OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newton Emulator On Sl-c1000, Einstein Emulator
dproldan
post Jun 3 2006, 12:06 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 1-May 06
From: Málaga, Spain
Member No.: 9,746



I got the Einstein emulator running on a SL-C1000 zaurus using OZ/gpe! It is awfully slow at the moment, but so cool!

http://www.kallisys.com/newton/einstein/
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Einstein_Akita.JPG ( 70.04K ) Number of downloads: 543
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Jun 3 2006, 01:10 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



Nice! Did you have to do anything special?
Felipe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
uMP2k
post Jun 7 2006, 10:06 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 7-June 06
From: Perth - Sunny Oz
Member No.: 10,104



QUOTE(dproldan @ Jun 4 2006, 06:06 AM)
I got the Einstein emulator running on a SL-C1000 zaurus using OZ/gpe!  It is awfully slow at the moment,  but so cool!

http://www.kallisys.com/newton/einstein/
*


Okay, now I know I have to get myself a Zaurus!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Jun 17 2006, 11:01 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE(jfv @ Jun 3 2006, 01:10 PM)
Nice! Did you have to do anything special?
Felipe
*


I giave this a try a month ago, and it doesn't work on standard sharp rom. I sent an email to the author who confirmed that OZ is required. Other than that, I don't think there is anything special to do. As an old Newton owner, it sure would be nice to have the Newton back on my Z, but I am not willing to give up on my Sharp ROM (does everything I need, besides this).

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jun 17 2006, 05:03 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



erm ... I'm tempted to try ... but I got no newton around ... so no rom and no go ... how? ohmy.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jun 17 2006, 05:09 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Newton's are pretty cheap on ebay.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jun 17 2006, 06:11 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



like these ... ? wink.gif

http://electronics.search.ebay.com/newton_...Z300QQsacatZ293
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jun 17 2006, 08:23 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



More like these...
http://search.ebay.com/apple-newton_W0QQbs...cZ2QQsofocusZbs

Saw a 2100 for $95. Not too shabby!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sstrungis
post Jun 22 2006, 03:52 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 12-November 05
Member No.: 8,527



<sigh>

OZ is required, eh? That's a bit of a deal breaker as Cacko is running very nicely right now. I used OZ on my 5500 and was not thrilled. Plus I do not feel like starting from scratch with my Z!

Plus, any chance of fullscreen emulation? 640x480 is tough on older eyes, and it looks like the resolution on the Einstein emulator is the same lower res as the Newt...Which makes it even smaller!

Scott
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ian.finder
post Jun 23 2006, 09:13 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 18-May 06
From: Chicago, IL
Member No.: 9,901



*Cough* Shame you need a ROM image for it.
I wonder where you could possibly go to find something as esoteric as an Apple Newton ROM image... ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jun 23 2006, 10:04 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



QUOTE(sstrungis @ Jun 22 2006, 02:52 AM)
<sigh>

OZ is required, eh?  That's a bit of a deal breaker as Cacko is running very nicely right now.  I used OZ on my 5500 and was not thrilled.  Plus I do not feel like starting from scratch with my Z!

Plus, any chance of fullscreen emulation?  640x480 is tough on older eyes, and it looks like the resolution on the Einstein emulator is the same lower res as the Newt...Which makes it even smaller!

Scott
*

Newton os is 320X240. I think it's locked at that resolution.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dproldan
post Jun 23 2006, 11:30 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 1-May 06
From: Málaga, Spain
Member No.: 9,746



QUOTE
Plus, any chance of fullscreen emulation? 640x480 is tough on older eyes, and it looks like the resolution on the Einstein emulator is the same lower res as the Newt...Which makes it even smaller!


The emulator allows you to change the resolution, but it's the dpi that can be tough on older eyes. The zaurus squeezes 640x480 pixels in a 3.7 '' screen, but the Newton has 480x320 in a much bigger screen.
The attached picture is a Simpad running Einstein.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  HPIM1679.JPG ( 1.05MB ) Number of downloads: 141
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 16 2007, 02:56 PM
Post #13





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I note there's been a few apple newton videos appearing on youtube; I checked the kallisys website but sadly there's no news of updates; if the Z was able to run newton with adequate speed I could be persuaded to load OZ or pdaXrom for it!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 12 2007, 05:54 AM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I see the newton emu runs on Nokia 770 now:
http://homepage.mac.com/dillera/PhotoAlbum6.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jul 27 2007, 12:42 PM
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



Looks like things have been happening!

http://dillernet.com/apple/2007/07/14/newt...es-open-source/

Ooh, the developer himself speaks:

http://www.internettablettalk.com/forums/s...read.php?t=7752
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 12:40 AM