OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dosbox On Zaurus :), Really badly want dos on my zaurus
alfie
post Mar 16 2005, 08:30 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 7-January 05
Member No.: 6,149



I'm an old game freak. Got tons of my XT games all nicely archived, was hoping to play them on my zaurus (C-700)

I've been reading around and realise dosbox and most of the dos emulators work only on X, so I'm venturing on getting pdaXrom installed instead of cacko-rom. (I dun use my zaurus as a pda anyway, more of a platform for code editing (joe) and viewing files.

Anyone knows of any good sites for dosbox on the zaurus ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laze
post Mar 16 2005, 09:14 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 704
Joined: 9-October 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 20



Basically just download dosbox of the feed and use it. Not much to setup you need to make a config file - do a search people have discussed it before but don't expect miracles. Its hard to emulate x86 but without sound it runs okay i think.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raduga
post Mar 16 2005, 09:50 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 2,125



QUOTE(alfie @ Mar 16 2005, 08:30 AM)
Anyone knows of any good sites for dosbox on the zaurus ?
*


Eh...
This one? -
or this - http://www.oesf.org/forums

DOSBox will run in SDL on Sharp-based roms, as well as X,
so it's not a technical requirement; but most of the other interesting
emulators require X, so if you want to emulate things *other* than DOS,
as well, go with pdaXrom.

Additionally, I've noticed some keyboard quirks under SDL-framebuffer
that I don't see under X11, in DOSBox, so it may be a good idea anyway.

Now... DOSBox builds prior to 0.62 seem to run fine, but >0.61 are BROKEN
by default, due to memory alignment problems. I'll post a patch for 0.63 if
you're interested; but I build binaries for pdaXrom only.

DOSBox IS SLOW. Games that are largely CPU-bound (or which halt on user
input frequently) have a subjective feel of a high-end 286, or low end 386.
Games that are heavily graphics-intensive have performance about that of an XT
or worse. Think "80286-12" on average.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raduga
post Mar 16 2005, 10:03 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 2,125



QUOTE(Laze @ Mar 16 2005, 09:14 AM)
Basically just download dosbox of the feed and use it. Not much to setup you need to make a config file - do a search people have discussed it before but don't expect miracles. Its hard to emulate x86 but without sound it runs okay i think.
*


thanks for the feed, Laze!
But I see you're still using 0.61. Who maintains DOSBox for pdaXrom,
that I can send a 0.62/0.63 arm patch to? Or should I build a new ipk myself?
0.62 has interactive keyboard mapper.
0.63 is reputed to be faster, but I haven't seen much improvement.
0.63 has some sound bugs; fixed in CVS
0.64 *may* have patch for ARM cpus in the main distribution. (not done yet by far)

Also, some keys are problematic, because of hardwired US-english BIOS
(you can assign Fn-G to Key_Semicolon but you have to press Shift-Fn-G to get colon)

I'll probably make a Zaurus keyboard BIOS patch, too. I *think* this is what LordDavon did, but haven't found his sources....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ScottYelich
post Mar 16 2005, 02:58 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 9-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 609



rad --

is there a binary for 0.63 for pdaXrom somewhere?

Scott
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alfie
post Mar 16 2005, 08:19 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 7-January 05
Member No.: 6,149



I'm already reflashing to pdaXrom tongue.gif Will be very happy to get the latest dosbox 0.63 from you.

I'll be running stuff w/o sound. smile.gif Hoping for the best.

Does the dosbox for pdaXrom uses X11 or SDL ? Is it possible to start it w/o starting X Then if its using SDL-framebuffer ?

Alf
-

QUOTE(raduga @ Mar 16 2005, 05:50 PM)
Eh...
This one? -
or this -  http://www.oesf.org/forums

DOSBox will run in SDL on Sharp-based roms, as well as X,
so it's not a technical requirement;  but most of the other interesting
emulators require X, so if you want to emulate things *other* than DOS,
as well, go with pdaXrom.

Additionally, I've noticed some keyboard quirks under SDL-framebuffer
that I don't see under X11, in DOSBox, so it may be a good idea anyway.

Now...  DOSBox builds prior to 0.62 seem to run fine, but >0.61 are BROKEN
by default, due to memory alignment  problems.  I'll post a patch for 0.63 if
you're interested; but I build binaries for pdaXrom only.

DOSBox IS SLOW.  Games that are largely CPU-bound  (or which halt on user
input frequently) have a subjective feel of a high-end 286, or low end 386.
Games that are heavily graphics-intensive have performance about that of an XT
or worse.  Think "80286-12" on average.
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
alfie
post Mar 17 2005, 06:51 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 7-January 05
Member No.: 6,149



Qn: If DosBox is an SDL app, why does it need X ? Or does it ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raduga
post Mar 17 2005, 11:39 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 2,125



QUOTE(alfie @ Mar 17 2005, 06:51 AM)
Qn: If DosBox is an SDL app, why does it need X ? Or does it ?
*


Its an SDL app, it doesn't need X11, but seems to work rather better with it.

With SDL-fb some keys appear to be misfunctional, mouse doesn't work,
and consequently you can't use the GUI keymapper.
It may or may not be possible to manually remap extended key combinations in framebuffer mode. I haven't succeeded.

Despite all this it *may* run faster, due to less overhead.
Also, you'll have more free memory, which could help for some things.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raduga
post Mar 17 2005, 12:49 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 2,125



QUOTE(ScottYelich @ Mar 16 2005, 02:58 PM)
rad --

is there a binary for 0.63 for pdaXrom somewhere?

Scott
*



http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/raduga/
I'll post a source patch (alignment fix) in a bit.

try 'dosbox -startmapper' for some fun.
Mod1= CTRL
Mod2 = ALT
Mod3 = Fn

Do you know if Lord Davon secreted the source to his mods anywhere?
I'd really like to see what he did with the 0.61 sources to fix the Zaurus keyboard-
brute-hacking the BIOS or something more elegant.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ScottYelich
post Mar 19 2005, 01:21 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 992
Joined: 9-October 03
From: NYC
Member No.: 609



no.
and he seems to be gone, again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wendell
post Oct 7 2005, 05:59 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 4,938



Ok. I can't get 0.63 to work (libasound.so.2 missing. )

and pressing Fn still generates '1s' .. so how do you compile it yourself? anyone have the alignment patch for .63 ?

This is what needs to be done for the '1s' fix
replace the following lines in src/gui/sdlmain.cpp
/* Special Keys */
default:
code=KBD_1;
LOG(LOG_KEYBOARD,LOG_ERROR)("Unhandled SDL keysym %d"...
break;
/* change KBD_1 to something like KBD_leftshift */
/* or change 313 to just skip and go on? */

I will try to compile dosbox myself, I guess, but I have no idea what to do about the alignment patch and I haven't had great success doing that in the past.

Wendell
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
muddog
post Jun 27 2006, 06:33 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-June 06
Member No.: 10,190



QUOTE
http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/raduga/
I'll post a source patch (alignment fix)  in a bit.

try 'dosbox -startmapper' for some fun.
Mod1= CTRL
Mod2 = ALT
Mod3 = Fn

Do you know if Lord Davon secreted the source to his mods anywhere?
I'd really like to see what he did with the 0.61 sources to fix the Zaurus keyboard-
brute-hacking the BIOS or something more elegant.
*


The feeds of dosbox is greate!, works fast than the binary which i build from offical source by myself.
But the problem is the rigth mouse click is not vaild. And the touch screen does not work fine. Any patch or total patches for dosbox on Zaurus?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hrw
post Jun 27 2006, 07:04 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



raduga: can you finally share a patch?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raduga
post Jun 27 2006, 11:18 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 2,125



QUOTE(Hrw @ Jun 27 2006, 07:04 AM)
raduga: can you finally share a patch?
*


I don't think I have the original patch anymore, but 0.64+ has support for ARM
in the main tree (0.65 is current)

when configuring, --disable-unaligned-memory
also, --disable-fpu --disable-opengl may help performance
also, --disable-sdltest --disable-alsatest --disable-debug may help avoid some problems when building and/or running

If the keyboard layout is all wonky, you may need to enable/disable
"usescancodes" in the dosbox.conf file

Some keys ( ex: ":" still needs <shift><fn>g ) need extra work-
a patch to make them work "right" on the zaurus hasn't yet been written.

If you use the current source, or CVS, it should work pretty much good.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raduga
post Jun 27 2006, 11:27 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 2-March 04
Member No.: 2,125



QUOTE(muddog @ Jun 27 2006, 06:33 AM)
QUOTE
http://zaurus.spy.org/feeds/raduga/
I'll post a source patch (alignment fix)  in a bit.

try 'dosbox -startmapper' for some fun.
Mod1= CTRL
Mod2 = ALT
Mod3 = Fn

Do you know if Lord Davon secreted the source to his mods anywhere?
I'd really like to see what he did with the 0.61 sources to fix the Zaurus keyboard-
brute-hacking the BIOS or something more elegant.
*


The feeds of dosbox is greate!, works fast than the binary which i build from offical source by myself.
But the problem is the rigth mouse click is not vaild. And the touch screen does not work fine. Any patch or total patches for dosbox on Zaurus?
*



Which version were you trying to build and compile yourself?
The feed I put up there is extremely old, and probably newer builds should be faster.

If you use GCC flags appropriate to your system, and an SDL that's optimized for your cpu/video, you'll have the best results overall.

I've seen both right and left mouse buttons fail in some applications; hard to track down, but it looks like an obscure emulation bug.

If the RMB never works, its possible your system is not generating them properly in the first place. Cacko/pdaXrom/opie/etc all have different ways to generate RMB.

Also... there *are* some problems with touchscreen calibration. I've been investigating this for awhile, and am.... closer to a fix, but don't have one working yet. I'll let you know when I have a chance to test it some more.

HRW: I *was* working on a 0.65 .bb; sorry, but I got sidetracked. I'll look into it, when I get a working OE build system back up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 02:50 PM