OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wellenreiter Works On Sl6000 - But Slow Detection
Guest_Guest_*
post Nov 24 2004, 07:03 AM
Post #1





Guests






wellenreiter works on the stock sharp rom w/ my sl 6000. the only problem is that it detects AP's much slower than kismet does. im using the default prism2 drivers. could this be the problem? if so, i'd be able to install the hostap drivers, correct? are there any instructions for doing so?

i'm not sure if wellenreiter works slower than kismet or not, so i have no idea if my current wifi driver is the problem. thanks for any help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Nov 24 2004, 07:53 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



hostap doesn't work with USB wifi cards like in the SL6000 mad.gif
For now you're stuck with wlan-ng on tosa.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_Guest_*
post Nov 24 2004, 09:01 AM
Post #3





Guests






but does wellenreiter normally not detect AP's as fast as kismet? even if it doesn't, that would be fine because i really like that it can detect other nodes/ap's. so i'd need to get a wifi CF card in order to use hermes/orinocco or hostap drivers?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Nov 24 2004, 10:42 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



Wellenreiter shouldn't detect systems slower than kismet. Maybe kismet has a faster channel hopping sequence or anything which would explain the difference.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sgtron
post Dec 24 2004, 09:15 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 20-November 04
Member No.: 5,544



Wellenreiter tells me I'm not running it as root, but I have the "run as root" box checked. Anyone else see that?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
soundwave106
post Dec 24 2004, 11:48 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 29-November 04
Member No.: 5,667



Yes, but I don't believe that the functionality of the application is affected. Wellenreiter detected a network just fine last night in a test even with that message.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sgtron
post Dec 31 2004, 09:44 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 20-November 04
Member No.: 5,544



Yeah, it still detects, but "sniffer, configure, intrusion" is greyed out, and not selectable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Dec 31 2004, 10:12 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(sgtron @ Dec 31 2004, 08:44 PM)
Yeah, it still detects, but "sniffer, configure, intrusion" is greyed out, and not selectable.

I get this too. They were not greyed out when I had oz installed, so something with this version is messed up. I'd like to look at the config but can't find it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rrnwexec
post Jul 5 2005, 03:02 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 140
Joined: 1-April 04
Member No.: 2,608



QUOTE(BarryW @ Dec 31 2004, 11:12 PM)
QUOTE(sgtron @ Dec 31 2004, 08:44 PM)
Yeah, it still detects, but "sniffer, configure, intrusion" is greyed out, and not selectable.

I get this too. They were not greyed out when I had oz installed, so something with this version is messed up. I'd like to look at the config but can't find it.
*




They are also greyed out on OZ/Opie 3.5.3. I've yet to find a workaround.

Anyone out there have a suggestion?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 04:17 AM