OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dns Not Working, Problems with Name resolving on pdaxrom
DReymann
post Apr 9 2006, 07:44 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 10-January 04
Member No.: 1,407



Hi,

beginning two weeks ago I have a strange problem with my SLC 760 running pdaxrom 1.1.0beta1.

I have networks configured via WiFi, CF-netcard and bluetooth/cellphone. All of them worked perfectly, but starting two weeks ago in neither of them DNS is working. Maybe I changed something without taking notice.

As far as I see, all things like receiving IP-adress, writing /etc/resolv.conf and so on work fine. Networking works fine if I use the IP-adress but as I said not name resolution.

For your information I include some output from netstat etc after inserting the CF-Netcard:

#ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:A4:06:9E:E3
inet addr:192.168.0.101 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1312 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:5
TX packets:1133 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:10 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:177228 (173.0 Kb) TX bytes:238742 (233.1 Kb)
Interrupt:39 Base address:0x300

#route
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
default 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

#dhcpcd -d
**** dhcpcd: already running
**** dhcpcd: if not then delete /var/run/dhcpcd-eth0.pid file

# netstat -vr
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 40 0 0 eth0
default 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 40 0 0 eth0

# cat /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 192.168.0.1

Any idea what is going on there?

Detlev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karlto
post Apr 9 2006, 12:20 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 343
Joined: 3-October 05
From: NZ
Member No.: 8,243



All the info you have posted would point to the nameserver (192.168.0.1) being the problem. Are you sure this is working? Have you tried a tcpdump to see where the packets are going?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DReymann
post Apr 10 2006, 12:23 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 30
Joined: 10-January 04
Member No.: 1,407



QUOTE(karlto @ Apr 9 2006, 09:20 PM)
All the info you have posted would point to the nameserver (192.168.0.1) being the problem. Are you sure this is working? Have you tried a tcpdump to see where the packets are going?
*


Hi,

yes, I am sure it works. That's my home configuration with a fli4l-router (192.168.0.1), doing DNS, NAt etc.

The Desktop works fine just showing the same information for ifconfig.

When I use my cellphone and GPRS/bluetooth the correct DNS-Servers from the provider are in resolve.conf.

That is exactly the reason why I do not have any idea what is going on ...

Detlev
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karlto
post Apr 10 2006, 12:53 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 343
Joined: 3-October 05
From: NZ
Member No.: 8,243



QUOTE(DReymann @ Apr 10 2006, 04:44 AM)
#ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:10:A4:06:9E:E3
          inet addr:192.168.0.101  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1312 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:5
          TX packets:1133 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:10 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:177228 (173.0 Kb)  TX bytes:238742 (233.1 Kb)
          Interrupt:39 Base address:0x300

OK - maybe the frame count (which I think is when things don't fit or collisions?) is an issue. Do you have a 2.6.14 kernel on 192.168.0.1? Try lowering the mtu if this is the case... (seems funny the DNS would be an issue, but)

Otherwise I'm out of ideas sorry.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
anunakin
post Apr 11 2006, 01:34 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 340
Joined: 22-August 04
From: Belem, Brasil
Member No.: 4,358



I have same problem, with 1.1.0-beta2, but all connections with DHCP (GPRS, USB LAN and CF LAN) has a DNS error... but /etc/resolv.conf is OK! If I put a static IP and DNS this works huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karlto
post Apr 11 2006, 12:23 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 343
Joined: 3-October 05
From: NZ
Member No.: 8,243



QUOTE(anunakin @ Apr 11 2006, 10:34 PM)
I have same problem, with  1.1.0-beta2, but all connections with DHCP (GPRS, USB LAN and CF LAN) has a DNS error... but /etc/resolv.conf is OK! If I put a static IP and DNS this works  huh.gif
*

hmm... doesn't DHCP set up name servers also? If you are getting a valid IP address for a nameserver from the DHCP server, but there is no useful nameserver there, maybe this would override resolv.conf, and cause this problem? What is the nameserver setting on the DHCP server?

This seems like a general networking problem, rather than pdaXrom-specific, so if noone here can help you guys, I imagine there's heaps of value in other forums etc out there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bluedevils
post Apr 11 2006, 12:56 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 31-January 04
From: Vancouver, BC -> NYC, NY
Member No.: 1,633



so a nslookup specifying the nameserver also errors?

nslookup <name> <nameserver>
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th November 2014 - 10:40 AM