OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Complete Vmware-zaurussdk With Lots Of Libs
matthis
post Sep 15 2006, 10:24 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



Hello devs and all,

I have tried the vmware-player image of zaurus SDK and it is really nive and easy to use. It is quite fast on my PIII-1Ghz so that was a nice surprise too.

The point of using it for me would not to make my programs, but to port existing programs to the sharp rom, lacking programs when compared to pdaXrom especially.

In order to do that we need other libs in the SDK to make porting programs easy.

I thought I would start adding SDL dev libs, so I got a fresh SDL tarball 1.2.11
I however fail to build-it.

Here is what I did:

Set de environment to arm with dev-arm-qpe.sh
configure with:
CODE
NM=arm-linux-nm LD=arm-linux-ld CC=arm-linux-gcc CXX=arm-linux-g++ RANLIB=arm-linux-ranlib AR=arm-linux-ar ./configure  --enable-video-qtopia --disable-video-dummy --disable-video-dga --disable-arts --disable-esd --disable-alsa --disable-cdrom --disable-video-x11 --disable-video-fbcon --disable-nasm --prefix=/home/dsl/sdl-cross/ --host=arm-unknown-linux-gnu


Then make, but gets the following error:

CODE
./src/video/qtopia/SDL_sysvideo.cc: In function `int QT_VideoInit(SDL_VideoDevice *, SDL_PixelFormat *)':
./src/video/qtopia/SDL_sysvideo.cc:230: invalid use of `this' in non-member function
./src/video/qtopia/SDL_sysvideo.cc:231: invalid use of `this' in non-member function
make: *** [build/SDL_sysvideo.lo] Error 1


Any help?
Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Sep 16 2006, 06:58 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(matthis @ Sep 16 2006, 04:24 PM)
Hello devs and all,

I have tried the vmware-player image of zaurus SDK and it is really nive and easy to use. It is quite fast on my PIII-1Ghz so that was a nice surprise too.

The point of using it for me would not to make my programs, but to port existing programs to the sharp rom, lacking programs when compared to pdaXrom especially.

In order to do that we need other libs in the SDK to make porting programs easy.

I thought I would start adding SDL dev libs, so I got a fresh SDL tarball 1.2.11
I however fail to build-it.

Here is what I did:

Set de environment to arm with dev-arm-qpe.sh
configure with:
CODE
NM=arm-linux-nm LD=arm-linux-ld CC=arm-linux-gcc CXX=arm-linux-g++ RANLIB=arm-linux-ranlib AR=arm-linux-ar ./configure  --enable-video-qtopia --disable-video-dummy --disable-video-dga --disable-arts --disable-esd --disable-alsa --disable-cdrom --disable-video-x11 --disable-video-fbcon --disable-nasm --prefix=/home/dsl/sdl-cross/ --host=arm-unknown-linux-gnu


Then make, but gets the following error:

CODE
./src/video/qtopia/SDL_sysvideo.cc: In function `int QT_VideoInit(SDL_VideoDevice *, SDL_PixelFormat *)':
./src/video/qtopia/SDL_sysvideo.cc:230: invalid use of `this' in non-member function
./src/video/qtopia/SDL_sysvideo.cc:231: invalid use of `this' in non-member function
make: *** [build/SDL_sysvideo.lo] Error 1


Any help?
Thanks!
*


I would not use the latest SDL libraries since it is for the newer versions of qtopia and opie. The best would be to use 1.2.5 or 1.2.6 since most of the existing SDL games for the Zaurus are already using those libraries so compatability with existing apps would also be very important. If you want to port apps for the newer clamshell models, then SDL-1.2.5-BVDD would be the way to go, otherwise, the zports SDL variants would be more compatible for all Z models.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthis
post Sep 16 2006, 07:33 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



Thanks for your help!! I first thought I would go with 1.2.5 but couldn't find it on libsdl.org so gave a go at the latest... I look for 1.2.5 or 1.2.5-bvdd, and report back on my progress.
Best regards,

mat
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthis
post Sep 16 2006, 08:51 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



OK, so now I that I am using 1.2.5, libsdl compiles without complaining.
However, when I move on to build the test program which is included in the sources, I get the following problem:
CODE
dsl@box:~/SDL-1.2.5/test$ make
arm-linux-gcc -DPACKAGE=\"SDL_tests\" -DVERSION=\"1.2.3\" -DX_DISPLAY_MISSING=1                          -I. -I.      -g -O2 -I/home/dsl/sdl-cross//include/SDL -D_REENTRANT -Dmain=SDL_                        main -c testver.c
arm-linux-gcc  -g -O2 -I/home/dsl/sdl-cross//include/SDL -D_REENTRANT -Dmain=SDL                        _main  -o testver  testver.o  -L/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib -Wl,-rpath,/home/dsl/sd                        l-cross//lib -lSDLmain -lSDL -L/opt/Qtopia/sharp/lib -L/opt/Qtopia/sharp/lib/ -l                        qpe -lqte -lpthread
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `DISKAUD_bootstrap'
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `SDL_SYS_JoystickUpda                        te'
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `SDL_SYS_JoystickOpen                        '
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `SDL_SYS_JoystickQuit                        '
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `DSP_bootstrap'
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `SDL_SYS_JoystickName                        '
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `Qtopia_bootstrap'
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `DMA_bootstrap'
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `SDL_SYS_JoystickInit                        '
/home/dsl/sdl-cross//lib/libSDL.so: undefined reference to `SDL_SYS_JoystickClos                        e'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [testver] Error 1


- did I miss an option when configuring sdl?
- do I need to use the qtopia tmake or something?

Thanks for any help! Sorry for the newbieness...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sicklittlemonkey
post Oct 14 2006, 07:10 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-November 04
Member No.: 5,618



Hey guys.

Is the VMWare image still available for download/torrent somewhere?
I converted the Kopsis Qemu disk image to a VMWare image myself, but DSL often hangs in the latest VMWare Player.

Bit of a Linux newbie here - could use a hand to get my dev off the ground.

Cheers,
Nick.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 09:59 PM