OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C3100 Hdd Recovery
abm_y4k
post Aug 11 2005, 10:41 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 11-August 05
Member No.: 7,835



Hi All,

I am new to this forum! I just brought a C3100 and was hoping to get OpenZaurus running on it, but it kill my HDD and my ROM.

Anyone here have a original back copy of the C3100 HDD?

Please help me out.


Thanks in advance,

Abum
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post Aug 11 2005, 10:55 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



http://www.trisoft.de/en_c3000howto.htm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Traps
post Aug 11 2005, 12:02 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 31-July 05
Member No.: 7,750



QUOTE(abm_y4k @ Aug 11 2005, 06:41 PM)
Hi All,

I am new to this forum! I just brought a C3100 and was hoping to get OpenZaurus running on it, but it kill my HDD and my ROM.

Anyone here have a original back copy of the C3100 HDD?

Please help me out.


Thanks in advance,

Abum
*


Hi,
Well that makes two of us!
I was trying to install OpenBSD and... Oops there it was a £500 brick!
I bought my Z from Brett at Conics.net. I have just bought a 5GB microdrive with the HDD image on it. When it arrives I'll try and fix my brick and let you know how I get on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Aug 11 2005, 12:14 PM
Post #4





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



dont use the 3000 instructions ..........eeeeeerrrrrr rom image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Aug 11 2005, 01:15 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi all,

sorry, posted the answer first in the second thread smile.gif

OK, here we go again:

Abum,

the SL-C3100 HDD contains nothing important. All the stuff
there (demo pictures, dictionary files, map files, books'n'stuff)
are also on the 3 CDs that came with the device.

But even with a fresh formatted HDD, a SL-C3100 will boot
without problems. So, if your Zaurus won't boot anymore, it
will be a different problem.

Can you access the Flashmenu ?
If Yes -> Try restore to factory defaults
if No -> Can you access the Diag ?
Yes -> Make a NAND restore
No -> Post more informations.

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
abm_y4k
post Aug 11 2005, 02:24 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 11-August 05
Member No.: 7,835



Thanks for the advise and help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
abm_y4k
post Aug 11 2005, 02:42 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 11-August 05
Member No.: 7,835



Ok here is my whole story...

Day one
----------
Just received my C3100 and was caught by OpenZaurus.

Day two
---------
trying to figure out how to install the OZ but failed because the updater.sh detected my model was not <C3000 mad.gif

Day Three
------------
decoded the updater.sh and change to C3100, and bingo The OZ installation was successful. Rebooted the machine and I got "Error: hdd1 blablabla..."

Day Four
-----------
ok I have a backup of the original C3100 NAND backup, lets do it. using the DM method, and restored the NAND, reboot and "Error: hdd1 cannot initiate".

Day Five
-----------
Found a copy of hdd1.tgz and mkhdd.sh on the web forgot where. and using the DB method to boot in single mode, and ran the mkhdd.sh and recovered my hard disk and my C3100 was bootable and running fine

Day Six
-----------
Found problems, which the system info showing the rom version is "__.__" it was 1.01 before.


So my big question is how to completed restore my C3100 to factory's default? I mean I want it as it was from Day one, the NAND and the harddisk(data and partition records).

Any idea?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Aug 11 2005, 05:09 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(abm_y4k @ Aug 11 2005, 11:42 PM)
Found a copy of hdd1.tgz and mkhdd.sh on the web forgot where. and using the DB method to boot in single mode, and ran the mkhdd.sh and recovered my hard disk and my C3100 was bootable and running fine
Did the hdd1.tar.gz come from http://www.xlfag.com/zaurus? IMHO the hdd1.tgz is for the C3000 and not for the C3100. They have quite a different disk layout. And according to a recent posting, the C3100 should even work without HDD. So, your NAND backup must be the bad one.

AFAIK, the C3000 and C3100 are DIFFERENT in everything that has to do with Flash ROM, Alternate ROM, HDD layout etc. The C3100 is more similar to a C1000 than the C3000.

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Aug 12 2005, 02:26 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



Hi everybody,

i have to correct my yesterdays posting. The sentence "should
boot even with a fresh formatted HDD" points to the FAT partition
with the "Documents" and dictionary directories.

But there are three partitions on the SL-C3100 HDD. So if the HDD
is totally blank without any partitions, the SL-C3100 won't boot up.
And this is how a SL-C3100 HDD partition table should look like:

/dev/hda1 Start 1 End 20 Blocks 10048+ id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda2 Start 21 End 40 Blocks 10080 id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda3 Start 41 End 7936 Blocks 3979584 id c System Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

/hda1 and /hda2 are 9.5 MB partitions. Each one contains a ".sys" and
a "lost+found" directory. The contents of the .sys-directories are
amazing biggrin.gif :

Files in /hdd1/.sys :
hdimage2.tgz (2713 Bytes, contains japanese web-bookmarks - hurray !)
hdlist1.dat (85 Bytes, no clue what it's good for)

Files in /hdd2/.sys :
contlist.dat (100156 Bytes)
hdlist2.dat (1427 Bytes)
hdlist3.dat (1519 Bytes)

We just put these files zipped in our download-section:
SL-C3100 SystemPartition contents (90 KB)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
abm_y4k
post Aug 12 2005, 07:59 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 11-August 05
Member No.: 7,835



alrite!

Thanks for pointing out.

I'll give it a try tonite.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Traps
post Aug 13 2005, 07:48 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 31-July 05
Member No.: 7,750



QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Aug 12 2005, 10:26 AM)
Hi everybody,

i have to correct my yesterdays posting. The sentence "should
boot even with a fresh formatted HDD" points to the FAT partition
with the "Documents" and dictionary directories.

But there are three partitions on the SL-C3100 HDD. So if the HDD
is totally blank without any partitions, the SL-C3100 won't boot up.
And this is how a SL-C3100 HDD partition table should look like:

/dev/hda1  Start 1  End 20  Blocks 10048+  id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda2  Start 21 End 40  Blocks 10080  id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda3  Start 41 End 7936 Blocks 3979584 id c System Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

/hda1 and /hda2 are 9.5 MB partitions. Each one contains a ".sys" and
a "lost+found" directory. The contents of the .sys-directories are
amazing  biggrin.gif :

Files in /hdd1/.sys :
hdimage2.tgz  (2713 Bytes, contains japanese web-bookmarks - hurray !)
hdlist1.dat (85 Bytes, no clue what it's good for)

Files in /hdd2/.sys :
contlist.dat (100156 Bytes)
hdlist2.dat (1427 Bytes)
hdlist3.dat (1519 Bytes)

We just put these files zipped in our download-section:
SL-C3100 SystemPartition contents (90 KB)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*


Marc,
Many thanks for this advice! The Phoenix rises!
Repartitoned the MD with fdisk then # mke2fs -j /dev/hda1,# mke2fs -j /dev/hda2,# mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/hda3. Mount the disks #mount /dev/hda1 /hdd1 etc and copy the files from your download to the relevant disks. Reboot, install and run mcconvert,Reboot and there you go!
Not sure if everyone will need to do the mcconvert. But I had done a reset and a NAND restore.

Thanks again!
Paul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TRIsoft
post Aug 13 2005, 08:16 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 6-June 04
From: Hannover, Germany
Member No.: 3,587



QUOTE(Traps @ Aug 13 2005, 04:48 PM)
...The Phoenix rises!...
Reboot and there you go!
*

Paul,

good to hear that your Zaurus is alive again.
And much better to see what things to obey if you
change / replace the harddisk. So thank you for
the testing and the feedback biggrin.gif

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
foley
post Nov 10 2005, 09:39 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 10-November 05
Member No.: 8,509



QUOTE(Traps @ Aug 13 2005, 07:48 AM)
QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Aug 12 2005, 10:26 AM)
Hi everybody,

i have to correct my yesterdays posting. The sentence "should
boot even with a fresh formatted HDD" points to the FAT partition
with the "Documents" and dictionary directories.

But there are three partitions on the SL-C3100 HDD. So if the HDD
is totally blank without any partitions, the SL-C3100 won't boot up.
And this is how a SL-C3100 HDD partition table should look like:

/dev/hda1  Start 1  End 20  Blocks 10048+  id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda2  Start 21 End 40  Blocks 10080  id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda3  Start 41 End 7936 Blocks 3979584 id c System Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

/hda1 and /hda2 are 9.5 MB partitions. Each one contains a ".sys" and
a "lost+found" directory. The contents of the .sys-directories are
amazing  biggrin.gif :

Files in /hdd1/.sys :
hdimage2.tgz  (2713 Bytes, contains japanese web-bookmarks - hurray !)
hdlist1.dat (85 Bytes, no clue what it's good for)

Files in /hdd2/.sys :
contlist.dat (100156 Bytes)
hdlist2.dat (1427 Bytes)
hdlist3.dat (1519 Bytes)

We just put these files zipped in our download-section:
SL-C3100 SystemPartition contents (90 KB)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*


Marc,
Many thanks for this advice! The Phoenix rises!
Repartitoned the MD with fdisk then # mke2fs -j /dev/hda1,# mke2fs -j /dev/hda2,# mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/hda3. Mount the disks #mount /dev/hda1 /hdd1 etc and copy the files from your download to the relevant disks. Reboot, install and run mcconvert,Reboot and there you go!
Not sure if everyone will need to do the mcconvert. But I had done a reset and a NAND restore.

Thanks again!
Paul
*



Hi Paul,
After formatting those drives I'm not able to copy HD content files to hda1 and 2. First I tried su then create .sys folder in /hdd1 by using the terminal, but system returned "Cannot create directory '.sys': Read-only files system. After that I used Tree!Explorer but the problem still remain. Could you please help me out? Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GadgetGuy
post Nov 10 2005, 10:01 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 321
Joined: 29-August 05
From: Ontario, Canada
Member No.: 7,977



QUOTE(foley @ Nov 10 2005, 12:39 PM)
QUOTE(Traps @ Aug 13 2005, 07:48 AM)
QUOTE(TRIsoft @ Aug 12 2005, 10:26 AM)
Hi everybody,

i have to correct my yesterdays posting. The sentence "should
boot even with a fresh formatted HDD" points to the FAT partition
with the "Documents" and dictionary directories.

But there are three partitions on the SL-C3100 HDD. So if the HDD
is totally blank without any partitions, the SL-C3100 won't boot up.
And this is how a SL-C3100 HDD partition table should look like:

/dev/hda1  Start 1  End 20  Blocks 10048+  id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda2  Start 21 End 40  Blocks 10080  id 83 System Linux
/dev/hda3  Start 41 End 7936 Blocks 3979584 id c System Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

/hda1 and /hda2 are 9.5 MB partitions. Each one contains a ".sys" and
a "lost+found" directory. The contents of the .sys-directories are
amazing  biggrin.gif :

Files in /hdd1/.sys :
hdimage2.tgz  (2713 Bytes, contains japanese web-bookmarks - hurray !)
hdlist1.dat (85 Bytes, no clue what it's good for)

Files in /hdd2/.sys :
contlist.dat (100156 Bytes)
hdlist2.dat (1427 Bytes)
hdlist3.dat (1519 Bytes)

We just put these files zipped in our download-section:
SL-C3100 SystemPartition contents (90 KB)

///TRIsoft

Marc Stephan
*


Marc,
Many thanks for this advice! The Phoenix rises!
Repartitoned the MD with fdisk then # mke2fs -j /dev/hda1,# mke2fs -j /dev/hda2,# mkfs.vfat -F 32 /dev/hda3. Mount the disks #mount /dev/hda1 /hdd1 etc and copy the files from your download to the relevant disks. Reboot, install and run mcconvert,Reboot and there you go!
Not sure if everyone will need to do the mcconvert. But I had done a reset and a NAND restore.

Thanks again!
Paul
*



Hi Paul,
After formatting those drives I'm not able to copy HD content files to hda1 and 2. First I tried su then create .sys folder in /hdd1 by using the terminal, but system returned "Cannot create directory '.sys': Read-only files system. After that I used Tree!Explorer but the problem still remain. Could you please help me out? Thanks!
*




You have to make the disk rw by doing

CODE
mount  -o  remount,rw /dev/hdd1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
foley
post Nov 10 2005, 10:16 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 10-November 05
Member No.: 8,509



You have to make the disk rw by doing

CODE
mount  -o  remount,rw /dev/hdd1

*

[/quote]

Hi GadgetGuy,

Thanks for your help. I tried to remount but it still not working.
By typing ls i saw the folders within /dev/hdd1 are:

"Applications" "Documents" "Settings" instead of lost+found

Is this normal?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 07:12 AM