OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zubuntu 1.0 Rc1, Start your downloads now
ofels
post Dec 28 2008, 03:43 AM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Lake Constance, Germany
Member No.: 13,087



Here my observations....

Installation went smoothly and besides the already lnown issues with the CF slot I noticed the following issues on my Akita device(C1000):

- tskeys is swallowing 80% of the CPU load after booting. Have to kill it manually, but then the brightness keys do not work any longer.
- CF cards always load the orinoco driver additionally to the hostap for my D-Link WLAN card. This is not the best option as the orinoco driver does not support WPA encryption=> fixed by blacklisting the modules
- firefox needs swap space to work. It takes 3-5 minutes on a standard installation to load it and is unusable due to heap shortages =? repaced firefox by midori
- The WICD network manager (announced on the blog) could not be found in the installation
- sylpheed is not in the start menu, lacks a desktop entry
- no ssh daemon is running so remote access is prohibited=> installed dropbear
- there should be a package manager available => fixed by installing synaptic
- rotation does not work in the standard installation
- Pidgin segfaults while starting

Oliver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
djsb
post Dec 28 2008, 05:44 AM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 20,929



Hi,
I'd like to give the Ubuntu installation a try.
Can someone do a step by step guide for beginners like me.
At the moment I'm using Cacko on an SL-C3100 (completely standard).
I have a Belkin USB 10/100 ethernet adaptor (F5D5050) that I can connect to my home
network router and an ADSL internet connection. Do I need a anything else to get started?
I'm running Ubuntu edgy on my desktop PC if that helps.

David.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Dec 28 2008, 06:06 AM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(djsb @ Dec 28 2008, 02:44 PM) *
Hi,
I'd like to give the Ubuntu installation a try.
Can someone do a step by step guide for beginners like me.
At the moment I'm using Cacko on an SL-C3100 (completely standard).
I have a Belkin USB 10/100 ethernet adaptor (F5D5050) that I can connect to my home
network router and an ADSL internet connection. Do I need a anything else to get started?
I'm running Ubuntu edgy on my desktop PC if that helps.
David.


What do you mean, is the step by step guide not clear enough? tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Dec 28 2008, 08:45 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



OK, I have to ask...

From the Mojo page: http://mojo.handhelds.org/node/62

It appears that those Ubuntu packages are built with armv5el optimizations (the best possible for the Z). Are these the ones used in Zubuntu? If so, is it noticeably faster than Debian?

If you can't tell, I'm getting impatient waiting for my Pandora to get here to have a new device/OS to fiddle with. biggrin.gif

Thanks.

EDIT: I guess armv5el with VFP would be the best, not just armv5el.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Dec 28 2008, 09:30 AM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Dec 28 2008, 05:45 PM) *
OK, I have to ask...

From the Mojo page: http://mojo.handhelds.org/node/62

It appears that those Ubuntu packages are built with armv5el optimizations (the best possible for the Z). Are these the ones used in Zubuntu? If so, is it noticeably faster than Debian?

If you can't tell, I'm getting impatient waiting for my Pandora to get here to have a new device/OS to fiddle with. biggrin.gif

Thanks.

EDIT: I guess armv5el with VFP would be the best, not just armv5el.

Yep, these are ones used in Zubuntu. I've build the additional packages missing in the Mojo repositories natively with the same optimizations.
If I say it's faster than Debian this may well be because of the installed set of applications. For me, in it's current form, it's much faster. But really, you have to try it out yourself to see if you notice any difference.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
canguy247
post Dec 28 2008, 10:24 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 70
Joined: 6-January 07
Member No.: 13,740



QUOTE(cortez @ Dec 28 2008, 12:30 PM) *
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Dec 28 2008, 05:45 PM) *
OK, I have to ask...

...If so, is it noticeably faster than Debian?

For me, in it's current form, it's much faster. But really, you have to try it out yourself to see if you notice any difference.


I find it many times faster than Andromeda, but I also changed to a new SD card. I went from a Transcend 150x 4gb, to a 16gb Kingston SDHC. Not sure how much of a factor that would be. Even python apps run better (pysol is easily 5x faster. almost no delay). There could also be other factors I am missing though.

Canguy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scottlfa
post Dec 28 2008, 11:05 AM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 1-October 07
From: Blacksburg, SC, USA
Member No.: 20,773



How is the amrv5el from Mojo different from Andromedia's base? I can get fast out of LXDE or Fluxbox from Andro's base. I am curious though how much faster the Mojo would be running heavier WM's and Apps?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Dec 28 2008, 11:34 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



I'm not planning on running the standard WM wink.gif

Optimizations make a BIG difference. Debian armel is made to run on just about any ARM cpu, so it can't optimize for anything higher than that, causing a slowdown. It's like that all-in-one tool that does everything decently, but nothing extremely well.

Time to go dig out my SD card biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
same
post Dec 28 2008, 12:27 PM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 29-October 07
From: barcelona
Member No.: 20,873



could it be that spitz-root-addition.tar.gz has a zImage for akita instead of a 3x00 kernel?
I'm trying ubuntu in sl-c3200 and spitz-root-addition.tar.gz zImage gives me an uname -r:
2.6.26-omegamoon-akita
, no modules loaded because modules are not for the included kernel. any other download link to get a zImage for 3200?

thanks for your work

EDIT: I found a zImage-spitz.bin downloaded some time ago from the comments page of omegamoon and it works, testing it right now. nice rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scottlfa
post Dec 28 2008, 06:27 PM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 1-October 07
From: Blacksburg, SC, USA
Member No.: 20,773



LOL - Well Cap'N you know from my posts I fiddle alot with WM's, especially the main stream ones. So I will see how well the "optimized" version of debian runs smile.gif

Will download and experiment with zBuntu very soon it seems.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Dec 28 2008, 07:28 PM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(scottlfa @ Dec 28 2008, 08:27 PM) *
LOL - Well Cap'N you know from my posts I fiddle alot with WM's, especially the main stream ones. So I will see how well the "optimized" version of debian runs smile.gif

Will download and experiment with zBuntu very soon it seems.

I eagerly await your report, as I seem to have lost my big SD card. My 64MB one isn't quite large enough wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelyzy
post Dec 29 2008, 01:26 AM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 8-May 06
Member No.: 9,817



I can not boot to the rootfs of the zUbuntu

everytime when I select the multiboot kernel in the first.

why my multiboot can not display the description of the image.info?

just display the partition of the internal CF slot.

/dev/hda1 (ext3) # Zubuntu Rc1 release.
/dev/hda3 (ext3) # debian Andromeda

when I select the first one to boot to zubuntu, and the zImage is load to boot,but I wait for the message for so long time "Watiting for root device /dev/hda1...." , can't boot to the next step.
what is the problem with it?

But I can success to boot the debian(second option).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthis
post Dec 29 2008, 02:41 AM
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



Thank you very much Cortez for this great release.
I am especially impressed by the speed, even on my cheap sd card. Much better than Andromeda.

As for problems, I have the same as Jon_J with the modules.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scottlfa
post Dec 29 2008, 07:42 AM
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 1-October 07
From: Blacksburg, SC, USA
Member No.: 20,773



Cannot seem to resolve my CF Wifi cards issue, it just blinks. Forced into static mode just to get past the "Can't get addrlist" error, which is no small bit annoying, in fact with multiple ip ranges I work with as I go from place to place it's almost a bust. Have manually edited the interface file, issued the same iwconfig's that worked in every other debian install etc ... still no love. Works fine in Andromedia

No default way to measure battery life, needs to be fixed for a release (fine for in house). Apm cli is present in Andromedia by default, figured it or something akin would be in this.

Right Mouse configuration seems to be very limited compared to the "mouse-r & mouse-m" method.

Working on a list of other things, pretty much does not feel "ready for release" too me yet. Just my opinion, great work and I look forward to the end results.

Sound still hit or miss, mostly miss. This is another BIG issue too me, and bears weight when comparing to Andromedia.

I have an 8gb card holding this for further tests, but atm its not ready to replace Andromedia on my rig.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Dec 29 2008, 09:17 AM
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Just a note on sound. I have tried the below method in both zbuntu and angstrom.
zubuntu I get no sound
angstrom I get sound
I pasted a quote from angstrom mailing list:
QUOTE
The standard way that I use to test if sound is working on any linux box is this:

cat /dev/urandom > /dev/dsp

That will play white noise until you hit Ctrl+C, and means that you
don't have to be concerned with knowing application x behaves
correctly or not. If you don't get any sound with the above, play
around with all the controls in alsamixer (ipkg install
alsa-utils-alsamixer) until you hear something.

One other thing, when I reboot back to zubuntu, I get an error about SD card not being properly unmounted, and efsck is automatically ran. several times efsck shows a message that it failed.
I never remove my SD card.
I don't know if this has to do with me booting with two different methods.
Normal method is: reboot and choose angstrom from menu.
Second method is: reboot, and since I cannot boot to cacko directly from the menu, I boot angstrom, then kexec -f to cacko
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

12 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 12:02 AM