OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sparklan Wl672, Help needed ... maybe need pcmcia.conf
yongwun
post Sep 30 2006, 03:35 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 23-March 04
Member No.: 2,465



Just got my C1K, was very happy with it after long using a PocketPC.

I have a Sparklan WL672 and was happily using it with the original Sharp Rom.

Later I flash my C1K to Cacko ... now my SparkLan WL672 does not work any more.

The card is recognize as a Intersil Prims2 with a "!" sign.

I suspect the pcmcia.conf is not correct.

Anyone could provide me with a right setting or a pcmcia.conf that can work with the card ?

Thanks !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cyberdoc1971
post Sep 30 2006, 05:17 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 14-October 05
From: North carolina
Member No.: 8,316



Funny thing, I did the same thing after I outgrew my Toshiba e805 and had the same Wi-Fi card. I use the Cacko 1.23 (full) for my C3100, and I tried to use the WL-672 with no luck. I dont think there is a driver for it on the Zaurus under Cacko. Something I haven't tried yet, is that you may give Driverguide.com a try. Everything there is free, and they have drivers for about everything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Oct 1 2006, 02:33 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



show 'cardctl ident' output
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yongwun
post Oct 1 2006, 03:28 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 23-March 04
Member No.: 2,465



cardctl ident output as below:

Socket 0:
product info: "Wireless LAN", "11Mbps PC Card", "Version 01.02", ""
manfid: 0x0156, 0x0002
function: 6 (network)


Below is the setting in hostap_cs.conf
card "Intersil PRISM2 Reference Design 11Mb/s WLAN Card"
version "INTERSIL", "HFA384x/IEEE"
manfid 0x0156, 0x0002
bind "hostap_cs"

in my SL5600 (tkRom), the card is working fine without problem.

In the wireless.conf setting look like below:
card "Intersil PRISM2 Reference Design 11Mb/s WLAN Card"
version "INTERSIL", "HFA384x/IEEE"
bind "prism2_cs"


I really hope to get this thing working ..... I do not want to flash back to SharpRom ... ohmy.gif or buy a new CF card ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Oct 2 2006, 03:16 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



argh.. 0x0156, 0x0002... Thats ID of reference card which many (too many) manufacturers does not change.

Try this in pcmcia config:
CODE
card "Sparklan WL672"
  version "Wireless LAN", "11Mbps PC Card", "Version 01.02", ""
  bind "hostap_cs"


if you lack hostap_cs but have prism2_cs or orinoco_cs then you can try them of course.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yongwun
post Oct 2 2006, 04:34 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 23-March 04
Member No.: 2,465



Thanks all, I got it working ....... finally!

Following HRW instruction, it works find.

The following setting works as well:

card "Intersil PRISM2 Reference Design 11Mb/s WLAN Card"
manfid 0x0156, 0x0002
bind "hostap_cs

did not play around with unix/linux system too long ..... wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Oct 2 2006, 05:23 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



Both methods will work. But 'manfid' one is not always best - especially with 0x0156, 0x0002 cards as some of them can work with hostap_cs OR orinoco_cs (first one preferred) but some works only with orinoco_cs.

Configuring by card version bind just for card which works.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freizugheit
post Nov 18 2006, 04:43 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 7-November 03
Member No.: 811



Please refer to the link: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...99&#entry146599

I got it worked lately.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
paulo
post Dec 20 2008, 07:18 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 3-December 07
Member No.: 21,022



I can config my Sl-5500 and my SL-3100.

My cf wifi on "cardctl ident"

Socket 0:
product info: "Agere System", "wireless cf card model 1401", "," ""
manfid: 0x0156, 0x0003
function: 6 (network)

Some one can help me.

Regards
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 07:44 AM