OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Keyboards?, What keyboards work with the 6000L
inode0
post Aug 17 2005, 11:49 AM
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 15-December 04
Member No.: 5,933



QUOTE(the_oak @ Jan 14 2005, 02:20 AM)
One more vote for Pocketop IR keyboard. Got mine off eBay. It arrived today, and works great. No key mapping problems. I don't see a "tab" key though....
Other than that, I like it very much!

Hope you've found it by now but it is the esc key on mine.

John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckblackm
post Oct 22 2005, 11:18 AM
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-January 05
Member No.: 6,171



Has anyone gotten the "Portable Stowaway Keyboard" from Fellowes to work?
I just hooked it up and most of the keys, with the exception of those in the numeric keypad area seem to work... how do I make those letters that form the numeric keypad work?

thanks,
Christopher.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tom61
post Oct 22 2005, 12:57 PM
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 253
Joined: 22-December 04
Member No.: 6,002



QUOTE(ckblackm @ Oct 22 2005, 07:18 PM)
Has anyone gotten the "Portable Stowaway Keyboard" from Fellowes to work?
I just hooked it up and most of the keys, with the exception of those in the numeric keypad area seem to work... how do I make those letters that form the numeric keypad work?

thanks,
Christopher.
*


You mean the USB one? Try turning off/on numlock a few times. If that doesn't work disconnect the dongle to the keyboard, check the contacts, and reconnect it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckblackm
post Oct 23 2005, 04:34 AM
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-January 05
Member No.: 6,171



QUOTE(Tom61 @ Oct 22 2005, 08:57 PM)
QUOTE(ckblackm @ Oct 22 2005, 07:18 PM)
Has anyone gotten the "Portable Stowaway Keyboard" from Fellowes to work?
I just hooked it up and most of the keys, with the exception of those in the numeric keypad area seem to work... how do I make those letters that form the numeric keypad work?

thanks,
Christopher.
*


You mean the USB one? Try turning off/on numlock a few times. If that doesn't work disconnect the dongle to the keyboard, check the contacts, and reconnect it.
*



Yes... the USB one. If I hit the numlock key... the numeric keys work fine (ie. the "k" will come up as a "2".. but if the numlock is off, nothing happens when I hit the key.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Oct 23 2005, 09:15 AM
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



hello

you should try with guylhem rom 1.0rc3 - i fixed such problems so that you can use the internal keyboard, a usb keyboard and a bluetooth keyboard at the same time without any additional app/driver.

guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckblackm
post Oct 23 2005, 09:37 AM
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-January 05
Member No.: 6,171



Is there a way to make it work without having to flash the rom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Oct 23 2005, 11:21 AM
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



using patches, drivers and multiple hacks, yes.
and looks like you will still have problems as reported here.

is it easier, no
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckblackm
post Oct 25 2005, 09:39 AM
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-January 05
Member No.: 6,171



QUOTE(guylhem @ Oct 23 2005, 07:21 PM)
using patches, drivers and multiple hacks, yes.
and looks like you will still have problems as reported here.

is it easier, no
*



Where do I get your rom?
Will I loose all my installed programs? What about data/files?
Where do I find instructions on flashing/installing your rom?

thanks,
Christopher.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Oct 26 2005, 05:10 AM
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



you will loose everything - ie you must still have the .ipk here and reinstall them after a flash. Your datafiles are in your /home/zaurus - simply copy everything to a card and copy it back file by file later.

You can first try flashing the kernel only as explained in the "guylhem rom" forum. It will be enough to solve the keyboard problems. But you'll have more to care about (like installing the .tbl files in /opt/Qtopia/etc)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ckblackm
post Oct 28 2005, 07:04 AM
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 9-January 05
Member No.: 6,171



QUOTE(guylhem @ Oct 23 2005, 07:21 PM)
using patches, drivers and multiple hacks, yes.
and looks like you will still have problems as reported here.

is it easier, no
*



What patches, drivers would I need to use?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mjb
post Dec 10 2005, 11:00 AM
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 31-July 04
Member No.: 4,163



QUOTE(ckblackm @ Oct 28 2005, 03:04 PM)
QUOTE(guylhem @ Oct 23 2005, 07:21 PM)
using patches, drivers and multiple hacks, yes.
and looks like you will still have problems as reported here.

is it easier, no
*



What patches, drivers would I need to use?
*


I tried using an IR keyoard - SK6688 - but was unable to get it to work properly with my 6000. Since I have the expansion sled, which makes my 6000 much thicker, I wouldn't be able to use it easily even if it had worked. It is easy for me to use a usb keyboard, but the mapping issues were a (minor) pain.

I fixed the mapping problems by installing keyhelper and putting the keyhelper.xml file provided earlier in this thread in my Settings directory. Then I ran khctl reload. Wow! That was easy and almost worked. Somehow keyhelper messed up the < and > keys (shifted , and . respectively), but, with a bit of experimentation, I was able to fix that with two new mappings in the keyhelper.xml file. You can get a copy of mine at:

http://www.cs.unca.edu/~boyd/keyhelper.xml.txt

Finally, I added two aliases to my .bashrc file:

alias usb='khctl reload'
alias nusb='khctl disable'

Now I have all keys working on the usb keyboard(s) - I have several usb keyboards and they all map the same - and I enter usb at the bash prompt when I want to use a usb keyboard and nusb when I want to use the built-in keyboard. Using the built-in keyboard with the usb mapping isn't bad, but it screws up generating control keys by using shift and fn at the same time. It may have other problems that I haven't discovered, but, for causal use it is OK. It is so easy to switch back and forth that I haven't really tested using the built-in keyboard with the usb mapping

Although I look forward to using the Guyhelm ROM for other reasons, keyhelper has eliminated my need to use it to get the usb keyboard working fully.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Mar 28 2007, 10:59 AM
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



To pick up on an old thread.

I am using a Belkin F8U1500T with my SL-6000L. I am using an "updated" version of Craig's IRK driver (from: http://www.geocities.jp/bakkeo2004/) And everything works (almost).

What I can't get working is the QCOP commands (which can be mapped under command keys). In theory, one should be able to map a command like: "QPE/System:setBacklight(int):0"

This would turn off the backlight when the key is pressed. This worked with my old Pocketop keyboard (using an older verions of IRK), but doesn't work with this version which I need to support the Belkin keyboard.

Anyone have any ideas on how to get QCOP commands to work with this version of IRK (or another one supporting the F8U1500T)?

TIA,

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Apr 16 2007, 06:23 AM
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



It may be a syntax issue. Your code:

"QPE/System:setBacklight(int):0"

is not a standard commandline qcop command. It looks like qtopia program code.

Please forgive my naievete but shouldn't it have "qcop" in it?

On the commandline, the above would look like:

qcop QPE/System 'setBacklight(int)' '0'

You might want to see my writeup of qcoptest http://sdjf.esmartdesign.com/ipks/qcoptest.html and use it to monitor the system and see if your qcop messages are getting through. IIRC, setBacklight may also require 2 integer values.

You could always as last resort run strace and see what the system does when you set the backlight.

I just found a command I was playing with and it may be a Taskbar, not a system message. Play with the following from my notes:
qcop QPE/TaskBar "message(QString)" "backlight on"; qcop QPE/TaskBar "setBacklight(int)" "255"

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2014 - 08:01 AM