OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mobile Phone Type Applications, A litte work on Zphoneing You'll love!!!
speculatrix
post Jan 11 2006, 07:44 AM
Post #16





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Jan 11 2006, 04:10 PM)
ARGH!
Now when I insert the card, it recognises it as a CF modem, (I havent restarted since I last installed the ipk file) And I can use the "TCP/IP - Modem" profile in networking to set up a connection.
But the card is STILL going into a "connected" state as soon as the connection applet resumes it!

WTF IS WRONG WITH IT?
*


I think you misunderstand the status light.

With me, it blinks when it's registering, and when finished registering, it stays on.

I might be wrong of course, I'll dig it out and try it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 11 2006, 07:47 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jan 11 2006, 04:44 PM)
I think you misunderstand the status light.


Nope, Ambicom manual, on one of the early pages, clearly states "Slow Green Flashing: GSM/GPRS Call in progress"

So it's definately doing SOMETHING, but I can;t find a way to make it stop doing it and go back to a slow orange flashing (Ready to connect, network detected)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 11 2006, 07:49 AM
Post #18





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



have you tried using minicom to talk AT to the phone and ask what it's doing.. e.g. whether its registered or not, what the network is etc?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 11 2006, 07:58 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



For some reason, Minicom packages I found won't install and run on my Z.
I tried using TipTerm VT100, but that's USELESS. Just did nothing.

Can you email me an ipk to "Ferret-Simpson at-the-BO-SELECTA hotmail dotty com" please?

Sorry, I always like to make my Spam prevention fun. XD

That way I can see what it thinks?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 11 2006, 08:03 AM
Post #20





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Jan 11 2006, 04:58 PM)
For some reason, Minicom packages I found won't install and run on my Z.
I tried using TipTerm VT100, but that's USELESS. Just did nothing.

Can you email me an ipk to "Ferret-Simpson at-the-BO-SELECTA hotmail dotty com" please?

Sorry, I always like to make my Spam prevention fun. XD

That way I can see what it thinks?
*


I got my minicom ipk from the cacko feed. hmm, actually, I don't think I tried minicom on the 6000, only on the 860.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 11 2006, 08:05 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jan 11 2006, 05:03 PM)
I got my minicom ipk from the cacko feed.
*

I don;t know where that is. Care to linkme?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 11 2006, 01:22 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Right, I've found a working minicom - kinda. . I have to use it in SuperUser, and I cannot save the configuration files. . . o.O

I bow my head to you, you seem to have been mostly right about the colour coding (And it IS a bloody Audiovox card, same shape, casing, aerial! . . etc. . .) of the LED, because now that I have ACTUALLY made minicom connect, it works. Just. I can dial a number and answer the call, but I can't make the headset socket work, and I can still not use it via the Zaurus Connect Menu, or Via the zeDialler.
(Although, strangely, unlike everyone else, who had to hack the IRDA file to make it connect, mine registers as a standard CF modem, creates a /dev/modem symlink, and allows the use of Modem connection profiles. Still doesnt get me anywhere though)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 11 2006, 02:07 PM
Post #23





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Jan 11 2006, 10:22 PM)
Right, I've found a working minicom - kinda. . I have to use it in SuperUser, and I cannot save the configuration files. . . o.O

It'll probably be trying to save it into the root partition, which is probably not writable (/etc/minicom? something like that). I think you can actually save it to another directory. You'll need to "chmod ugo+rw /dev/modem /dev/ttyS? /dev/rfcomm*" or similar like that to allow non-priv users to access the serial device.
Yes, if you use rfcomm bind, you can connect a virtual serial port as /dev/rfcomm to your mobile phone and treat it like a regular modem. but I digress...

QUOTE
I bow my head to you, you seem to have been mostly right about the colour coding (And it IS a bloody Audiovox card, same shape, casing, aerial! . . etc. . .) of the LED, because now that I have ACTUALLY made minicom connect, it works. Just. I can dial a number and answer the call, but I can't make the headset socket work, and I can still not use it via the Zaurus Connect Menu, or Via the zeDialler.
(Although, strangely, unlike everyone else, who had to hack the IRDA file to make it connect, mine registers as a standard CF modem, creates a /dev/modem symlink, and allows the use of Modem connection profiles. Still doesnt get me anywhere though)
*


here's a really good reference on the special codes for GSM modems:
http://www.gsm-modem.de/gsm-faq.html
and
http://www.gsm-modem.de/gsm-modem-faq.html

use extended messages "AT+CRC=1", which tells you a lot more about what's going on when you dial the gsm modem.

to make a voice call, you need to add a semicolon: "ATD0123456789;"

when I used the wrong headset type, I could hear incoming audio but the mic was inactive. if I pulled the plug part out, it sent crackling, and sometimes the earpiece cut out but the mic worked, so I knew the RTM8000 was working ok (there are versions which don't have the voice circuits). I then borrowed a regular nokia four-ring 2.5mm-jack headset with button and it worked perfectly.

I started with a few minicom "macros" which made it easy to send the pin, register etc. Then I started to write my own dialler program, did a character command-line version which did useful stuff, restarted to go a GUI version and got bogged down in QT design and haven't progressed too far!

Paul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 11 2006, 02:08 PM
Post #24





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



BTW minicom takes a command-line switch + argument to load its config from the non-default file. I forget what, minicom --help?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 12 2006, 07:44 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



WHo knows?

Right, well I can dial up just by using the Modem tab in Sharp Network Applet. I have my initialization string set to "ATZ" and it works.
However, I'm paying ridiculous prices for 14.4k internet. Back to GPRS methinks.
Nothing happens when I set my init string to the standard format, so I went into minicom and tried it there.
AT+CGDCON=1 works fine,
But as soon as I add commas and stuff after the 1, I just get ERROR.
hmm. . .
Any thought? Alternate strings?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 12 2006, 08:36 AM
Post #26





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Jan 12 2006, 04:44 PM)
Right, well I can dial up just by using the Modem tab in Sharp Network Applet. I have my initialization string set to "ATZ" and it works.
However, I'm paying ridiculous prices for 14.4k internet. Back to GPRS methinks.
*


there's a whole thread about using GPRS modems and dialup, so no need to go through it here. search forum for "gprs audiovox debug" or something.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ant
post Jan 12 2006, 08:59 AM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 163
Joined: 11-March 04
From: IT
Member No.: 2,270



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Jan 12 2006, 04:44 PM)
AT+CGDCON=1 works fine,
But as soon as I add commas and stuff after the 1, I just get ERROR.


It should be CGDCONT , with "T".


Then for CACKO ROM / SHARP ROM you need a proper syntax (escape the double quotes):

E.G.

AT+CGDCONT=1,\"IP\",\"my.wap.foo\"


For PDAXROM you can avoid the backslash.

CU

Ant
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 12 2006, 09:27 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



You mean I wasted 10 pounds credit through Dial Up. . For the sake of a letter T and four Backslashes |Starts Shaking|


WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ant, Spec, I want your babies. tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 12 2006, 11:19 AM
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Wahey! We have G!
Now, I can't get GAIM to run. . . When I load it, it's all blank. When I start it from konsole,

I get lots of messages about libPNG 1.0.9 needed, 1.2.1 installed. . .

Anyone have an old libpng1.0.9 ipk?
I also need glibC (not in any feed I've found yet) to get openssh to run. . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 14 2006, 12:54 PM
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Ok, I found a request in the Computer and IT sectrion of my local free paper about a company seeking for a linux guru to help set up their servers
I've never played with hosting, so I thought I'd start up a website from my Z to try it.

I can get to the webpage I created from http://localhost on the Z, but how do you make it publicly viewable? (APACHE MORON)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 01:27 AM