OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hard Reset SL-C760? Is this possible?
ultra-hp
post May 9 2004, 07:42 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 3,175



I would like to perform a "Hard Reset" to bring the Zaurus back to the "like new" original configuration that would erase all of my files except the ones needed for the ROM. Is there an easy way to do this or should I just reinstall the Cacko rom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Foxdie
post May 9 2004, 08:50 AM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Birmingham, United Kingdom
Member No.: 875



This is impossible to do as the data is stored on FLASH memory. You can however do such a reset but you need at least a 256MB CF or SD card. The procedure is called a NAND Flash Restore. Use the forum "search" feature to find more about NAND Flashing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CoreyC
post May 9 2004, 08:56 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 288
Joined: 13-February 04
Member No.: 1,851



You shouldn't have to do this NAND Flash Restore unless something has gone serioulsy wrong with your Z.

If you messed something up and you just want a fresh start, I'd suggest just flashing the rom. Cacko QT 1.21 is very nice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ultra-hp
post May 9 2004, 11:51 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 3,175



I think I will just flash the Rom. The new Cacko rom looks wicked! Will I have to re-install the word/xls/power point programs or are they included in Cacko QT 1.21? If not, Is there an easy way to get them off my Zaurus or Zaurus CD before I flash?
Thanks! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ultra-hp
post May 9 2004, 07:03 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 3,175



Just installed the Cacko QT 1.21 rom. Very Nice! biggrin.gif
Thanks for your help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
itreeye
post May 12 2004, 09:33 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 1-May 04
Member No.: 3,098



Hi, I just tried installing the pdaxrom and it said it worked, I calibrated the screen, logged in with the word "root" and am now at a standstill! It just says, xauth: creating new authority file /home/root/.xauthority
#

and is just sitting there.
I'ce tried re-installing everything from the beginning of the documentation instructions on the pdaxrom website, and just end up here. Can abyone help me??
thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 05:51 AM