OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> usb net/storage package
carpman
post Oct 28 2004, 12:27 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,070



Hey all. I almost have an ipkg for usb-storage on OZ. I've tested the module and it works on 3.5.1, it comes with a script called usbcontrol that lets you switch from net to usb, and get the current status. It should also save state over reboots. opie-sh front end too. I'll upload as soon as I get home from work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Oct 29 2004, 02:15 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



Very good. Please send the .oe file to oe@handhelds.org.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 29 2004, 02:40 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Good work. Have you patched the kernel to make the modules (pxa_bi/sa_bi and storage_fd)?

Do you have troubles if you switch from net -> storage -> net? With the old modules I'm getting some problems when I try to go back to net (script never returns and once I suspend I can't switch back on without a reset).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
carpman
post Oct 30 2004, 12:18 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,070



I haven't patched the kernel, haven't had time to install OE yet, thats on my list for today. I'm using the binaries from http://sgp.zaurii.net/binaries/. I just extracted the data.tar.gz and pulled the modules from it. I haven't noticed much oddness, I had one hiccup with insert/remove but I didn't go back to net in between. I'm guessing it was the windows xp machine I'm testing on. It has a know odd USB chipset.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
carpman
post Oct 30 2004, 05:17 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,070



Ack! Theres the bug you were talking about. Not accepting device ID with error -71. I suppose I need to get OE running so I can build the modules and see if it happens there. Anyone know where to download the toolchain, btw, the link from the OE wiki is dead.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Oct 31 2004, 01:57 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



You only need the 2.95.3 toolchain which is @ http://handhelds.org/download/toolchain/ar...-2.95.3.tar.bz2

All other toolchains are built by OE during the process.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Oct 31 2004, 03:52 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
I'm using the binaries from http://sgp.zaurii.net/binaries/ .


I didn't realise my site was still up :-)

There are two long threads about getting this working (in the General Discussion part of the forum I think) and in one of them someone listed a patch to make mass storage work with the Collie machines.

I'm not quite sure what the rmmod'ing problem is, and have been a bit too busy to try to track it down. Can anyone think of any reasons (or a method to debug this) as it would be good to get it working.

The modules don't have any errors when insmod'ed (other than a taint warning), but then it falls over when I try to rmmod pxa_bi (to go back to net mode) - I'm told that it is busy (even though the mass strorage device has been umounted, etc.).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
carpman
post Oct 31 2004, 11:02 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,070



Yes, I'm getting that same error on my collie. I'll get that kernel compile going soon, but now.. off to work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
panyo
post Dec 28 2004, 08:01 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 3-February 04
Member No.: 1,688



Has there been any progress on getting this to work on Collie? Has OZ 3.5.2 made things any better for getting the Z to work as a USB mass storage device? Not having to carry around a flash card reader would be nice. As far as I know, it is not possible to connect the Zaurus to, for example, a public lab computer and get internet access through USB, so mass storage mode would be very helpful in these contexts.

Please let me know if I am wrong and either of these things works: USB mass storage, or USB internet w/o administrator privilages.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Dec 29 2004, 06:14 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



USB mass storage works (with occasional lock-ups), grab the sa1100_bi.o and storage_fd.o modules and use them with the start_storage.sh and start_net.sh scripts.

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
panyo
post Dec 29 2004, 03:55 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 3-February 04
Member No.: 1,688



Ok,
I used
CODE
ar -x

to extract the .ipkg file from :
http://students.bath.ac.uk/enpsgp/Zaurus/u...0_OZ_SA_arm.ipk
I copied the two modules you mentioned to the path in the two scripts
you mentioned posted at :
http://www.oesf.org/forums/inde...\.sh&st=45
Running the storage script, I get a couple of no licence warnings. Then I place the Z in the cradle.
When I tried to mount it, I got this error:
CODE
# mount /mnt/zaurus/
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda,
      or too many mounted file systems


I also tried mounting by hand with
CODE
# mount -t msdos /dev/sda /mnt/zaurus

with the same result. Plugging in to an OSX machine did nothing-- no volume mounted.
Mounting a CF reader worked fine.

Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Dec 29 2004, 04:19 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



Check your dmesg output, it could mount as any of these

/dev/sda
/dev/sda1
/dev/sdb
/dev/sdb1

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
panyo
post Dec 29 2004, 05:50 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 3-February 04
Member No.: 1,688



QUOTE(Greg2 @ Dec 29 2004, 06:19 PM)
Check your dmesg output, it could mount as any of these

/dev/sda
/dev/sda1
/dev/sdb
/dev/sdb1

Greg

Greg2:
Thanks. It looks like it is trying to mount on sda, but there is a problem. I get more or lest this
message over and over in dmesg:

CODE
Device busy for revalidation (usage=1)
Device 08:00 not ready.
I/O error: dev 08:00, sector 0
FAT: unable to read boot sector
Device not ready.  Make sure there is a disc in the drive.
sda: Unit Not Ready, sense:
Info fld=0xa00 (nonstd), Current 00:00: sns = 70  2
Raw sense data:0x70 0x00 0x02 0x00 0x00 0x0a 0x00 0x00
sda : READ CAPACITY failed.
sda : status = 1, message = 00, host = 0, driver = 08
Info fld=0xa00 (nonstd), Current sd00:00: sns = 70  2
Raw sense data:0x70 0x00 0x02 0x00 0x00 0x0a 0x00 0x00
sda : block size assumed to be 512 bytes, disk size 1GB.  
sda: test WP failed, assume Write Enabled
/dev/scsi/host1/bus0/target0/lun0: I/O error: dev 08:00, sector 0
I/O error: dev 08:00, sector 0
unable to read partition table
Device not ready.  Make sure there is a disc in the drive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Dec 30 2004, 03:28 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Presumably you overwrote: /lib/modules/2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix/kernel/drivers/usb/device/bi/sa1100_bi.o

You should have anyway.

I'm not sure about your error; it looks very similar to the ones I was getting when I was trying to work out whether mass storage was in fact possible. You might go back and look at the original two threads where I (with help from others) kept beating my head against the brick wall until it eventually worked ;-)

Have you tried suspending, then plugging in? Or try re-running the storage script to see whether it'll wake up if the modules are re-loaded? Were there any errors about not being able to rmmod modules?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Greg2
post Dec 30 2004, 07:42 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 790
Joined: 28-October 03
From: USA
Member No.: 792



As lardman has already noted this was not easy at first.

What is your
cat /proc/version

This didn't seem to work properly until 2.4.22 > and later?
Have you created the zaurus directory?
I don't have a lot of time right now but you can try this

$su
#dmesg -c

plug in the Z

#dmesg

If it still looks like sda and the right file system do

#mount /dev/sda /mnt/zaurus

if that doesn't work, try

#mount -t vfat /dev/sda /mnt/zaurus

If that doesn't work I would post your output on linuxquestions.org

You can make this work... but it will be a problem on a public pc w/o su... which is what you want to do.

Greg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 07:48 AM