OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Best Distro For Bitbake/oe, the old silly question...
ant
post Jul 27 2006, 07:32 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 11-March 04
From: IT
Member No.: 2,270



What distro would you suggest today for developing?

I use Gentoo in my office since 4 years and am very happy with it.
What terrify me is the recompiling time of the graphical environment ... not required on a production server...

What about the latest OpenSuse 10.X ? I had a complete desktop distro in a few clics...but don't know about development.

Some lights?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Jul 27 2006, 09:14 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



Using Mandriva since co-founding OE. I regularly try alternatives but always come back.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Jul 27 2006, 09:29 AM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,209
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



I use Fedora 4/5... works fine for me... plus all the require packages are easily installable but using the livna repo's.....

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ant
post Jul 27 2006, 10:00 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 11-March 04
From: IT
Member No.: 2,270



Thx guys

Now just let see whether Mandriva and Fedora have a recent lilo...you know, /boot will start on the 100th GB of my disk...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ant
post Aug 17 2006, 12:06 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 11-March 04
From: IT
Member No.: 2,270



Upgrade:

Finally I installed ArkLinux.

The 2006.1 release is very neat and I have to say that installing bitbake 1.4.2 and monotone 0.28 was really quick 'n easy.
No missing deps, no problems at all! All done in 20 min.

Cheers

Ant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Aug 17 2006, 02:27 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



Debian 'sid' forever (my first and only Linux distro)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ant
post Aug 17 2006, 04:30 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 11-March 04
From: IT
Member No.: 2,270



QUOTE(Hrw @ Aug 17 2006, 12:27 PM)
Debian 'sid' forever (my first and only Linux distro)
*


IMHO nothing compares to Gentoo..."Linux from scratch" perhaps...
Portage is simply amazing!

Ant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zen
post Sep 1 2006, 10:53 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-April 06
From: Cork, Ireland
Member No.: 9,627



Both Debian and Ubuntu are just great. apt/dpkg is as powerfull as portage (yes, you can even compile your own Debian), choice of packages is unbelievable.
I was using Debian for several years, still using it on servers, but I switched to Kubuntu on desktop. I'm at the stage when you don't really have time to make your favourite mail program running, and on Kubuntu everything just works.
Yes, I know, I'm lazy wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ant
post Sep 15 2006, 05:01 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 11-March 04
From: IT
Member No.: 2,270



QUOTE(zen @ Sep 1 2006, 08:53 PM)
... and on Kubuntu everything just works.
Yes, I know, I'm lazy wink.gif
*


Doesn't the latest Kubuntu use GCC4.x ?

I have enough problem with GCC4.x in Arklinux...
Gentoo 2006.1 also defaults to GCC 4.x ...

Unfortunately the status of "GCC 4.1 vs. OE" patches is (to me) unclear...

Ant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Sep 15 2006, 07:56 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



gcc 4.1 as default on host is OK as long you have gcc-3.4 or gcc-3.3 or gcc32 in PATH somewhere installed.

This is because we use QEmu to generate locale packages during build and it need gcc 3.x to build.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zen
post Sep 15 2006, 08:05 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-April 06
From: Cork, Ireland
Member No.: 9,627



QUOTE(Hrw @ Sep 15 2006, 04:56 PM)
gcc 4.1 as default on host is OK as long you have gcc-3.4 or gcc-3.3 or gcc32 in PATH somewhere installed.

This is because we use QEmu to generate locale packages during build and it need gcc 3.x to build.
*


Yes, and tlaking back about Ubuntu, you've got several gcc packages. You can switch between them using alternatives mechnism.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 11:52 AM