OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't Start Gpe/x11, angstrom 20070512
speculatrix
post Jun 2 2007, 11:34 AM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



So, clean install of the Spitz version onto C3100.

This version only comes with console, so installed practically every GPE package there is. Rebooted. no GUI programs will run as no window manager, window manager won't start because X11 doesn't appear to run. I would have expected to be able to run init.d/gpe-dm and have it all kick into life.

Any clues?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
XorA
post Jun 4 2007, 12:19 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 23-June 04
Member No.: 3,800



ipkg install angstrom-x11-base-depends angstrom-gpe-task-base angstrom-gpe-task-settings angstrom-gpe-task-pim angstrom-gpe-task-apps

as thats what the image building does anyway.

BTW if ipkg upgrade works in Angstrom so if you dont have an x11 image in latest snapshot then just get an older one and upgrade to latest. I personally havent reflashed my spitz in over 6 months and its all running stable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 4 2007, 02:19 PM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(XorA @ Jun 4 2007, 09:19 AM)
ipkg install angstrom-x11-base-depends angstrom-gpe-task-base angstrom-gpe-task-settings angstrom-gpe-task-pim angstrom-gpe-task-apps

as thats what the image building does anyway.

BTW if ipkg upgrade works in Angstrom so if you dont have an x11 image in latest snapshot then just get an older one and upgrade to latest. I personally havent reflashed my spitz in over 6 months and its all running stable.
*


thanks, I'm pretty sure I installed all of those packages.

anyway, I went to a mix of the latest zimage and the slightly older x11 hdimage.tgz and GPE is now up and running!

I presume the only reason to reflash/reinstall would be to upgrade the kernel? how would I upgrade the kernel without total reinstall?

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
XorA
post Jun 5 2007, 01:31 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 23-June 04
Member No.: 3,800



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jun 4 2007, 10:19 PM)
I presume the only reason to reflash/reinstall would be to upgrade the kernel? how would I upgrade the kernel without total reinstall?

thanks
*


Place only zImage.bin and updater.sh on the CD/SD card and only the kernel will be written.

so basically ipkg upgrade to do kernel modules, reboot and reflash kernel, reboot and all should work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 5 2007, 01:30 PM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



thanks for that top tip!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2014 - 03:54 PM