM)
I've created a HOWTO on restoring a C3000 from scratch.
Other than hardware problems, there should never be a need to send it back for reflashing.
I hope it helps.
*



I tried to Use your guide to restore my zaurus 3000. I orignially screwed the pooch installing openBsd 3.7.

And now i only get HDD1 error.

So following your instructions i get to step 4. type in your commands and get this
"
modprobe: modprobe: Can't locate module block-major-22
/dev/hdc: No such device or address

sfdisk: cannot open /dev/hdc read-write
"


If i try using the "mkhdd.sh" file i pretty much get the same error ... just more words to it ... MUCH MORE.

Some one help a newbie out please! Im going on a week trip on thursday and would really love to have a working Zaurus by then!
*



Yes, The instructions state that you should put a CF card in the slot before you partition. As stated by a previous poster, if you don't you'll end up with the internal disk being /dev/hda. I don't remember why at the moment, but I had difficulties when partitioning on /dev/hda. Let me know how it works out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnwong
post Jun 29 2005, 09:58 PM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 23-June 05
Member No.: 7,433



" I've created a HOWTO on restoring a C3000 from scratch."

Thank a lot for your good work! I lost my hd data when try to install openbsd. I have my hard disk data back, your instruction is very clear. You save my life! thanks!

John Wong
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
usunoro
post Jul 20 2005, 10:57 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17-July 05
Member No.: 7,612



QUOTE
Yes, The instructions state that you should put a CF card in the slot before you partition. As stated by a previous poster, if you don't you'll end up with the internal disk being /dev/hda. I don't remember why at the moment, but I had difficulties when partitioning on /dev/hda. Let me know how it works out.
*


I just recently restored using an SD card, and have seen no effects from having partitioned hda. At first it threw me for a loop though that hdc didn't exist, as there's no indication that may happen in the directions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 10:26 PM