OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Resume On Sl-5600 Slow With Openzaurus, I'm really worried about this
stechz
post Feb 1 2005, 06:32 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 1-February 05
Member No.: 6,378



For some reason, my SL-5600 is having a horrible time resuming with OpenZaurus installed, using OPIE. Is this a known issue? It takes it approx. 20-30 seconds to resume, which seems unacceptable. Are there workarounds? Is this a kernel problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
radioz
post Feb 1 2005, 08:47 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 102
Joined: 11-October 04
Member No.: 4,962



By 'resuming' I assume you mean a long pause on power-up?

I'm running 3.5.2 on my 5600 and don't seem to have a problem. Could it be Wifi or network related? What card(s) do you have plugged in?

Run 'dmesg' and look carefully at the output for any unusual errors.

Which version of oz are you running?

radioz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stechz
post Feb 2 2005, 10:10 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 1-February 05
Member No.: 6,378



QUOTE(radioz @ Feb 1 2005, 08:47 PM)
By 'resuming' I assume you mean a long pause on power-up?

I'm running 3.5.2 on my 5600 and don't seem to have a problem. Could it be Wifi or network related? What card(s) do you have plugged in?

Run 'dmesg' and look carefully at the output for any unusual errors.

Which version of oz are you running?

radioz
*


thanks for response. yes, i mean when the system has already been booted and everything but it has suspended, and i press the cancel button to turn it on. i figured resume was a good term for it since suspend is when you "turn it off." i was using oz 3.5.2 with opie on a regular 5600 with nothing special (no wifi etc; you have to have cards for those right?). i really want to use oz, so i'm intrigued that no one else has this problem.

i'm using watapon right now, and it works about 2-3 seconds after a press the cancel button. oz looks awesome tho, so twould be nice to get this problem solved. so maybe i'll backup and go try it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stechz
post Feb 2 2005, 04:53 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 1-February 05
Member No.: 6,378



ok doesn't seem to give any sort of information why it would suspend for so long. i am assuming it is some sort of kernel problem. the watapon kernel works great--is there a way to simply use its kernel??

while i'm asking, how do you set up the kde pim software for windows?

EDIT:

it turns out that for some reason, when the unit turns off by itself, it takes like 3 seconds to start up.. wtf?

EDITEDIT:

apm --suspend, and it starts up _instantaneously_. trying to look into it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 09:09 AM