OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Starting Debian On Zaurus Sl-c3100, Trouble starting X/QT GUI Debian session
SadaraX
post Jan 15 2006, 02:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 10-December 05
Member No.: 8,697



I am running the latest version of Cacko on my Zaurus sl-c3100, but I have installed debian onto my harddrive in a very standard and normal way. By this I mean, I downloaded the zaurus-big-v0.18.tgz, extracted it to my /hdd3/debroot folder, ran the postinst.sh. I then removed the INSTALL.d/ directory, as I no longer needed it.

For more information, I followed the instructions here in the section "Installing Debian GNU/Linux"
http://wiki.debian.org/?PocketWorkstationXQT
The only thing I changed was I installed onto my harddrive, not my flash drive.

However I cannot get anything to start. I run the command 'Vncserver' and then 'Fbvnc' but I now get errors, and before nothing happened. When I run 'Vncserver' I get the message:

chroot: cannot execute zvncserver: Too many levels of symbolic links

and of course 'Fbvnc' will not work if the previous command will not work.

I have had a lot of trouble in the past with just getting the vnc GUI session to start after I get debian installed. I really just need some help actually starting the debian system that I installed. sad.gif

I don't care if I have to reinstall, or what I need to do. If someone has a good idea on how to install debian onto their z3100 and then actually start a GUI session, please tell me. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jan 15 2006, 06:32 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



definately reinstall, my problems with the debian chroot install were fbvnc/Fbvnc related
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jan 15 2006, 07:45 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



why I said reinstall is the symlink msg's, I find those quite "odd"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anonuk
post Jan 16 2006, 07:33 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 24-December 03
Member No.: 1,271



QUOTE(bam @ Jan 15 2006, 07:45 AM)
why I said reinstall is the symlink msg's, I find those quite "odd"
*


Just got a 3100 and Im working on getting this working too... is your partition formatted ext3? if not then you will have big problems with the symlinks IIRC. I'll post more when i get this working on my new Z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Jan 16 2006, 11:04 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



check out thegrinder.ws for more details
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SadaraX
post Mar 1 2006, 11:22 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 10-December 05
Member No.: 8,697



QUOTE(anonuk @ Jan 16 2006, 07:33 AM)
QUOTE(bam @ Jan 15 2006, 07:45 AM)
why I said reinstall is the symlink msg's, I find those quite "odd"
*


Just got a 3100 and Im working on getting this working too... is your partition formatted ext3? if not then you will have big problems with the symlinks IIRC. I'll post more when i get this working on my new Z.
*



The installed harddrive should be ext2/3, but I do not know about the non-4GB harddrive section. I will have to check. I'm going to give this install another try soon and we will see what happens.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SadaraX
post Mar 1 2006, 11:22 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 10-December 05
Member No.: 8,697



QUOTE(bam @ Jan 16 2006, 11:04 AM)
check out thegrinder.ws for more details
*


Is there any particular section I should be looking for?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Mar 1 2006, 12:55 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



i'm interested to hear if anyone has cacko/vnc-debian working on a 3100.

In the meantime Xqt should work, as should pdaxrom using pdaxrom's x server (though this approach has always seems kinda redundant to me).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th December 2014 - 09:30 AM