OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Android Sl-c3x00 Image Updated
cortez
post Jan 17 2008, 12:44 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



I've uploaded a new version of the Android image for the Zaurus SL-C3x00 models. I've added additional packages, and the key settings as well as the RotateView applet from Android Zaurus are installed on default. More info can be found here.

Have fun!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 17 2008, 02:30 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



woohoo, I will download for playing with it tomorrow!

Great work, thanks!


--edit--

would it be possible please to give the MD5's of all the files just so we can be sure the downloads were successful

BTW, would you like somewhere to mirror the files?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 17 2008, 09:53 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



I get a kernel panic - not syncing: No init found.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 17 2008, 10:27 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 18 2008, 06:53 AM) *
I get a kernel panic - not syncing: No init found.

You did choose the default option from Altboot on the first boot (boot from microdrive)?
Because, as a programmer would say about his/her program "on my machine it did work perfectly" wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 18 2008, 12:18 AM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



First time I tried (C3100) it hung on update immediately after printing
CODE
INIT: version 2.70 booting
INIT: Entering runlevel: 4


so I checked the md5sums, found gnu-tar was wrong, re-downloaded it, was still wrong, took a known good working copy from my angstrom downloads whose md5 did match yours, tried again, got the same result.

previously, my first ever android install, it went very smoothly. sad.gif

--edit--
hope you don't mind but I put a mirror of the files on my downloads site:
http://www.zaurus.org.uk/downloads.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 18 2008, 02:53 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



I've downloaded the files myself and tried to reinstall. At the point of "Extracting root filesystem" it shows a "bus error".
Did you see the same error? If I continue, this ends up with a kernel panic (logically without a filesystem) like BarryW
I'll have to check later to see what is happening. In the meantime I've uploaded the android-root.tar.gz again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 18 2008, 04:27 AM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 10:53 AM) *
I've downloaded the files myself and tried to reinstall. At the point of "Extracting root filesystem" it shows a "bus error".
Did you see the same error? If I continue, this ends up with a kernel panic (logically without a filesystem) like BarryW
I'll have to check later to see what is happening. In the meantime I've uploaded the android-root.tar.gz again.


no, I didn't get a bus error; but that might be due to corrupted updater.sh - I found it tried to save it as updater.sh.html and the size was bigger; similar problem with gnu-tar.. am wondering whether it tried a unix to dos conversion?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 18 2008, 07:49 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 17 2008, 09:27 PM) *
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 18 2008, 06:53 AM) *
I get a kernel panic - not syncing: No init found.

You did choose the default option from Altboot on the first boot (boot from microdrive)?
Because, as a programmer would say about his/her program "on my machine it did work perfectly" wink.gif



I don't get the altboot menu. Should I have installed after using a different image? This was installed after a cacko install on a 3200.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 18 2008, 08:43 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



Okay, here's what I did. I flashed the image with the files on my local system, just to make sure it works. Since this is the case, I re-uploaded all files.
I don't have much time now, so either download and check yourself if the new uploaded files work, or be patient and wait until I double checked them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 18 2008, 10:51 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 07:43 AM) *
Okay, here's what I did. I flashed the image with the files on my local system, just to make sure it works. Since this is the case, I re-uploaded all files.
I don't have much time now, so either download and check yourself if the new uploaded files work, or be patient and wait until I double checked them.



Yea, still does the same thing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 18 2008, 10:58 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 18 2008, 07:51 PM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 07:43 AM) *
Okay, here's what I did. I flashed the image with the files on my local system, just to make sure it works. Since this is the case, I re-uploaded all files.
I don't have much time now, so either download and check yourself if the new uploaded files work, or be patient and wait until I double checked them.



Yea, still does the same thing.

It's because of a problem in the gnu-tar binary. Whatever I do, it just uploads a small part. I've adjusted the download link so it points to the SL-C1000 directory. This is the same binary, so it should work if you re-download gnu-tar.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 18 2008, 10:59 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 09:58 AM) *
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 18 2008, 07:51 PM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 07:43 AM) *
Okay, here's what I did. I flashed the image with the files on my local system, just to make sure it works. Since this is the case, I re-uploaded all files.
I don't have much time now, so either download and check yourself if the new uploaded files work, or be patient and wait until I double checked them.



Yea, still does the same thing.

It's because of a problem in the gnu-tar binary. Whatever I do, it just uploads a small part. I've adjusted the download link so it points to the SL-C1000 directory. This is the same binary, so it should work if you re-download gnu-tar.

I was just about to post the md5 is wrong.. biggrin.gif


Maybe if you zip it up first??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 18 2008, 11:01 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 18 2008, 07:59 PM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 09:58 AM) *
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 18 2008, 07:51 PM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 07:43 AM) *
Okay, here's what I did. I flashed the image with the files on my local system, just to make sure it works. Since this is the case, I re-uploaded all files.
I don't have much time now, so either download and check yourself if the new uploaded files work, or be patient and wait until I double checked them.



Yea, still does the same thing.

It's because of a problem in the gnu-tar binary. Whatever I do, it just uploads a small part. I've adjusted the download link so it points to the SL-C1000 directory. This is the same binary, so it should work if you re-download gnu-tar.

I was just about to post the md5 is wrong.. biggrin.gif

smile.gif It should be okay now, please let me know if it works for you now. Thanks in advance!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jan 18 2008, 11:52 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 10:01 AM) *
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 18 2008, 07:59 PM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 09:58 AM) *
QUOTE(BarryW @ Jan 18 2008, 07:51 PM) *
QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 18 2008, 07:43 AM) *
Okay, here's what I did. I flashed the image with the files on my local system, just to make sure it works. Since this is the case, I re-uploaded all files.
I don't have much time now, so either download and check yourself if the new uploaded files work, or be patient and wait until I double checked them.



Yea, still does the same thing.

It's because of a problem in the gnu-tar binary. Whatever I do, it just uploads a small part. I've adjusted the download link so it points to the SL-C1000 directory. This is the same binary, so it should work if you re-download gnu-tar.

I was just about to post the md5 is wrong.. biggrin.gif

smile.gif It should be okay now, please let me know if it works for you now. Thanks in advance!

Works now!! Thanks! Now to figure out that rotation thing....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 18 2008, 04:08 PM
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



sigh. I know what I was doing wrong! I was flashing from CF, but left an SD card in the slot (a 4GB one at that which upsets the cruddy sharp maintenance kernel). Yes, your original gnu-tar was bad (I tested it anyway), but the one I lifted from Angstrom backup was good.
sorry for wasting your time sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd July 2014 - 07:45 PM