OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 'New' 5500. Can't sync. Help!
engwar
post Jan 14 2004, 08:45 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,441



OK, picked up a used 5500 from Ebay. Have attempted to install/uninstall/reinstall Qtopia and Intellisync and driver over and over. It seems my Z doesn't even connect to the computer. It says "communicating" and then after a few minutes of trying I get the message... "PC-Link Error occured. Please confirm the connection."

I'm using Win2K professional.

I've attempted various USB ports, both powered hub and directly to the back of the computer.

I'd sure like to play with my new toy but am extremely frustrated at this point. Any idea what to look for?

Being a used device I guess it could be the Z itself, or the cradle. I still think it's a software issue.

I'm using USB - I/O (default). What should my hostname and USB IP be set to?

My ROM version is 3.1.0.

Help this newbie, please!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jan 15 2004, 03:31 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
I'm using USB - I/O (default). What should my hostname and USB IP be set to?


Nothing as you're not using TCP/IP.

Did Windows ask you to install the driver for the Z?

You might be better off selecting USB-TCP/IP in the PC Link applet on the settings screen.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
engwar
post Jan 15 2004, 04:11 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,441



I've cleared out the hostname and IP info.

Windows did ask me to install the driver. "SL Series(NDIS 5)" I believe.

The first time I tried all this I made the mistake of connecting my cradle to the PC *before* installing Qtopia or Intellisync, which apparently is the wrong order. Since then I've uninstalled everything and reinstalled in the recommended order.

If I do use USB-TCP/IP what do I use as hostname/IP address?

Thanks for your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Jan 15 2004, 04:47 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Use 192.168.129.201 on the Z as the IP address, subnet mask 255.255.255.0

Use 192.168.129.200 on the PC as the IP address, subnet mask 255.255.255.0 (This bit might be set for you anyway)


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Jan 15 2004, 07:54 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



You also have to remember that the sync software that came with your Z will not work with the 3.1.0 rom. Each new rom has had a new version of intellisync that it works with. Check the downloads on the myzaurus.com site.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
engwar
post Jan 15 2004, 08:31 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,441



Thanks, undrwater. I guess the previous owner updated the rom. I'll have to try downloading the new intellisync software this evening.

I can't wait to learn more about my Z. It seems to make my old Palm look like a toy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
engwar
post Jan 16 2004, 03:20 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,441



Hmmm. Downloaded the software and still no luck. My settings are the same on the Z and the PC, USB - I/O (default). On one hand it seems as if the PC just doesn't "see" the Z. On the other hand, if I remove the Z my PC complains that I didn't unplug or eject my hardware properly. Which it describes as 'SL Series (NDIS 5) at Location 0' so the PC *does* seem to understand that some hardware is connected. I'm not sure if 'Location 0' is an issue. Don't know much about how USB works. It's normally pretty plug-and-play.

I also attempted Zaurus File Transfer and got the same Communication Error. It tells me to unplug and then reconnect my Z. I do this and get the same result.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Jan 16 2004, 04:20 AM
Post #8





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



QUOTE
Any thoughts would be appreciated.


Lokk ... I'm not techie expert but I've been 'round the houses a few times over the last year with my 5500 and so want to make a 'simple' suggestion ...

How about starting again at 'ground zero', ie totally uninstall EVERYTHING related to Z on your PC, then download the excellent Kompany.ROM and install that instead of the Sharp ROM. This will give you a clean start on the Z too and in my view it is just so much nicer and easier to use. Then install, following the exact instructions and order, the Sync software on your PC ... latest version. Then it should all sing and dance.

I would actually also uninstall your USB card and have that install itself again when you boot up. This may not matter though.

You can then download and install other stuff to the Z.

BTW you will need a compact flash card and PC/card adaptor to download ROM to PC, copy to card, then install from card to Z. Remember to format this as FAT not FAT 32.

Stick with it. The Z is great and everything actually works really well if you get is working!!!!! Try it with a WiFi card too, it's great :-)

Good luck ... sure it's frustrating now, but you'll learn about the Z as you go!

Dave
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpjackson67
post Jan 16 2004, 05:33 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 11-December 03
Member No.: 1,148



I had some problem synching with 3.10 after I had upgraded from the older ROM/Intellisync. My advice (follows the above post a bit is): Uninstall intellisynch from your P.C. Find the SLZ1Uninstall.exe in the USBDrivers folder that comes with the NEW intellisync. Double click on that. Then reboot.

Re-install the new Intellisync (and re-boot when prompted). Then you will get a clean set of new USB drivers and it should work like a charm.

....now I might go and investigate the TkCompany ROM now that I know it Synchs properly........ (Thanks "Guest")
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
engwar
post Jan 17 2004, 02:33 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 1,441



I'm up and running. It seemed to be a couple of things.

I stayed with the 3.10 ROM. I carefully uninstalled and reinstalled the intellisync software and driver in the right order.

Even though I'm not using TCP/IP I had to make sure the IP address on the Z and the PC matched.

Thanks for everyone's help and suggestions. I can tell I'm going to love my Zaurus! and never look back at the Palm!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 11:27 AM