OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> C1000 Fails To Mount Cf
Morph
post Dec 10 2007, 02:24 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 21,018



Hi,
Well I've googled myself silly so I'll come here and try to buy a vowel ...
Recently acquired a C1000 off ebay.
Got myself an ADATA 16Gb cf
It does not automount. I've tried Angstrom, pdaX current, pdaXii13 (now installed)
I even just tried flashing via (my collies 1Gb FAT16 ADATA) cf, the cf updater doesn't see it.
Sigh, so I figure I'm looking down the barrel of hardware failure.

On the other hand, the applet sees it, cardctl ident sees it,

Socket 0:
no product info available (hmm worrying, collie gives "","CF 1GB","")
manfid 0x000a,0x0000
function: 4 (fixed disk) (hmm, promising)

no joy from
mount /mnt/cf
/dev/hda1 is not a valid block device
, nor cardctl resume / suspend / status (says ready)
tried /etc/rc.d/init.d/pcmcia restart, nope

dmesg gives
ide-cs: GetFirstTuple: no more items
on insert and
pxa_pcmcia_init(0)
on removal

So, anyone got any ideas or further tests or did the collie just inherit the upgrade of it's dreams ???

Help,
Morph
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 11 2007, 01:27 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



check that the card has a partition table - windows will quite happily mount a card without one, but linux automounters require it.

use "fdisk -l" to view all disks' tables

if you need a table, "fdisk /dev/hda" and create a partition table, set the type to fat16/lba (I think), then write the table, then mkfs.fat -t 16 /dev/hda1

eject (cardctl eject 0) and reinsert (cardctl insert 0) and see what happens.

oh yeah, doing the above will wipe the card so be sure to backup any data first!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Dec 12 2007, 11:53 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Or you could try mounting it as-is just to make sure it's not a hardware issue/get data onto your Z:

CODE
mount /dev/hda /mnt/cf


Not that there's anything wrong with the above method. I'm just trying to expand your options.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Morph
post Dec 13 2007, 01:57 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 21,018



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Dec 12 2007, 07:27 AM) *
check that the card has a partition table - windows will quite happily mount a card without one, but linux automounters require it.

>Thanks, but windows has yet to touch this, it used to touch my house, but no more, just at work, sigh

use "fdisk -l" to view all disks' tables
>$ fdisk -l /dev/sdb

>Disk /dev/sdb: 1039 MB, 1039417344 bytes
>32 heads, 62 sectors/track, 1023 cylinders
>Units = cylinders of 1984 * 512 = 1015808 bytes

> Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
>/dev/sdb1 1 1023 1014785 6 FAT16

>This from ubuntu (actually a vmware ubuntu under osx that I use to talk to the Z, but I've checked against my ubuntu server and debian router) using a card reader.
> I now have two, in case that was the problem. See my final reply for more details.

if you need a table, "fdisk /dev/hda" and create a partition table, set the type to fat16/lba (I think), then write the table, then mkfs.fat -t 16 /dev/hda1

eject (cardctl eject 0) and reinsert (cardctl insert 0) and see what happens.

oh yeah, doing the above will wipe the card so be sure to backup any data first!


Yep, thanks, solid stuff but I've been there already.
Morph
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Morph
post Dec 13 2007, 02:10 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 21,018



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Dec 13 2007, 05:53 AM) *
Or you could try mounting it as-is just to make sure it's not a hardware issue/get data onto your Z:

CODE
mount /dev/hda /mnt/cf


Not that there's anything wrong with the above method. I'm just trying to expand your options.


Yep, I did that for sh%%s and giggles a while ago, no dice.

But wait, the story gets wierder, now the collie (OZ 3.5.4) won't see them (2 CFs, 1GB and 16GB) either, it used to live on the 1Gb and once saw the 16 but after enough playing around now it won't. Have I found the first Z virus ? (joke, I've nuked (flashed) the akita a few times now).
I've ruled out usb card reader issues by getting two, both of which read them fine, I've tried formatting under debian and ubuntu, same.
Not good.
Perhaps the akita is a card eater, but only for Zs, wierd.

I think that it's wise to leave it alone, in the manner of the patient who says to his doctor, "When I do this it hurts."
The doctor repies, "Well, don't do that."

Bugger, there goes my ipod killer smile.gif

Happy enough with what does work, usb abd sd will have to suffice.

Can we really play with sdhc these days ?

Cheers and thanks,
Morph
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Dec 13 2007, 06:36 AM
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



does anything appear in your logs - "dmesg | tail -100" when you've inserted the card and manually tried to mount it?

do you have the vfat module in your kernel "lsmod | grep vfat"?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Morph
post Dec 15 2007, 07:12 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 21,018



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Dec 14 2007, 12:36 AM) *
does anything appear in your logs - "dmesg | tail -100" when you've inserted the card and manually tried to mount it?

do you have the vfat module in your kernel "lsmod | grep vfat"?


OK, it's hardware, broken pin, for reference third from the left on the top row.

Sorry for wasting time, it looked ok in bad light.

So, what's the risk analysis on replacing the cf socket, heard of anyone doing so successfully ?

But first I'll probably try popping a broken off pin into the appropriate card hole and see if that works. If so gaff tape smile.gif I'll live with it for 16Gb

Thanx,
Morph
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Dec 15 2007, 07:52 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



If that doesn't work, you could talk to Antikx about modding wireless and stuff into the empty slots. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th July 2014 - 04:25 PM