OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Two Network Cf Cards?
Joshp
post Jun 24 2007, 12:33 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 15-February 04
From: The Chicago land area ,Illinois, USA
Member No.: 1,875



Is there any why that I could plug in two cf network cards into a sl-5500?

JP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahm
post Jun 24 2007, 01:15 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 4,809



QUOTE(Joshp @ Jun 24 2007, 02:33 PM)
Is there any why that I could plug in two cf network cards into a sl-5500?

JP
*


Very much no.

They make CF->PCMCIA adapters, but I don't think you can convert 1 CF slot into 2 PCMCIA slots.

The 6000 could do it with a sled.

A 3100 or 3200 might be able to do it with a lot of software work, by replacing the internal MD.

You could use any of the USB host enabled devices and use one CF, one USB adapter. Or 2 USB adapters. Or use a 6000's wireless, + a CF card.

Or use the USB client function to plug it into a computer and use the computer's network card.

I can't think of any other dual network combos unless you don't care about speed and want to incorporate serial or IR?

Most of your options completely eliminate the 5500, though.

*edit*

Oh! Thought of another one. Get the CF->USB card and a pair of USB adapters.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joshp
post Jun 24 2007, 03:03 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 15-February 04
From: The Chicago land area ,Illinois, USA
Member No.: 1,875



Ya I figured, my idea is just as crazy though. I want to turn my 5500 with a broken screen into a firewall for my network. Was just trying to figure out some ideas.

JP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
T3_slider
post Jun 24 2007, 04:14 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 26-December 06
Member No.: 13,449



That would be one slow firewall...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joshp
post Jun 24 2007, 04:34 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 265
Joined: 15-February 04
From: The Chicago land area ,Illinois, USA
Member No.: 1,875



Well I never said it would be fast, mostly for a back up in case my main one goes down. And just to see if it can be done.

JP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Jun 24 2007, 11:38 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



well it would be faster than 90% of the home routers that people have (mips 200Mhz 32MB of ram)

it could be done with a c3xxx series (and quite nicly, seems like a good use for the ones that are getting sold) but usb is your best bet

you could have a firewall with one interface with vlans (crazy) or by making it the gateway but i would consider it non safe for production use
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st August 2014 - 10:05 AM