OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V  « < 10 11 12  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zubuntu 1.0 Rc1, Start your downloads now
ofels
post Mar 22 2009, 12:37 PM
Post #166





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Lake Constance, Germany
Member No.: 13,087



QUOTE(same @ Mar 22 2009, 05:51 PM) *
cat hostap_cs >> /etc/modules to force module load at startup


echo hostap_cs >> /etc/modules to beprecise, not cat. wink.gif

Oliver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pasteur
post Mar 22 2009, 07:41 PM
Post #167





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 1-August 06
From: Incheon, South Korea
Member No.: 10,595



QUOTE(same @ Mar 23 2009, 01:51 AM) *
QUOTE(pasteur @ Mar 22 2009, 04:34 AM) *
Help me!! sad.gif
...
WHAT SHOULD I DO???


try sudo modprobe hostap_cs
or the driver that debian use, if the command allows the card to be detected, do a
echo hostap_cs >> /etc/modules to force module load at startup

edit: thnx ofels, fixed the error wink.gif


Thanks for a helpful tip, but still doesn't work. [-- no driver--]

Here is the windows driver of my wifi card. (will be deleted later.)
Attached File(s)
Attached File  airgate.tar.gz ( 2.47MB ) Number of downloads: 3
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
same
post Mar 23 2009, 03:13 AM
Post #168





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 29-October 07
From: barcelona
Member No.: 20,873



QUOTE(pasteur @ Mar 22 2009, 07:41 PM) *
Thanks for a helpful tip, but still doesn't work. [-- no driver--]

Here is the windows driver of my wifi card. (will be deleted later.)

(i don't know what to do with the ipone win driver) blink.gif
anyway, what is the driver used by debian? hostap_cs? pcmcia_cs? any hint?

on the other hand, if you say it works under debian, a quick way would be to use zImage (kernel) and modules from debian, (until someone that uses your card with ubuntu can help you):
- just copy the zImage to /boot/ folder (rename the other to zImage-ubuntu)
- copy the /lib/modules/2.6.24.4-yonngun/ from debian to /lib/modules/ in ubuntu
- then you'll have to change the TSLIB_TSDEVICE="/blablabla/" in .xinitrc or .profile (can't remember), read this, explains how to find the correct ts device: http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?s=&...st&p=181584 (ignore step 4)
hope it helps
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pasteur
post Mar 23 2009, 03:33 AM
Post #169





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 1-August 06
From: Incheon, South Korea
Member No.: 10,595



QUOTE(same @ Mar 23 2009, 08:13 PM) *
QUOTE(pasteur @ Mar 22 2009, 07:41 PM) *
Thanks for a helpful tip, but still doesn't work. [-- no driver--]

Here is the windows driver of my wifi card. (will be deleted later.)

(i don't know what to do with the ipone win driver) blink.gif
anyway, what is the driver used by debian? hostap_cs? pcmcia_cs? any hint?

on the other hand, if you say it works under debian, a quick way would be to use zImage (kernel) and modules from debian, (until someone that uses your card with ubuntu can help you):
- just copy the zImage to /boot/ folder (rename the other to zImage-ubuntu)
- copy the /lib/modules/2.6.24.4-yonngun/ from debian to /lib/modules/ in ubuntu
- then you'll have to change the TSLIB_TSDEVICE="/blablabla/" in .xinitrc or .profile (can't remember), read this, explains how to find the correct ts device: http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?s=&...st&p=181584 (ignore step 4)
hope it helps


On debian the wifi card uses "hostap_cs". By the way, I will try your alternative plan. rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chero
post Mar 23 2009, 06:28 AM
Post #170





Group: Members
Posts: 1,141
Joined: 22-April 04
From: Belgium
Member No.: 2,962



maybe check "dmesg" first.

What does appear in dmesg after inserting the card ?

Just doing "ifup wlan0" or another interface might be enough to fix the problem.

Chero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
same
post Mar 23 2009, 10:04 AM
Post #171





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 29-October 07
From: barcelona
Member No.: 20,873



QUOTE(Chero @ Mar 23 2009, 06:28 AM) *
maybe check "dmesg" first.

What does appear in dmesg after inserting the card ?

Just doing "ifup wlan0" or another interface might be enough to fix the problem.

Chero.


you're right, i assumed those rutine checks as already done, and might not be the case dry.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pasteur
post Mar 24 2009, 04:08 AM
Post #172





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 1-August 06
From: Incheon, South Korea
Member No.: 10,595



I solved the problem by using debian kernel instead.

I think 'ifup wlan0 (already tried) cannot solve the problem. Checking 'dmesg' will be done later due to my laziness and different kernel which was subsituted before few hours - debian.

Thanks for very kind helps. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ljonesj
post Mar 28 2009, 07:09 PM
Post #173





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 10-August 06
From: Tennessee
Member No.: 10,742



i am having a problem formating my cards when i format them in ubuntu 8.10 with gparted installed it says i dont have permission to put the files into the cards and i ahve used my root and my normal login info in and made my regular login a root style login and still no luck help please i would love to get this working
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Mar 29 2009, 01:25 AM
Post #174





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(ljonesj @ Mar 29 2009, 05:09 AM) *
i am having a problem formating my cards when i format them in ubuntu 8.10 with gparted installed it says i dont have permission to put the files into the cards and i ahve used my root and my normal login info in and made my regular login a root style login and still no luck help please i would love to get this working

I had the same problem on and off for quite some time. So sometimes it worked, but most times it didn't. I finally bought a new card reader, which solved all these problems. So for me it was "just" a shitty reader.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zbeckerd
post Jun 29 2009, 03:15 PM
Post #175





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 12-September 04
From: Eastern Oregon USA
Member No.: 4,560



hostap_cs
I went with this module and blacklisted
orinoco
hermes

I did notice that on my /etc/modules file hostap_cs was commented out
#hostap_cs,
so that may have cause me some problems. I am running the RC 1 candidate from cortez omegamoon site with the zubuntu-desktop-jaunty-rootfs_feb.2009-rev-armel on top of that. I tried the RC4 but it froze my cursor and keyboard so went back. This is on Akita.

I have been getting my but kicked for several days and it is nice to relearn a lot of this. I have had wireless network running once but lost it on next boot. The one time it worked after I manually put in the essid and when i looked at iwconfig after something appended a "p" at the end of the essid??? I want to thank cortez and everyone else or I would not have gotten this far.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scottlfa
post Aug 21 2009, 08:42 AM
Post #176





Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 1-October 07
From: Blacksburg, SC, USA
Member No.: 20,773



Got my troublesome wifi card working and running xfce4 atm. Good job on the distro and thanks. It seems to have less broken packages than the present armel of debian too. Kde for instance is not broken.

I switched the mouse key references in xkeybindrc so the fn tap is right click.

No Sound still, all channels are [00] ... all I get from the speakers is a loud buzzing and then when the song stops it stops. This will be a deal breaker for me, like the distro but I dinna have nearly these issues getting sound working in andro debian. Volume is all the way up too, all mixers enabled.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scottlfa
post Aug 26 2009, 09:31 PM
Post #177





Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 1-October 07
From: Blacksburg, SC, USA
Member No.: 20,773



Got sound now, not all of them need to be [OO]. Anyhows been testing WM's in zUbuntu.

KDE is now as of version 4.2 WAY to heavy for the Z, very pretty but bogging all the time.
XFCE4 installs well and for the most part performs at a speed where its usable without too many compromises.
IceWm of course the default runs smooth and with the provided themes, is even palatable to the eye.
The usual speed's and issues from Blackbox, Flux and Openbox.

On too test full on Gnome smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

12 Pages V  « < 10 11 12
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th November 2014 - 08:18 PM