OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C1000 Nand Woes (maybe)...
ArKay
post Sep 10 2007, 05:37 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 19-May 06
Member No.: 9,913



OK, It looks like I may have messed something up and am I hoping someone can help me out here.


I went into the D+M menu to check for bad NAND blocks - after the test was done I went back to the menu page (using the cancel key to get there) and powered the unit off.

Now it will only power on to the D+M menu. Won't power on normally. Won't power on with the 'On' button held to try to reflash the ROM

Making a leap that somewhere stumbling through the menus I may have erased the NAND (although I didn't think I did) I went and downloaded NAND backups and restores.

I can't get any of them to work.

Trying the NAND update I get :

CF Update
---Found Orders ---
Error !!!

Using the NAND Backup Restore instructions from Trisoft (and the files) and putting them in Backup_Files folder on the CF card I simply get :

NAND Restore from CF

file : SYSTC100.DBK
not exist file

Anyone have an idea it won't work ?
Am I missing a step beyond having the file eith on the root of the CF card (or in the Backup_Files directory), powering on to the D+M menu and going to the correct menu choice and letting it rip ?

Is this simply a signal that the files aren't viable ?

Anyone have a NAND backup or full backup for a C1000 they would be willing to email me ?

Thanks in advance for any help that might get my C1000 back and running.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Sep 10 2007, 05:58 AM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



Seems like your CF card isnt recognized.... is it formated fat16?

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tml
post Sep 10 2007, 05:59 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 3-August 05
Member No.: 7,766



QUOTE(ArKay @ Sep 10 2007, 03:37 PM)
Now it will only power on to the D+M menu.
*


You either have to exit the menu or reset or something like that. Can't remember precisely.

QUOTE(ArKay @ Sep 10 2007, 03:37 PM)
Using the NAND Backup Restore instructions from Trisoft (and the files) and putting them in Backup_Files folder on the CF card I simply get :
*


For NAND restore, format your CF card as fat (not fat32) and put the SYSTC100.DBK in the root directory. The backup folder is for system backups.

And remember: Don't panic.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Sep 10 2007, 10:46 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Taking out the battery and putting it back in or hitting the reset switch should allow you to get out of the D+M menu.

If you had erased your flash, you wouldn't be able to get to the D+M menu in the first place/get back to it. You'd have to use the Fn+D+M menu, so that's not an issue.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArKay
post Sep 10 2007, 04:22 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 19-May 06
Member No.: 9,913



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Sep 10 2007, 01:46 PM)
Taking out the battery and putting it back in or hitting the reset switch should allow you to get out of the D+M menu.

Oh, I can get in and out of the D+M menu... but that's it. Hitting the reset switch gets it 'out' of the D+M menu - and seems to turn it off. Hitting the power button turns it off... and hitting it again causes it to power on to the D+M menu.

QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Sep 10 2007, 01:46 PM)
If you had erased your flash, you wouldn't be able to get to the D+M menu in the first place/get back to it. You'd have to use the Fn+D+M menu, so that's not an issue.
*

Good to know. But the fact that the _only_ thing it will boot to is the D+M menu (not the reflashing menu or the regular boot up sequence) has me concerned.
Removing the battery, hitting the reset button, just plugging in the AC adapter with no battery, with a battery, etc. causes nothing to happen. No charge light, no booting, no menus other than the D+M menu can be gotten to. sad.gif

Any ideas ? Anybody ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Sep 10 2007, 04:29 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



the recommendation for people with similar issues derived from u-boot is ctl-D-M, as far as I've seen here.
Look around at the pdaxrom threads on this topic, or even search in the pdaxrom forums using uboot and flash as your terms. see what is said. ymmv, of course.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Sep 10 2007, 05:59 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ArKay @ Sep 11 2007, 10:22 AM)
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Sep 10 2007, 01:46 PM)
Taking out the battery and putting it back in or hitting the reset switch should allow you to get out of the D+M menu.

Oh, I can get in and out of the D+M menu... but that's it. Hitting the reset switch gets it 'out' of the D+M menu - and seems to turn it off. Hitting the power button turns it off... and hitting it again causes it to power on to the D+M menu.

QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Sep 10 2007, 01:46 PM)
If you had erased your flash, you wouldn't be able to get to the D+M menu in the first place/get back to it. You'd have to use the Fn+D+M menu, so that's not an issue.
*

Good to know. But the fact that the _only_ thing it will boot to is the D+M menu (not the reflashing menu or the regular boot up sequence) has me concerned.
Removing the battery, hitting the reset button, just plugging in the AC adapter with no battery, with a battery, etc. causes nothing to happen. No charge light, no booting, no menus other than the D+M menu can be gotten to. sad.gif

Any ideas ? Anybody ?
*



There is a flag in the DM menu that says something like Diagnostic Mode on (y/n) and it needs to be set to N. It probably has been changed to Y...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArKay
post Sep 10 2007, 07:43 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 19-May 06
Member No.: 9,913



QUOTE(Meanie @ Sep 10 2007, 08:59 PM)
There is a flag in the DM menu that says something like Diagnostic Mode on (y/n) and it needs to be set to N. It probably has been changed to Y...
*

Found the flag you are talking about - it's in the Extras menu and lists 'clear diag flag' and 'normal diag mode' for options. Bootflg : ---- is the current setting. With the Bootflg on Diag it will only boot to the diag mode.

With it set to ---- (or cleared as the case may be) it won't boot normally, won't boot to the reflashing menu - but it will boot to the D+M menu. I realize I said this in a somewhat confusing manner so I'll say it differently. Just hitting the power button does _not_ cause it to boot into the D+M menu (with the flag cleared)... it does nothing. As does the reset button/hold down the 'OK' button and trying to add power version of getting to the reflashing menu. The only method that will get life out of the little guy is holding down D+M as power is applied via AC Adapter. That's it. Not that it boots there regardless of what I try.

I hope that explains it better. Thanks for the hint though - it just isn't the case here. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th August 2014 - 08:29 PM