OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Foreign Characters, זרו etc.
geeko
post Dec 27 2007, 03:12 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



Is there anyway to work with these characters like זרו for example?

I need a shortcut key to type the letters, for example escape + a = ו

I also need some programs that will read files which have זור correctly

Is this possible? If anyone has experience with it plz help me.

Actually i just realized that i only need a text editor that understands extended-ascii and a way to map key-combinations to a special ascii char. It should be possible but i have NO idea how smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 27 2007, 03:20 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(geeko @ Dec 27 2007, 11:12 PM) *
Is there anyway to work with these characters like זרו for example?

I need a shortcut key to type the letters, for example escape + a = ו

I also need some programs that will read files which have זור correctly

Is this possible? If anyone has experience with it plz help me.

Actually i just realized that i only need a text editor that understands extended-ascii and a way to map key-combinations to a special ascii char. It should be possible but i have NO idea how smile.gif


in vim, CTRL-V then a control sequence allows inputting of some special characters, does that do anythign for you?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geeko
post Dec 27 2007, 04:44 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



i havent tried it, but i tested emacs in console cause emacs has special char support but it doesn't show up correctly so if vim is run from console i think the same will happen.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frederic Bergero...
post Jan 2 2008, 09:46 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Nagoya, Japan
Member No.: 9,232



QUOTE(geeko @ Dec 28 2007, 09:44 AM) *
i havent tried it, but i tested emacs in console cause emacs has special char support but it doesn't show up correctly so if vim is run from console i think the same will happen.


It may be obvious but just in case... Have you tried to use a different font? Some fonts are limited to a restricted character set.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post Jan 2 2008, 07:29 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



When you say "extended ASCII" what exactly do you mean ?

IMHO, 8 bit ASCII is a poor choice; I think it's better to select a character coding you want to use, then you can work out which font supports it, keymaps, hotkeys, how to create the text.

I had the same kind of problem using Thai, I had to create some tools to make it easier.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geeko
post Jan 17 2008, 12:31 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



the point isn't that it has to be 8 bit ascii, but that 8bit ascii is sufficient.

If you are using a text editor that supports UTF-8, Unicode or whatever + you can map keys to special chars, PLEASE tell me how you do it and what apps you use.

Thx in advance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Jan 17 2008, 12:48 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Look on Meanie's website, specifically here:
http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/custom.html#mapping
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frederic Bergero...
post Jan 17 2008, 01:48 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Nagoya, Japan
Member No.: 9,232



In VIM, if I set the font to unifont, and type :

a<CTRL-H>a, the character ו appears correctly.

Digraphs must be enabled.

Same thing if I do:

<CTRL-V>229

It works also with other characters you mentioned.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geeko
post Jan 18 2008, 12:22 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



and you are just running VIM through standard console right? btw no i didn't even think about the fonts thing.. i will check it out for sure

@jon_j: thx, this looks like it will definitely help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frederic Bergero...
post Jan 18 2008, 02:07 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 25-February 06
From: Nagoya, Japan
Member No.: 9,232



I'm using VIM on Qkonsole with unifont as you can see here :


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geeko
post Jan 19 2008, 12:00 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



ye u are right

that + the mapping is what i need

i should be able to figure it out now
thx guys
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st August 2014 - 10:34 PM