OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Comer - C860, Need help to use the C860
cfchew9238
post Apr 15 2005, 08:02 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 22-February 05
Member No.: 6,515



I am totally new to the Linux, so it is very brave for me to buy the Zaurus, some more found that everything including the manual and CDROM are all in Jap. Need help to start using the C860.

Please also advise how to change to C860 english ROM.

Thank you. :(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Apr 15 2005, 08:12 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



You want the cacko rom 1.22. Do a search for it as I believe there will be instructions how to install it and where to get it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cfchew9238
post Apr 16 2005, 10:18 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 22-February 05
Member No.: 6,515



Thank you very much Bluedevils, I have done the cacko 1.22 installation, and it is fantastic. But later I found that when I insert my Symbol wifi card, the name of the card appeared at the bottom of the screen, but did not seem to be detected un the "Wireless Monitor", can you please advise how could I make the Symbol card to work in the cacko 1.22?

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Apr 17 2005, 03:19 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



Sorry,

I'm still on 1.21 (which has no problems with my spectrum/symbol card), but a search turned up a few hints. I see that you've posted to some of them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cfchew9238
post Apr 17 2005, 06:11 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 22-February 05
Member No.: 6,515



but too bad until now nobody reply me for help. I have seen a few hints... I open up the MidnightCommander to check the /ect/pcmcia/..., but I do not know how to edit the config file, I have also seen the "Spectrum" in the /pcmcia/, is it means that the driver already pre-loaded in the cacko 1.22? What should I do further to make it detecting my Symbol card and connected?
Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ferdinauta
post Apr 18 2005, 04:00 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 11-November 04
Member No.: 5,418



QUOTE(cfchew9238 @ Apr 16 2005, 07:18 PM)
Thank you very much Bluedevils, I have done the cacko 1.22 installation, and it is fantastic. But later I found that when I insert my Symbol wifi card, the name of the card appeared at the bottom of the screen, but did not seem to be detected un the "Wireless Monitor", can you please advise how could I make the Symbol card to work in the cacko 1.22?

Thank you.
*


I've got an 860 with Symbol Spectrum 24 and cacko 1.22. The only problem is that kismet doesn't work, but Wellenreiter works fine and I can connect to AP without problems. I didn't need to install addtional drivers.

The Wireless monitor only shows the status if your are connected to the net. If your are n't connected all the fields are empty.

When you insert the card is normal to see the name at the bottom and then dissapears. It means that is detected.

What problems do you have to say that doesn't work? Waht have you tried? Connect to an AP? Scan?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cfchew9238
post Apr 18 2005, 05:18 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 22-February 05
Member No.: 6,515



Hi ferdinauta,

Thank you very much for replying. After spending some times studying from the forum, finally try to key in the SSID, and the network connected through my Symbol card. I was so used to the CE.NET that I don't normally have to key in the SSID manually in my Sigmarion III.

The Symbol ran and smiled with its green LED flashes.

I only manage to run my c860 up to this far, because I failed to install the ipk files in the cacko's package installer, for some reason during the file installation, an error msg poped up saying the filename contain character which is not support inthe application and asking to change the filename, how am I suppose to change the file name while I couldn't even install the filemanager and zeditor.

Thanks for you reply, appreciate very much.

Nowaday, not many people interested to reply simple questions. Now only I understand this Zaurus is not user friendly to odinary people like me who don't posses much knowledge about the Linux.
Window CE.NET is still more user friendly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ferdinauta
post Apr 18 2005, 07:03 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 11-November 04
Member No.: 5,418



You're welcome. Referring to your answer, Windows CE seems to be more user friendly because many people works with Microsoft OS.

As you can see, Zaurus world needs a lot of time to configure and optimize to match your requirments, but once done it is really a fantastic machine. I have spent many ours reading the forums and using the search function, and I'm sure that I am not the only one. I supose many people has done that, but this is the "price" of having a Laptop on your hands more powerfull and enjoyable than an IPAQ or a PALM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th September 2014 - 02:06 PM