OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> My java app doesn't work with screen rotation
serviam
post Jul 19 2004, 05:32 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-June 04
Member No.: 3,629



I have a GUI application for the Z (SL- 6000L), which runs perfectly fine when the screen is in normal view. However, after having rotated the screen, the application refuses to run, and I get the following message in the terminal:

QLinuxFbScreen::connect() disp spec Transformed:Rot0:Vga:0 != server disp spec
Transformed driver cannot connect
Aborted

I would be most grateful for any tips on how to fix this, I really need the GUI to run in landscape view.

By the way, even when the application runs fine, I get the following message:

SlSharedManager: can't get proc entry
could not open translation file /home/QtPalmtop//i18n/en/libsl.qmid

I guess it would spare me some annoyance if I could get rid of these lines also...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jamesannan
post Jul 25 2004, 02:36 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 119
Joined: 8-July 04
Member No.: 3,955



I'm also looking for an answer to this - for my case on an 860, I have written a java application which I really want to run in portrait mode, I get a similar error as the above but with a Rot270. What's the trick? A simple "hello world" that works both ways would be handy...

Thanks,

James
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
henley_regatta
post Aug 25 2004, 07:43 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 25-August 04
Member No.: 4,383



I can help you with one of your problems. Unfortunately, not the main one!

The message:
QUOTE
could not open translation file /home/QtPalmtop//i18n/en/libsl.qmid


..comes about because you've installed the package in a different locale to your shell. I have the same problem in reverse - my system locale is "en" but my shell locale is "C" (in my case, to stop Perl complaining at me).

A simple fix is to create the directory /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/en and then link the libsl.qmid file into it. You'll have to find it first, but on my machine the actual file is in /usr/QtPalmtop.rom/i18n/en/libsl.qmid

CODE
su -
mkdir /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/en
ln -s /usr/QtPalmtop.rom/i18n/en/libsl.qmid /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/en/libsl.qmid


...Ought to do it!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Aug 25 2004, 07:52 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



Actually 'henley_regatta' a better way of avoiding the locale issue is to export PERL_BADLANG=0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
henley_regatta
post Aug 25 2004, 08:15 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 25-August 04
Member No.: 4,383



QUOTE(iamasmith @ Aug 25 2004, 03:52 PM)
Actually 'henley_regatta' a better way of avoiding the locale issue is to export PERL_BADLANG=0

I did not know that. Thanks for the tip!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tehas
post Dec 13 2004, 06:05 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 6-November 03
From: Harrisburg PA
Member No.: 867



Did any of you get this working? I just got my SL6k last week and noticed that the Java demo programs seem to go maximized when you rotate the screen.

Anyone stumble upon a HelloWorld yet / or care to post a snipit of code?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xenophobe
post Dec 14 2004, 09:10 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 29-September 04
From: Ukraine
Member No.: 4,801



What kind of JVM you use?.
My application written for Java PP and running with cvm works fine with screen rotation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tehas
post Dec 15 2004, 05:28 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 6-November 03
From: Harrisburg PA
Member No.: 867



I want to target the JVM that came with the 6000. Did you have to do something special to handle the resize & rotate?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xenophobe
post Dec 15 2004, 06:49 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 29-September 04
From: Ukraine
Member No.: 4,801



SL-6000 has two JVM - Jeode (evm) and Sun J2ME PP (cvm). I run my programs with Sun J2ME (cvm). I have not any special things for screen rotating.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Omicron
post Dec 19 2004, 12:11 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 608
Joined: 14-April 04
Member No.: 2,853



I just got my 6000L, but I would be glad to take a crack at the problem. Can anyone post a link to an IPK that contains source....Just being lazy here...I just mean the simple hello world source wrapped ina nice neat IPK that I can mess with and give back in working condition (I hope ;-)

I have actually many ideas on this but probably most won't work, so I would rather do the work myself and see where it leads me, but an IPK would give me a leg up. Also, my C860 had evm installled, so I need special install for Java on 6000L....If so, a link/instruction would be great.

Either way I am sure I will have to work on this for my own reasons, but a little of the above will get me there faster.,

Thanks,
O
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 23 2005, 03:15 PM
Post #11





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



not quite fully relevant but I was playing with my QT/E application and found that it ran fine on my SL-C6000 in portrait, fine on my SL-C860 in landscape, but the other way round gave me the QPEApplication error "Transformed driver cannot connect"

I was running my app from the command line in both cases.

When I created a proper .desktop entry in the /opt/QtPalmTop/apps/X directory, and an icon to match, with the .desktop specifying everything correctly, then it worked. Oddly, when I got the reference to the icon wrong, it ran in double-size lo-res portrait mode! Also, dynamic rotation also magically worked too.

So, don't underestimate the importance of a properly setup .desktop file! Just copy a simple one that works.

Paul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Big-fat_penguin
post Aug 14 2006, 08:39 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-July 06
Member No.: 10,420



QUOTE(henley_regatta @ Aug 25 2004, 05:43 PM)
The message:
QUOTE

could not open translation file /home/QtPalmtop//i18n/en/libsl.qmid


..comes about because you've installed the package in a different locale to your shell. I have the same problem in reverse - my system locale is "en" but my shell locale is "C" (in my case, to stop Perl complaining at me).

A simple fix is to create the directory /home/QtPalmtop/i18n/en and then link the libsl.qmid file into it. You'll have to find it first, but on my machine the actual file is in /usr/QtPalmtop.rom/i18n/en/libsl.qmid

*



Unfortunately this doesn't work. For me the two "/" in ".../QtPalmtop//i18n.." seem to be the problem. As long as these stay in the path the system won't find the directory.

But I can't find the file or environment-variable where the first part of the path ends with "/" (most probably OPEDIR=/home/QtPalmtop/) and the second part begins with "/" (/in18n/...). Together this leads to the two "/" one after the other. Maybe it's a mistake in some program which adds the second "/" without need.

Somebody who knows the solution? The thread ist half a year old?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 09:54 AM