OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Add More Ram?
chyang
post Sep 22 2008, 05:03 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-June 03
From: Beijing,China
Member No.: 156



I remembered there were some threads on this some time ago, but I cannot find it now.
Android needs more RAM than 64MB, so it seems more desirable now. any clues? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Sep 23 2008, 12:57 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(chyang @ Sep 23 2008, 03:03 AM) *
I remembered there were some threads on this some time ago, but I cannot find it now.
Android needs more RAM than 64MB, so it seems more desirable now. any clues? Thanks.

Did you try using a swap partition?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chyang
post Sep 23 2008, 07:45 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-June 03
From: Beijing,China
Member No.: 156



QUOTE(cortez @ Sep 23 2008, 04:57 PM) *
QUOTE(chyang @ Sep 23 2008, 03:03 AM) *
I remembered there were some threads on this some time ago, but I cannot find it now.
Android needs more RAM than 64MB, so it seems more desirable now. any clues? Thanks.

Did you try using a swap partition?

Yes, i have enabled swap partition. But that cannot be compared with more RAM. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 22 2008, 03:28 PM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



adding ram is theoretically possible, but requires skill and specialised equipment - ram chips are BGA packaging. check the hardware mods forum!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
evade
post Oct 28 2008, 05:25 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 8,006



These guys seem to offer the service:

http://www.ppctechs.com/upgrades/ram.htm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Oct 28 2008, 12:55 PM
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(evade @ Oct 28 2008, 01:25 PM) *


hmm, now that is interesting, perhaps they could repair my original zaurus 6000's main board - all they'd need to do is replace the busted DDRAM chip. Perhaps they could populate the spare sockets too!

Here's the motherboard up close:
http://www.zaurus.org.uk/6000_ram.html

The RAM chips are the shiny devices up top. BTW, I noticed that on my other 6000, the half broken one I bought to create a Frankenzaurus, the ram chips were quite a bit smaller, only covering the pads, so it wouldn't have been possible to snap one in half!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ragnorok
post Nov 21 2008, 08:37 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 298
Joined: 27-October 03
From: Greenfield, NH
Member No.: 781



- I e-mailed them to see what they'd charge to bump the RAM to 128MB and the NAND to 1GB. I'll post results if they come...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 23 2008, 03:06 PM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Ragnorok @ Nov 22 2008, 04:37 AM) *
- I e-mailed them to see what they'd charge to bump the RAM to 128MB and the NAND to 1GB. I'll post results if they come...


that'd be great! I might need someone to act as my agent if ppctechs won't do work for someone in the UK, so I hope I can find someone I could post my board to who'd send it to ppctechs and return it to me; I'd send money for the repair and return shipment and beer vouchers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nelson
post Jan 5 2009, 05:38 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 17-June 08
Member No.: 21,934



Hi guys

I have emailed them and asked before but they give a blah blah blah we dont support this model stuff so unfortunately looks like it is a now go from them but there has to be someone out there that has the equipment that could do the upgrade.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 10 2009, 03:43 PM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



thanks for trying, and letting us know.

shame, but I understand their point of view.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 05:23 PM