OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Software for the SL-6000, (and feeds)
GoLinux
post Oct 27 2004, 06:24 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 24-January 04
From: Boston, USA
Member No.: 1,531



Holy cow Neuroshock!!! I wonder what would you have installed if you were NOT Linux stupid................... How much of that stuff you have installed on a CF or SD and have you had any issue with that?

I kind of doubt everything can fit in the the internal memory.

Nice setup you got, congratulations.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zar2Cool
post Oct 27 2004, 08:52 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,804



QUOTE(neuroshock @ Oct 27 2004, 04:33 AM)
Be smart and download programs from feeds particularly for 6000 and/or c7x0 models, you will save yourself a lot of greif.

Can you please post the links to the feeds you found all this at?

Thanks
-Zar
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post Oct 27 2004, 06:10 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



jeode
jmap
qpe-gaim
qpegps
zfax
zgps

These in particular interest me. I can't find an ipk for jmap for example, just a tar. I have the feeling I'll need jeode to install jmap, but jeode failed.

I tried qpe-gaim, but that failed also. I got as far as everything being displayed, but couldn't get the irc working properly.

The other gps and fax program interest me also. Knowing some 6000 feeds would probably prove useful. Mentioning it helps, as at least I know it's supposed to exist, so I'll start looking harder smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
perseus
post Oct 27 2004, 06:37 PM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 20-October 04
Member No.: 5,127



I see tkc kapital on the list. I encountered several problems. In the check book register field the bottom of the screen covers some of the comands to enter new transactions. Is there a way to fix this. Also, there does not seem to be a column for the check or transaction number? I bought this software from handango. last week. Is there an upgrade? Or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks for you input.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post Oct 28 2004, 05:48 AM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



ok, based on his clues, I've finally got the following working. The key as he said is to find feeds based on the 6000 or the C7x0 series. Most 5500 apps work fine. Many have the zoom button checked, and work fine when you uncheck them.

zoomed apps: TraveLog PRO, FamilyTree, Patience

no zoom required: ZBEDic + various dictionaries (including the wikipedia) (hint - had to install unicode to get the asian character set) , zKnights, Tetrix, Kismet, irssi, mc

sort of working (no gps, so I can't test it): Wellenreiter, qpeGPS

note: most tkc apps will run if you use the C7x0 or if they specify the 6000. They've mentioned that definitely tkcVideo won't work.

The one app I wanted to get working was Kstars, but no such luck. I found an ipk for it, but it's for OZ and the paths are all wrong.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Oct 28 2004, 04:20 PM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



Sorry folks I have busy for a few days since I posted that list of programs. I am very glad someone stepped in to post the feed links. When I am done with this post and some annoyance things like finishing paying this months bills I will check and see if the two feeds that I use are different and if so I will post them as well!

In answer to the first question, yes I installed everything possible to sdcard (1gb) and I have about one third of it filled. Out of the 25 NAND memory we all start with I now have about 15mb still empty. I did some elementary speed test to make sure but I discovered that there is NO appreciable speed difference between the onboard NAND memory and my Lexar 32x sdcard. Therefore it seemed best to load everything onto it that I possibly could. My IBM microdrive is actually faster writing so I keep wads, mpegs, a healthy swap partition etc. on it. This still allows me my 1gb cf lexar card in the expansion sleeve for lazy storage...MP3s and Scummvm game data etc.
By the way if you do not own a sleeve and do not mind a bit larger pda then I encourage everyone to get a sleeve ASAP... you will NOT regret doing it! Do not forget that sharp will no longer be making these and I am sure they will become quite rare very soon.
Going back to what I have installed, I actually got that list from the uninstall list in the add remove programs window as it appears on my 6000.
tkcVideo is the only program I ran into that I WANTED to run and could not. I am experimenting around with tkcKapital and trying to recreate the issue that was pointed out. If I find a workaround I will post it. That might nix Kapital from my list. I hope not. I LIKE that program.
I was not really trying to show off with my huge listing, I was trying to accomplish two things;

First was to demonstrate and settle once and for all that the 6000 did NOT suffer huge insurmountable incompatibilities concerning existing software. Further I was being honest about my knowledge level to show that even a determined newbie could easily do what I have done!
Second was to fill a niche that I had noticed that there was a lack of information concerning retail programs and compatibility as many ppl will not buy unless they KNOW it works. So go out there and buy these programs...There is some VERY good software in that list that is worth every penny invested. Support your Zaurus/Linux community and put your bucks behind your bark!

God Bless All,

NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Oct 28 2004, 06:26 PM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



As promised here is the feed info;

Stupkids feed-- http://www.bryandluca.com/feed/
This is a C860 feed I believe but everything I have tried from there works on the 6000.

Here are some links to other software threads on this forum that I have found useful for particular programs and that are chock full of links to How-tos etc;

Kismet - http://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...=software&st=15

Opies Sharp Rom feed-- http://opie.handhelds.org/feed/stable/sharprom/
This is NOT a 6000 particular feed. It does however have many helpful programs/applets that run just fine on the 6000 that are hard to find elsewhere.

Nethack - (this very thread)

vnc-keypebble - http://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...=software&st=30
NOTE; I installed opie-keypebble fromthe above opie feed and it worked with no further action on my part.

Prboom - http://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...=7726&hl=prboom
This is a thread that I culled the info on getting the right packages of SDL and prboom. Works like a charm!

Java - http://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...ic=7919&hl=java
This will help you run java programs under Suns jme java interpreter if you would rather use it than installing jeode. If someone would grab zaurus java benchmark and run it under jeode and then the built in jme I would LOVE to know which is faster.

Last but not least do not forget Zugs very own feed that you should see to your left.

Also do not forget that all of these links may not be 100 percent solely for the 6000. The first link is the only one I know is purely for the c860 and works with the 6000.

As always I hope this info helps!

God Bless,

NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aarons
post Oct 29 2004, 10:56 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 21-October 04
Member No.: 5,137



Ken: qpe-gaim works for me. What problems are you having?

Once I figured out the Display parameter for making things run 640x480 I went through and added that line to all my applications. most work fine (yay!) but some don't. Noteably: qpe-alarmclock and powerchord.

powerchord opens as a tiny unmoveable/unresizeable window and the pulldown menus are too big for the window, so they're all bunched together and there isn't enough room for the text. I downloaded the source for this, but I have no idea how to compile stuff for this, so if someone has a howto on that (I'd like to use an x86 debian system for the builds) I'd appreciate it.

qpe-alarmclock opens are a full screen window, but the gui elements are all bunched in the corner, and the fonts are too big. How can I make things use small fonts? Is there some sort of a font browser available?

Of course qpe-alarmclock is useless since the system time on this skews by at least 5 minutes a day. Has anyone found a fix for that?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post Oct 29 2004, 11:17 AM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



Neuroshock,

How in the world did you manage to get jmap going? I can't seem to find an ipk for it anywhere, much less even know where it wants the maps!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post Oct 29 2004, 11:20 AM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



aarons,

Basically it had problems connecting to the irc. I've since then moved on and gotten irssi working instead. While it would have been nice to have all the other protocols in my Z, I began thinking about the specific things I wouldn't be able to resolve, like logging into x on the undernet.

I may try again later, thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aarons
post Oct 29 2004, 12:36 PM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 21-October 04
Member No.: 5,137



Yeah. I really want zephyr support in qpe-gaim, but apparently that plugin wasn't compiled. I'll fix it eventually...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post Oct 29 2004, 12:41 PM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



ok, found out what jmap needs, which was jeode instead of the built in java machine (the evm vs cvm issue).

After all of that, it turns out that jmap runs a bit slow, although it's a great idea. What I've decided to do is to use the imaging program that's built into the 6000 instead to pull up the jpg. The advantages for me is that it's faster and I can use the stylus to drag around the single image itself, rather than to have to load the various smaller images each time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dsavard
post Oct 31 2004, 07:20 PM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Somewhere near Montreal, QC Canada
Member No.: 4,267



Some additions:
  • Portabase
  • Tx Image Viewer
  • VisualQ
  • zBattleship
  • zIPSC
  • Cumulus
  • minIDE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xjqian
post Nov 1 2004, 02:42 AM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 500
Joined: 17-January 04
From: St. Louis, USA
Member No.: 1,478



QUOTE(aarons @ Oct 29 2004, 10:56 AM)
Ken: qpe-gaim works for me.  What problems are you having?

Once I figured out the Display parameter for making things run 640x480 I went through and added that line to all my applications.  most work fine (yay!) but some don't.  Noteably: qpe-alarmclock and powerchord.

I have problem with gaim to.

It logged onto MSN fine for me, but once I touch the screen or make any changes, the program just crashes. If I choose to auto-login, it crashes automatically.

I found the installation steps are more than what's on gaim's installation pagess. I'm a newbie. Does it matters which version of lib-opie and zlib you use? I want to use gaim so baddly. Could you please post a how-to for getting gaim to work on 6000? Thanks a lot.

PS. I tried to uninstall everything (libs) and install again. One question, how does gaim remember my account name? Could you tell me where gaim stores my account information after uninstallation?

Edit: Finally, I got it to work for me. I only use MSN. But it seems to be very unstable. Most of the time if I change the MSN account setting, it just crashes. Well, I can live with that, just not playing around.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gramps
post Dec 2 2004, 04:27 PM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 22-November 04
Member No.: 5,570



Anybody got any good feeds for the 6K, the ones on the wiki seem to be out dated, alot of them do not work including the one for Sharp.

Allen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 07:45 PM