OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Google Android Installable Image Available!, Full distro for SL-C3x00+SL-C1000. Need testers for SL-C7x0/860
ZDevil
post Jan 3 2008, 07:08 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(2or0 @ Jan 3 2008, 04:06 PM) *
I already did it last week. tongue.gif I built the kernel and tested it on debian. If you are interested in it, I will upload the kernel and modules.

Sure, pleazzzzzzz. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2or0
post Jan 3 2008, 03:20 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 217
Joined: 6-June 04
Member No.: 3,590



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Jan 3 2008, 07:08 AM) *
QUOTE(2or0 @ Jan 3 2008, 04:06 PM) *
I already did it last week. tongue.gif I built the kernel and tested it on debian. If you are interested in it, I will upload the kernel and modules.

Sure, pleazzzzzzz. tongue.gif


Ok, I upload them in my blog. Check it
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Android Zaurus
post Jan 3 2008, 10:05 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-December 07
From: Japan
Member No.: 21,136



Dear jpmatrix,

DNS issue might be resolved by running android-root/init instead of runtime in start script.

Network is up.
http://androidzaurus.seesaa.net/article/74649330.html

A better way to bring network up.
http://androidzaurus.seesaa.net/article/74701717.html

Android console could be bring up by /system/bin/sh in start script and/or changing the system console to tty2 because android-init always grabs /dev/tty1.

setconsole and tty1
http://androidzaurus.seesaa.net/article/75560174.html

Cheers,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 4 2008, 12:27 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



Look who's here, it's the author of all the androidzaurus.seesaa.net articles smile.gif
It's great to see you around, and keep up the good work!

QUOTE(Android Zaurus @ Jan 4 2008, 07:05 AM) *
Dear jpmatrix,

DNS issue might be resolved by running android-root/init instead of runtime in start script.

Network is up.
http://androidzaurus.seesaa.net/article/74649330.html

A better way to bring network up.
http://androidzaurus.seesaa.net/article/74701717.html

Android console could be bring up by /system/bin/sh in start script and/or changing the system console to tty2 because android-init always grabs /dev/tty1.

setconsole and tty1
http://androidzaurus.seesaa.net/article/75560174.html

Cheers,

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jan 4 2008, 02:11 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(Android Zaurus @ Jan 4 2008, 07:05 AM) *
DNS issue might be resolved by running android-root/init instead of runtime in start script.


gotcha! it works!!!!!

(sometimes i wonder why people simply doesn't write EXACTLY what is written in blogs/wiki...... tongue.gif )

i could launch the browser, and try some google searches with success!!!! terrrrrible smile.gif

i also noticed that the hdd light was blinking a lot, i don't really know what is was looking/loading....

edited:i forgot to say that the touchscreeen was somewhat working : it seems rotated...but the screen respond!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Android Zaurus
post Jan 4 2008, 08:54 PM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-December 07
From: Japan
Member No.: 21,136



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jan 4 2008, 07:11 PM) *
QUOTE(Android Zaurus @ Jan 4 2008, 07:05 AM) *
DNS issue might be resolved by running android-root/init instead of runtime in start script.


gotcha! it works!!!!!

(sometimes i wonder why people simply doesn't write EXACTLY what is written in blogs/wiki...... tongue.gif )

i could launch the browser, and try some google searches with success!!!! terrrrrible smile.gif

i also noticed that the hdd light was blinking a lot, i don't really know what is was looking/loading....

edited:i forgot to say that the touchscreeen was somewhat working : it seems rotated...but the screen respond!


Glad to know you've successfully done.

My case, the touch screen sometimes woks, sometimes doesn't. It's unstable.

The coordinate of touchscreen is in landscape view, even though frame buffer is in portlait view. It really confusing. I think touchscreen driver needs a little hack to incooperate with "service call window 18 i32 1" command.

Cheers,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Android Zaurus
post Jan 5 2008, 05:07 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-December 07
From: Japan
Member No.: 21,136



Dear cortez,

Thank you very much for your welcoming message. There are two more guys successfully booted Android on Zaurus based on your install image.

Android on Zaurus
http://ceo.gclue.jp/2008/01/04/android-on-zaurus/

His comment is "it is encouraging to develop some Android applets."

Android Zaurus: the movie
http://blog.so-net.ne.jp/vhehas/2008-01-05

He uploaded a movie Android is working on Zaurus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jan 5 2008, 05:42 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



Android Zaurus,

i love your RotateView applet wink.gif Thank you !!!

and i've just tried this one:
http://www.androidapps.org/2007/12/android...odge-balls.html

it works! .... in fact at least it runs, but i've troubles with the keyboard to play it smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jan 5 2008, 05:49 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



just another world to say that i've just tried google maps on Android ! wwwwhooooowwww!!!!

full screen rendering on the zaurus !

-launch Maps
-press Calendar to have the menu, then Search
then enter your address
-press "S" to have the famous Google satellite view ! enjoy !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnla
post Jan 5 2008, 05:06 PM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 15-August 06
From: NYC
Member No.: 10,804



You guys are my heroes!!!!! Android is the future!! Think about it.. the biggest tech company and most successful backing this project and the manpower that will be developing for it will be MIND BLOWING.. It's so sweet that you guys are letting us have a working preview of the future.

CHEERS!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jan 6 2008, 12:53 AM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



after playing a little with android, it happens that my hdd went full !!! apparently the tmp directory is growing fast as you use android... i notice it is erased on android launch but is it safe to erase it as android is running ???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 6 2008, 02:04 PM
Post #27





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jan 6 2008, 08:53 AM) *
after playing a little with android, it happens that my hdd went full !!! apparently the tmp directory is growing fast as you use android... i notice it is erased on android launch but is it safe to erase it as android is running ???


does it generate lots of new files, or one big one? If one big one, can you symlink it to /dev/null? Or, if not possible, delete /tmp and symlink to a directory on a flash card?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Android Zaurus
post Jan 7 2008, 04:20 PM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-December 07
From: Japan
Member No.: 21,136



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jan 6 2008, 05:53 PM) *
after playing a little with android, it happens that my hdd went full !!! apparently the tmp directory is growing fast as you use android... i notice it is erased on android launch but is it safe to erase it as android is running ???


Good point, jpmatrix.

I tried ls on android-root/tmp.
CODE

-rw------- root root 11429 2008-01-07 23:37 eventlog
srwxrwxrwx root root 2008-01-07 23:36 system_bus_socket
-rw-r--r-- root root 5 2008-01-07 23:36 messagebus.pid
prw--w--w- root root 2008-01-07 23:43 android-SurfaceFlingerSynchro
-rw-r--r-- root root 4096 2008-01-07 23:37 android-shared_heap.1864.0x157f80
-rw-r--r-- app_0 app_0 23552 2008-01-07 23:37 media.db
-rw-rw-rw- root root 9838592 2008-01-07 23:37 android-shared_heap.1864.0x189b90
-rw-rw-rw- app_4 app_4 1048576 2008-01-07 23:37 android-shared_heap.1897.0x15df98
-rw-r--r-- app_0 app_0 12288 2008-01-07 23:37 im_transient.db
-rw-rw-rw- phone phone 1048576 2008-01-07 23:38 android-shared_heap.1899.0x18f678
-rw-r--r-- app_0 app_0 2048 2008-01-07 23:37 contacts_presence.db
-rw-rw-rw- root root 9838592 2008-01-07 23:37 android-shared_heap.1864.0x1b1c80
-rw-rw-rw- phone phone 1048576 2008-01-07 23:38 android-shared_heap.1899.0x186ba0
-rw-rw-rw- root root 9838592 2008-01-07 23:38 android-shared_heap.1864.0x1a4088
-rw-rw-rw- phone phone 1048576 2008-01-07 23:38 android-shared_heap.1899.0x1947b8


Each Android applet eats 1M to 9M bytes shared memory and they are put in /tmp. I guess Dalvik VM does this trick. Obviously you can't delete them on runtime.

For a real target device, /tmp is usually assigned to ramfs. Our Android Zaurus case, it's on internal hdd/flash filesystem. I've been wondering why Android runs on poor 64M, but shared memory on /tmp explains a little.

On the other hand, if android-root/tmp goes to ramfs, Android Zaurus may run much faster. There's always bright side.

By the way, start-android script erases android-root/tmp each time at startup. The reason is binderdev.o reports warning if [i]messagebus.pid[/] exists in android-root/tmp at boot up. So I decided clean them up all in start script. Well, it's supposed to be volatile anyway.

Cheers,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zeroc87
post Jan 8 2008, 04:32 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 6-December 06
Member No.: 13,145



Can I use wireless cf card with android? my card is a planex that use hostap driver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jan 8 2008, 11:25 AM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(zeroc87 @ Jan 8 2008, 01:32 PM) *
Can I use wireless cf card with android? my card is a planex that use hostap driver


android is chrooted under your main distro (debian or angstrom). so if your card is supported, there's no problem at all smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

8 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2014 - 07:43 PM