OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wifi Worked In Beta3. Fails In Pdaxii13, Error code 64
SiduS
post May 6 2007, 09:10 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 4-August 06
Member No.: 10,634



Hey,

Man I have nothing but problems doing anything.

So I got pdaxii13 full for my sl-c3200. Stupidity on my part.

So I'm hoping this is just more stupidity on my part and a simple fix.

I have a TRENDnet TEW-222CF wifi card.

It worked just fine in Beta3 and loaded as a Orinoco Prism2

Now when I plug it in it shows in the Card Monitor as:

Agere Systems Hermes-I based PCMCIA Wireless Adapter

I look at dmesg and all it shows is:

pxa_pcmcia_init(0)
: Wireless, HCF failure: "Error code 64"

I try

cardctl status and it shows

Socket 0:
5V 16-bit PC Card
function 0: [ready]

Socket1:
3.3V 16-bit PC Card
function 0: [ready], [bat dead], [bat low]

I don't remember having to do anything in beta3 to get it to work.

Any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
T3_slider
post May 6 2007, 07:30 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 26-December 06
Member No.: 13,449



Hermes WiFi support was added in pdaXii13 5.3.4 as far as I can tell, and it seems to have messed up some other cards. From this thread ( http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...systems&st=240# ) Meanie said to try deleting /etc/pcmcia/hermes.conf, restarting the PCMCIA service, and seeing what cardctl ident shows, but someone else (Fatty) said it didn't work.

You could try deleting /etc/pcmcia/hermes.conf and seeing if that works. Otherwise you could reflash to version 5.3.3 if you can find it which should work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 6 2007, 07:36 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(T3_slider @ May 7 2007, 01:30 PM)
Hermes WiFi support was added in pdaXii13 5.3.4 as far as I can tell, and it seems to have messed up some other cards. From this thread ( http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...systems&st=240# ) Meanie said to try deleting /etc/pcmcia/hermes.conf, restarting the PCMCIA service, and seeing what cardctl ident shows, but someone else (Fatty) said it didn't work.

You could try deleting /etc/pcmcia/hermes.conf and seeing if that works. Otherwise you could reflash to version 5.3.3 if you can find it which should work.
*


try deletimg /etc/pcmcia/agere and /etc/pcmcia/hermes as well...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zeigerpuppy
post May 6 2007, 08:15 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 23-December 05
Member No.: 8,778



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2007, 07:36 PM)
try deletimg /etc/pcmcia/agere and /etc/pcmcia/hermes as well...
*


Does the same apply for r198, my Socket card has stopped working?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SiduS
post May 8 2007, 07:29 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 4-August 06
Member No.: 10,634



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 7 2007, 12:36 AM)
try deletimg /etc/pcmcia/agere and /etc/pcmcia/hermes as well...
*


Didn't make a difference.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fatty
post May 8 2007, 07:45 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 22-September 05
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 8,168



QUOTE(SiduS @ May 8 2007, 11:29 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 7 2007, 12:36 AM)
try deletimg /etc/pcmcia/agere and /etc/pcmcia/hermes as well...
*


Didn't make a difference.
*



Can you post your

cardctl ident
cat /var/lib/pcmcia/stab

for Meanie's checking? My Z has been flashed back to 5.3.3 (again).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 8 2007, 08:03 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Fatty @ May 9 2007, 01:45 AM)
QUOTE(SiduS @ May 8 2007, 11:29 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 7 2007, 12:36 AM)
try deletimg /etc/pcmcia/agere and /etc/pcmcia/hermes as well...
*


Didn't make a difference.
*



Can you post your

cardctl ident
cat /var/lib/pcmcia/stab

for Meanie's checking? My Z has been flashed back to 5.3.3 (again).
*



i need output for 5.3.3 (when its working) and 5.4.1 (when its not working) to compare.

actually, send me all the .conf files under /etc/pcmcia and also the config file under /etc/pcmcia for 5.3.3
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fatty
post May 8 2007, 08:32 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 22-September 05
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 8,168



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 9 2007, 12:03 AM)
i need output for 5.3.3 (when its working) and 5.4.1 (when its not working) to compare.

actually, send me all the .conf files under /etc/pcmcia and also the config file under /etc/pcmcia for 5.3.3
*


Here are 5.3.3 outputs:

cardctl ident
Socket 0:
product info: "Pretec", "CompactWLAN Card 802.11b", "2.5"
manfid: 0x0156, 0x0002
function: 6 (network)
Socket 1:
product info: "", "TWTTI", ""
manfid: 0x000a, 0x0000
function: 4 (fixed disk)

cat /var/lib/pcmcia/stab
Socket 0: Pretec CompactWLAN Card 802.11b
0 hermes orinoco_cs 0 wlan0
Socket 1: ATA/IDE Fixed Disk
1 ide ide-cs 0 hda 3 0

Also attached everything in /etc/pcmcia. (in bz2)
Attached File(s)
Attached File  pcmcia.tar.bz2.zip ( 281.96K ) Number of downloads: 14
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 8 2007, 09:06 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Fatty @ May 9 2007, 02:32 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 9 2007, 12:03 AM)
i need output for 5.3.3 (when its working) and 5.4.1 (when its not working) to compare.

actually, send me all the .conf files under /etc/pcmcia and also the config file under /etc/pcmcia for 5.3.3
*


Here are 5.3.3 outputs:

cardctl ident
Socket 0:
product info: "Pretec", "CompactWLAN Card 802.11b", "2.5"
manfid: 0x0156, 0x0002
function: 6 (network)
Socket 1:
product info: "", "TWTTI", ""
manfid: 0x000a, 0x0000
function: 4 (fixed disk)

cat /var/lib/pcmcia/stab
Socket 0: Pretec CompactWLAN Card 802.11b
0 hermes orinoco_cs 0 wlan0
Socket 1: ATA/IDE Fixed Disk
1 ide ide-cs 0 hda 3 0

Also attached everything in /etc/pcmcia. (in bz2)
*



ok, i think i found the problem. i will upload a build 5.4.2 tomorrow for testing...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fatty
post May 8 2007, 09:21 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 22-September 05
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 8,168



Wow, thank you so much!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SiduS
post May 8 2007, 09:29 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 4-August 06
Member No.: 10,634



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 8 2007, 01:03 PM)
i need output for 5.3.3 (when its working) and 5.4.1 (when its not working) to compare.

actually, send me all the .conf files under /etc/pcmcia and also the config file under /etc/pcmcia for 5.3.3
*



I'll have to flash back to pdaxii13.

I flashed to R198 and I think its picking it up properly now. Here's the output from dmesg.

pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 1
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia1.0
eth0: Hardware identity 800c:0000:0001:0000
eth0: Station identity 001f:0002:0001:0004
eth0: Firmware determined as Intersil 1.4.2
eth0: Ad-hoc demo mode supported
eth0: IEEE standard IBSS ad-hoc mode supported
eth0: WEB supported. 104-bit key
eth0: MAC address 00:E0:98:AF:1C:E4
eth0: Station name "Prism I"
eth0: ready
eth0: index 0x01: Vcc 5.0. irq 137. io 0xc4840000-0xc484003f


The card is a Prism II so i don't know if that Station name part is important.

I don't know enough to get the card to connect. its missing its network script file. So I just created one quickly but probably did it wrong. And I configured the lan / wifi tool in X to a correct profile but it wont connect.

However iwconfig does show good output just not associated to anything.

I can't find the cardctl command to give you that output.

And the only .conf files in /etc/pcmcia were related to usb and bluetooth and the config.opts file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post May 8 2007, 09:45 AM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,209
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



QUOTE(SiduS @ May 8 2007, 01:29 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 8 2007, 01:03 PM)
i need output for 5.3.3 (when its working) and 5.4.1 (when its not working) to compare.

actually, send me all the .conf files under /etc/pcmcia and also the config file under /etc/pcmcia for 5.3.3
*



I'll have to flash back to pdaxii13.

I flashed to R198 and I think its picking it up properly now. Here's the output from dmesg.

pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 1
pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia1.0
eth0: Hardware identity 800c:0000:0001:0000
eth0: Station identity 001f:0002:0001:0004
eth0: Firmware determined as Intersil 1.4.2
eth0: Ad-hoc demo mode supported
eth0: IEEE standard IBSS ad-hoc mode supported
eth0: WEB supported. 104-bit key
eth0: MAC address 00:E0:98:AF:1C:E4
eth0: Station name "Prism I"
eth0: ready
eth0: index 0x01: Vcc 5.0. irq 137. io 0xc4840000-0xc484003f


The card is a Prism II so i don't know if that Station name part is important.

I don't know enough to get the card to connect. its missing its network script file. So I just created one quickly but probably did it wrong. And I configured the lan / wifi tool in X to a correct profile but it wont connect.

However iwconfig does show good output just not associated to anything.

I can't find the cardctl command to give you that output.

And the only .conf files in /etc/pcmcia were related to usb and bluetooth and the config.opts file.
*




in 2.6 kernel is it pccardctl

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SiduS
post May 8 2007, 09:57 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 4-August 06
Member No.: 10,634



pccardctl ident
Socket 1:
product info: "Wireless", "LAN Adapter", "Version 01.02", ""
manfid: 0x0156, 0x0002
function: 6 (network)

pccardctl status
Socket 1:
5.0V 16-bit PC Card
Subdevice 0 (function 0) bound to driver "orinoco_cs"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SiduS
post May 10 2007, 08:54 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 4-August 06
Member No.: 10,634



Any updates on this yet?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fatty
post May 10 2007, 09:47 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 22-September 05
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 8,168



QUOTE(SiduS @ May 11 2007, 12:54 AM)
Any updates on this yet?
*


Meanie has uploaded new 5.4.2 for testing. I have tested it together with hdimage-full.tgz 5.4.1beta and got same result. Since I've flashed back to 5.3.3 again, can you try also?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 10th July 2014 - 02:48 AM