OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Netfront 1.5.2
ralphrmartin
post Jan 28 2005, 12:49 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 25-October 04
Member No.: 5,192



Sharp are offering Netfront 1.5.2 as a download for the C-3000 series.

http://216.239.37.104/translate_c?hl=en&u=...hl%3Den%26lr%3D

Anyone tried putting this on a C860 yet?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stubear
post Jan 28 2005, 06:40 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,164
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 1,219



QUOTE(ralphrmartin @ Jan 28 2005, 05:49 PM)
Sharp are offering Netfront 1.5.2 as a download for the C-3000 series.

http://216.239.37.104/translate_c?hl=en&u=...hl%3Den%26lr%3D

Anyone tried putting this on a C860 yet?
*


Won't work as is.

The ipk has a check that the model is C3k before it installs, so I unpacked the ipk and installed by hand.

Now when I hit the netfront icon I get a message box saying it only runs on the C3k then closes the app.

Think I need to get the hex editor out. Comparing the new version against the one on Cacko 1.22 - seems like the Cacko team have removed a SL-C3000 from the binary that is checked against /proc/devinfo.

Hopefully the Cacko team will update netfromt with the 1.22 hotfix that's coming soon

Stu
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nilch
post Jan 28 2005, 07:37 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 668
Joined: 3-December 03
From: US
Member No.: 1,034



can the Netfront also be adapted for the 6000 series ?

Netfront seems a bit better to me tha Opera and I would have loved to have a copy for the 6000L.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Jan 28 2005, 09:45 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



QUOTE(Stubear @ Jan 28 2005, 05:40 PM)
Won't work as is.

The ipk has a check that the model is C3k before it installs, so I unpacked the ipk and installed by hand.

Now when I hit the netfront icon I get a message box saying it only runs on the C3k then closes the app.

Think I need to get the hex editor out. Comparing the new version against the one on Cacko 1.22 - seems like the Cacko team have removed a SL-C3000 from the binary that is checked against /proc/devinfo.

Hopefully the Cacko team will update netfromt with the 1.22 hotfix that's coming soon

Stu
*


Hotfix will not include this updated Netfront (it's too big for a hotfix), but it will be available soon as a separate package (as part of Cacko ROM 1.22 Lite release), for any Zaurus clamshell model, of course (currently running on my 750) cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tovarish
post Jan 28 2005, 09:53 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 299
Joined: 27-October 04
Member No.: 5,233



what are the differences between this version and the last one, and also wink.gif could you reveal how did you fool this binary into running in other machines.
I did manage to make it run in my c860 by replacing "c3000" with "c860" in the binary (the one next to the deviceinfo product ).
tovarish


QUOTE(maslovsky @ Jan 28 2005, 06:45 PM)
QUOTE(Stubear @ Jan 28 2005, 05:40 PM)
Won't work as is.

The ipk has a check that the model is C3k before it installs, so I unpacked the ipk and installed by hand.

Now when I hit the netfront icon I get a message box saying it only runs on the C3k then closes the app.

Think I need to get the hex editor out. Comparing the new version against the one on Cacko 1.22 - seems like the Cacko team have removed a SL-C3000 from the binary that is checked against /proc/devinfo.

Hopefully the Cacko team will update netfromt with the 1.22 hotfix that's coming soon

Stu
*


Hotfix will not include this updated Netfront (it's too big for a hotfix), but it will be available soon as a separate package (as part of Cacko ROM 1.22 Lite release), for any Zaurus clamshell model, of course (currently running on my 750) cool.gif
*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Jan 28 2005, 02:32 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



QUOTE
what are the differences between this version and the last one, and also  could you reveal how did you fool this binary into running in other machines.
I did manage to make it run in my c860 by replacing "c3000" with "c860" in the binary (the one next to the deviceinfo product ).
tovarish


It wasn't hard, you'll see when package is released.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Jan 28 2005, 04:29 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



QUOTE(maslovsky @ Jan 28 2005, 06:32 PM)
It wasn't hard, you'll see when package is released.
*


Would you be so kind, oh great, noble & magnanimous (so, I never did claim to be able spell without cyber augmentation ... G) one, as to post for us mere mortals when such a download should appear & the name? Please, pretty please?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Jan 29 2005, 05:49 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



Any day, along with Lite ROM version.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ralphrmartin
post Jan 29 2005, 06:35 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 25-October 04
Member No.: 5,192



QUOTE(maslovsky @ Jan 28 2005, 05:45 PM)
QUOTE(Stubear @ Jan 28 2005, 05:40 PM)
Won't work as is.

The ipk has a check that the model is C3k before it installs, so I unpacked the ipk and installed by hand.

Now when I hit the netfront icon I get a message box saying it only runs on the C3k then closes the app.

Think I need to get the hex editor out.
*


Hotfix will not include this updated Netfront (it's too big for a hotfix), but it will be available soon as a separate package (as part of Cacko ROM 1.22 Lite release), for any Zaurus clamshell model, of course (currently running on my 750) cool.gif
*



Will that only run on the Cacko ROM? Or on the original Sharp ROM too?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Jan 29 2005, 08:06 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



QUOTE(ralphrmartin @ Jan 29 2005, 05:35 PM)
Will that only run on the Cacko ROM? Or on the original Sharp ROM too?
*


It probably will, I don't know.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 09:35 AM