OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ripped Movies Ending Early, Update 6/27/06
tripdad
post Jun 20 2006, 05:18 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 2-June 06
Member No.: 10,038



I believe I finally have all my ripping issues resolved. Being the newbie here I think that perhaps others have already figured this one out so I won't post. Send me a note (PM) if not and I will respond. If several are received I will start a separate thread.
Archos needs to publish a Video for Dummies book! What a ride!

Tim



Hello All,

Been playing with my new AV500 for about a week now. Getting around to actually watching some of the video I have put on it. I have several videos that end early. I see a similar post, but no resolution.

The files synch OK from Windows Media to the AV500. The file size on the AV500 matches what is on my PC. When I view information about the file on the AV500 it shows the correct size and duration for the movie. When I open the file the duration is cut short (1 hr 47 min 11 sec to 1 hr 11 min 26 sec for example).

Seems to be OK for shorter DVDs that I have ripped from collection such as music videos.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Tim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tat2sailor
post Jun 21 2006, 07:15 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 14-November 05
Member No.: 8,533



Hi there,

from your description, can i verify that the file size of the synced movies are over 2GB.

cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tripdad
post Jun 21 2006, 03:01 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 2-June 06
Member No.: 10,038



Found a resolution today. I contacted Archos Tech Support via Web - what a laugh - They told me to upgrade to the latest firmware. The firmware is listed in the form you fill out when you submit the ticket. I had the latest firmware. Must have been a canned response.

I contacted phone support TS and spoke to Scott who was well informed. He told me it seemed like an issue with the process I was using. - I use Mobile Clone DVD to transfer my collection to an avi file, then I use Windows Media Player to open the file, add it to my library, and then synch it to the AV500. This seems to work well for files that have a duration less than ~ 1 hr.

For items in my collection that exceed ~1 hr 10 minutes - I rip the file using the same program, then use the MPG4 Translator program that came with the AV500 to convert and then transfer in HD mode to the AV500. No need for Windows Media Player.

This resolved the issue, but I am faced with a long conversion process. ~1 hr for a 1 1/2 hr movie or video. Not a big problem for me as I bought the AV500 to store my music and have an occasional movie on it to watch on a trip.

As I said before, this device is not for a non-techy person. When I thought I had it cyphered, I realized I did not! Hopefully I am there now, just have to convert all my video again. sad.gif

Tim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jun 21 2006, 04:47 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



How about using mencode from mplayer? It works pretty well ... smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tat2sailor
post Jun 22 2006, 06:44 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 14-November 05
Member No.: 8,533



QUOTE(Snappy @ Jun 22 2006, 08:47 AM)
How about using mencode from mplayer? It works pretty well ... smile.gif
*


i'm using pocket dvd studio, very straight forward program, must pay though....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tripdad
post Jun 23 2006, 03:20 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 2-June 06
Member No.: 10,038



With Pocket DVD will I need to still use the MPG4 translator program after the DVD is ripped?

Thanks,

Tim
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tat2sailor
post Jun 23 2006, 11:38 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 14-November 05
Member No.: 8,533



QUOTE(tripdad @ Jun 23 2006, 07:20 PM)
With Pocket DVD will I need to still use the MPG4 translator program after the DVD is ripped?

Thanks,

Tim
*


No not at all, just drag and drop.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tripdad
post Jun 24 2006, 11:00 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 2-June 06
Member No.: 10,038



Tried out the trial version of Pocket DVD Studio. Video quality seems low. I maxed out the slider bar for the quality and file size. Am I missing something?

Also tried out "Xilisoft DVD to MP4 Converter". Read about this on the French version of this forum. Quality seems pretty decent. I had an audio/video synch issue that seems to be resolved with checking filter in the audio/video synch section - filter says "Interpolate".
I ripped a 1 hr 40 minute movie with this program, but again the final copy on my AV500 ended at 1 hr 20 minutes or so. I am ripping again with some other settings changed such as bitrate - was set at 1200, changed to 2500. Also I changed the duration from it's default of "Full" to match the file - 1 hr 40 min 29 sec and the video size to 720x480. We will see.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th September 2014 - 01:29 AM