OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pcmcia - Ide Adaptor, What About Cf?
wrc4
post Aug 21 2006, 07:14 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 114
Joined: 12-May 06
Member No.: 9,848



I just bought a PCMCIA - IDE Adaptor, it has a PCMCIA card in one end, and a 2.5 inch IDE HD plug on the other end. I hooked up a regular 2.5 inch HD and it worked perfectly on my Dell Notebook.

My question is: Can I take off the PCMCIA end and replace it with a CF? I know that a CF can be adapted to PCMCIA via a simple adaptor, so the wiring could be easily changed, but I don't know if CF standard allows the same functionality as PCMCIA for a regular IDE HD.

If this can be done, I should be able to use this adaptor to connect any HDD to my Zaurus. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Reaper
post Aug 21 2006, 08:25 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 126
Joined: 13-December 03
Member No.: 1,174



Well, there ARE some adapters that let you install PCMCIA cards into devices with CF slot. A friend of mine successfully used this adapter with PCMCIA modem and Ethernet cards on his Z. But with a hard disk a matter of power becomes critical - either provide you provide external power for your HDD (and risk a reasonable chance to fry your Z), or it will not work due to lack of current from CF slot.

A solid-state HDD (e.g., NAND one, like one installed on last Sony UMPCs) has a slight chance to work as-is, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 21 2006, 09:58 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



QUOTE
My question is: Can I take off the PCMCIA end and replace it with a CF? I know that a CF can be adapted to PCMCIA via a simple adaptor, so the wiring could be easily changed, but I don't know if CF standard allows the same functionality as PCMCIA for a regular IDE HD.


not without some sort of IDE to pcmcia chip, the PCMCIA allows for direct hookup of an IDE hard drive however the circutry in the xscales dosent support it

if you can f ind one with a bridge chip then you should be able to, but usb is most likly a better choice
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrc4
post Aug 22 2006, 05:38 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 114
Joined: 12-May 06
Member No.: 9,848



Thanks Reaper and Da_Blitz,

The seller told me that this was used with some old laptops without USB. Yes, USB is a better choice.

BTW, I have a HP Jornada 680 and trying jLime (www.jLime.com) now. I'm thinking that I might be able to hook up a HDD to it. (680 came with a standard PCMCIA slot).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 22 2006, 08:17 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



if it uses a strong arm then it has the same limitations as the xscales (too bad, that would make for a nice terminal)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrc4
post Aug 22 2006, 09:15 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 114
Joined: 12-May 06
Member No.: 9,848



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Aug 22 2006, 08:17 PM)
if it uses a strong arm then it has the same limitations as the xscales (too bad, that would make for a nice terminal)
*


It uses SH3 CPU
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 23 2006, 12:36 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



well then i would break out the sh3 manual =D
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 02:16 PM