OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Opera 7.55 Working On Cacko Rom?
choonhow
post Aug 18 2005, 01:01 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 19-November 03
Member No.: 961



Hi everyone,

I am using a C750 with a Cacko 1.22 rom. I could not install the Opera 7.55 (from the IBM website) using both the GUI installer and through the terminal.

Did I missed out any additional libs or files that are required for this installation?

Anyone care to share their sucessful installation experience?? I had tried searching the forums but to no avail.


Thanks.



choonhow
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwagelaar
post Aug 19 2005, 01:44 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-July 04
From: Brussels, Belgium
Member No.: 4,106



Hmm, I'm using Opera 7.55 with Cacko 1.22 on my C860 without problems. Since I installed it quite some time ago, I'm not sure how much tweaking was needed to get the ipk to install. The ipk file I used is named 'multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk'. I don't think that was it's original name, so I must have changed that to make it work from a feed...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
drnick
post Aug 19 2005, 04:46 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 6-November 04
Member No.: 5,361



QUOTE(dwagelaar @ Aug 19 2005, 09:44 AM)
Hmm, I'm using Opera 7.55 with Cacko 1.22 on my C860 without problems. Since I installed it quite some time ago, I'm not sure how much tweaking was needed to get the ipk to install. The ipk file I used is named 'multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk'. I don't think that was it's original name, so I must have changed that to make it work from a feed...
*


I have a 3000 w/ Cacko and I got it to work by renaming "multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk" to "multimodal_4.1.2_arm.tar.gz" and extract the files. Poke around those files to find another IPK called opera_7.55_arm.ipk . install that and you should be good to go.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
choonhow
post Aug 21 2005, 11:37 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 19-November 03
Member No.: 961



Hi everyone,

Thanks for the replies.

QUOTE
I have a 3000 w/ Cacko and I got it to work by renaming "multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk" to "multimodal_4.1.2_arm.tar.gz" and extract the files. Poke around those files to find another IPK called opera_7.55_arm.ipk . install that and you should be good to go.


I had downloaded this file named multimodal_arm.ipk from the IBM website which I am not sure whether it is the correct file. Then I unzipped this file twice (according to another forum) and found this file named opera_arm.ipk (which i tried to install but to no avail).

I hope you can direct me to the file that you had mentioned (multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk) so that I can try installing it to my zaurus.


Thanks.


choonhow
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwagelaar
post Aug 24 2005, 09:58 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-July 04
From: Brussels, Belgium
Member No.: 4,106



QUOTE(choonhow @ Aug 22 2005, 08:37 AM)
I had downloaded this file named multimodal_arm.ipk from the IBM website which I am not sure whether it is the correct file. Then I unzipped this file twice (according to another forum) and found this file named opera_arm.ipk (which i tried to install but to no avail).

I hope you can direct me to the file that you had mentioned (multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk) so that I can try installing it to my zaurus.


You've got the right file (multimodal_arm.ipk), but you should rename it to include its version number, so that becomes multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk.

If the ipk then still doesn't work, you can indeed unzip the file and try renaming opera_arm.ipk to opera_7.55_arm.ipk. If you install this opera ipk instead of the multimodal ipk, you won't get the ViaVoice embedded voice recognition software.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
choonhow
post Aug 29 2005, 05:54 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 19-November 03
Member No.: 961



QUOTE(dwagelaar @ Aug 24 2005, 09:58 PM)
QUOTE(choonhow @ Aug 22 2005, 08:37 AM)
I had downloaded this file named multimodal_arm.ipk from the IBM website which I am not sure whether it is the correct file. Then I unzipped this file twice (according to another forum) and found this file named opera_arm.ipk (which i tried to install but to no avail).

I hope you can direct me to the file that you had mentioned (multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk) so that I can try installing it to my zaurus.


You've got the right file (multimodal_arm.ipk), but you should rename it to include its version number, so that becomes multimodal_4.1.2_arm.ipk.

If the ipk then still doesn't work, you can indeed unzip the file and try renaming opera_arm.ipk to opera_7.55_arm.ipk. If you install this opera ipk instead of the multimodal ipk, you won't get the ViaVoice embedded voice recognition software.
*



Hi,

Thank you for all the replies.

I had tried renaming the files (both the multimodal_arm.ipk and opera_arm.ipk) and only the opera_7.55_arm.ipk can be installed.

After installation, I tried starting opera from the launcher but it does not work (it flashes to the Opera and back to the launcher again). So I tried starting from the terminal, and I saw the below messages:

#opera
Display size = 480x640
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: Could not find "ini/standard_mouse.ini"
opera: vxmplugin.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
QDir:: readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /home/root/.operasave
QDir:: readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /dev/shm/.operasave
QDir:: readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /usr/mnt.rom/card/.operasave
QDir:: readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /usr/mnt.rom/cf/.operasave
QDir:: readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /home/root/.operasave
QDir:: readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /dev/shm/.operasave
QDir:: readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /usr/mnt.rom/card/.operasave
QDir:: readDirEntries: Cannot read the directory: /usr/mnt.rom/cf/.operasave

I am not sure what should I do with all these messages, anyone can help me with this?

Thanks in advance


choonhow
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dwagelaar
post Oct 17 2005, 10:52 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 26-July 04
From: Brussels, Belgium
Member No.: 4,106



What happens if you run opera from the command line as a normal user, not as root? That is:
CODE
$ opera

instead of
CODE
# opera
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th July 2014 - 02:16 AM