OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bricked Sl-5500?
mtfbwy
post Oct 3 2005, 10:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,976



Okay, I decided to go back to the Sharp ROM after playing around with OZ and just can't get anything to work! I downloaded several ROM's but I always get the same result. When I boot the Z, I get a message that "An error occurred during the file system check. Dropping you to a shell." I can't do anything from here. I checked the flash in the maintenance menu and it checks out fine. I even tried going back to OZ and that did not work.

Any help here would be appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mtfbwy
post Oct 3 2005, 11:08 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,976



Okay, I was able to get OZ back on but I'd really like to know why I can't go back to the Sharp ROM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
craigtyson
post Oct 3 2005, 11:40 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-June 04
Member No.: 3,698



If you do a search there are a few threads by Mickey on how to restore the 5500 to Sharpdom.

One thisng to check. Is the image you'r flashing corrupt? do an md5 to see
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mtfbwy
post Oct 4 2005, 06:20 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,976



From everything I've read, all I should have to do is reflash to the old ROM. Unfortunately, it never works! I can go back to OZ but flashing to the original Sharp ROM always produces some error in the filesystem. I can only assume that something in the OZ install has prevented me from going back to the old ROM.

QUOTE(craigtyson @ Oct 3 2005, 11:40 AM)
If you do a search there are a few threads by Mickey on how to restore the 5500 to Sharpdom.

One thisng to check.  Is the image you'r flashing corrupt?  do an md5 to see
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mtfbwy
post Oct 4 2005, 06:23 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,976



Strange, this last flash seems to have worked. I got the fsck prompt and then reset and it came back.

QUOTE(mtfbwy @ Oct 4 2005, 06:20 AM)
From everything I've read, all I should have to do is reflash to the old ROM. Unfortunately, it never works! I can go back to OZ but flashing to the original Sharp ROM always produces some error in the filesystem. I can only assume that something in the OZ install has prevented me from going back to the old ROM.

QUOTE(craigtyson @ Oct 3 2005, 11:40 AM)
If you do a search there are a few threads by Mickey on how to restore the 5500 to Sharpdom.

One thisng to check.  Is the image you'r flashing corrupt?  do an md5 to see
*

*

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2014 - 01:30 PM