OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> GSM CF Card: C860 as Cellphone
ContinentalOp
post Jun 1 2004, 06:23 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 30-May 04
Member No.: 3,500



Has anyone has any luck in using the C860 as a cellphone?

There are a number of CF GSM adaptors, but they come with software for PocketPC and Windows OSs only. Has anyone, in all of their Linux travels, seen any kind of software that might work, in conjunction with one of these cards, on the C860?

Here are a few such cards:

One for GSM networks:
http://www.laipac.com/gsm-gprs-compact-flash-card.htm

One for 3G:
http://www.3g.co.uk/PR/Oct2003/6030.htm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZeeUser
post Jul 24 2004, 08:02 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 27-January 04
Member No.: 1,559



These CF cards are Zaurus-compatable:
Audiovox RTM-8000(d) GSM/SPRS CF Card (scroll to bottom)
The difference between the 8000 and the 8000d is that the 8000d is supposedly data-only. However, from what I've been told (not tested yet) the 8000d is the same card, only it does not come with the special 4-conductor headset required for voice calls.

There is no GUI (that I am aware of) for the Zaurus for making voice calls with the RTM-8000; the only way I know to do this is through the console. See this How-To for more info (voice call info is at the end of Tamarian's How-To)

Hope this helps!

BTW, I have an RTM-8000d for sale if anyone is interested.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tamarian
post Jul 24 2004, 05:10 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 1,617



I use the RTM-8000 on my C760. I use it for data only, as I have no voice plan. I've heard from other users that they can use it for voice as well, but through command line AT-type commands, to dial, answser and hangup.

It's been a great help for me, for SSH and email while on the road. Hard to do with a WiFi.

EDIT: Check the How-to link posted by ZeeUser smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shinoSetsuna
post Sep 21 2004, 01:52 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 3-September 04
Member No.: 4,453



QUOTE(tamarian @ Jul 25 2004, 01:10 AM)
I use the RTM-8000 on my C760. I use it for data only, as I have no voice plan. I've heard from other users that they can use it for voice as well, but through command line AT-type commands, to dial, answser and hangup.

It's been a great help for me, for SSH and email while on the road. Hard to do with a WiFi.

EDIT: Check the How-to link posted by ZeeUser smile.gif

tamarian, can you tell me if you are getting GPRS data through this device, or just regular dial-up access? such a feature would be very useful to me, but i'd hate my providers GPRS service to sit idle..!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Sep 21 2004, 04:35 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



personally in france I get GPRS. data is working. regading the 8000d, you need the very special headset sold with the 8000. I tried to purchase a similar one (4 pin 2.5 mmm) made for motorola phones - it fits in my sl 6000; let me listed to mp3 or record voice memos, but when I plug it in the audiovox it doesn't work at all.

Doing some tests with a multimeter I realised that the 2 headsets are different. I get approx 150 ohms between pin 2 and 4 on the audiovox that I don't get on the motorola. maybe that's why it's not working, or maybe more fixes are required

PS: I'm now working on a dialer suite to use my zaurus like I did with my tungsten W
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tamarian
post Oct 1 2004, 05:28 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 1,617



QUOTE(shinoSetsuna @ Sep 21 2004, 01:52 PM)
QUOTE(tamarian @ Jul 25 2004, 01:10 AM)
I use the RTM-8000 on my C760. I use it for data only, as I have no voice plan. I've heard from other users that they can use it for voice as well, but through command line AT-type commands, to dial, answser and hangup.

It's been a great help for me, for SSH and email while on the road. Hard to do with a WiFi.

EDIT: Check the How-to link posted by ZeeUser smile.gif

tamarian, can you tell me if you are getting GPRS data through this device, or just regular dial-up access? such a feature would be very useful to me, but i'd hate my providers GPRS service to sit idle..!

Yes, it's GPRS data. I'm not subscribed to voice/GSM, since they offer data only plan as an option.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dsavard
post Oct 1 2004, 09:01 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 12-August 04
From: Somewhere near Montreal, QC Canada
Member No.: 4,267



FYI, there was already a discussion running on the General Zaurus forum.
Using the Zaurus as a cellphone.

Since this topic is not model oriented, perhaps we should merge both discussions rather than letting them running separately and duplicate the info.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2014 - 01:50 AM