OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

11 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko Kernel For Sl-5500/5000d
Snake
post Jul 17 2004, 10:07 AM
Post #76





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 26-June 04
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Member No.: 3,836



Hi maslovsky,

first your 64-0-ROM for SL-5500 is great work! Thanks for it. :-)

Well, I've some questions about it...


With the new ROM I've found a "Language"-Application on settings-menu, but no information about. What can I do with it, but how can I install more lanugages (shows only english at this time).

With this kernel I should get the whole 64 MB as RAM/Main Memory, right? Well, I'm sure It was at first time I've startet system information. But now, after some installations, system information shows around 47 MB as whole RAM. Any ideas why this could be?

Thanks
Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Jul 19 2004, 07:15 AM
Post #77





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



QUOTE
With the new ROM I've found a "Language"-Application on settings-menu, but no information about. What can I do with it, but how can I install more lanugages (shows only english at this time).


Yes, you can try language packages from OPIE, but they may not work...

QUOTE
With this kernel I should get the whole 64 MB as RAM/Main Memory, right? Well, I'm sure It was at first time I've startet system information. But now, after some installations, system information shows around 47 MB as whole RAM. Any ideas why this could be?


Unfortunately, this is an issue with this kernel (slightly wrong build configuration). It was only found a couple of weeks ago or so after the kernel was out for a while. I hope to get it fixed with the next version, but I can't tell exactly when...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chyang
post Aug 9 2004, 04:07 AM
Post #78





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-June 03
From: Beijing,China
Member No.: 156



maslovsky:
Would you like to kindly merge v2.6 series net/irda/parameters.c's function irda_extract_integer to current kernel and compile one version?
I have problem in sending files via winxp machines to Zaurus. Too frequent disconnection due to incompatible parameter:
" invalid parameter length! Expected 1 bytes, but value had 2 bytes!\n"
I looked into v2.6's kernel source, it seems that it has fixed the problem: it will just print the error message and continue the processing.
Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chyang
post Aug 9 2004, 04:15 AM
Post #79





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-June 03
From: Beijing,China
Member No.: 156



maybe I'm wrong, it seems that you have applied the patch for IRDA. Don't know what the solutions is for the problem. sad.gif
It seems that remove the irda patch would solve the problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ageiron
post Sep 24 2004, 09:25 AM
Post #80





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15-April 04
Member No.: 2,868



QUOTE
QUOTE
With this kernel I should get the whole 64 MB as RAM/Main Memory, right? Well, I'm sure It was at first time I've startet system information. But now, after some installations, system information shows around 47 MB as whole RAM. Any ideas why this could be?


Unfortunately, this is an issue with this kernel (slightly wrong build configuration). It was only found a couple of weeks ago or so after the kernel was out for a while. I hope to get it fixed with the next version, but I can't tell exactly when...

Hi Maslovski,

I am using the rom everyday and an very grateful for the work you are doing for all the SL-5500/5000D users out there that cannot afford a newer model.

I have a quick question: do you have an ETA for the new version of the rom so that it can use the full 64MB ram? It wiill be of great help for me

Thanks !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chaokuo
post Oct 22 2004, 11:48 AM
Post #81





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 16-October 04
Member No.: 5,046



Running on the 64-0 kernel, and it seems that whenever the pda resumes from suspension, the bottom taskbar doesn't show anything but black. So I have to click on different parts to make it redraw itself.

But my real problem is it seems that after resuming from suspension, I can't start anymore new programs. The hourglass will show up for a while and then disappear, but nothing else shows up. Anyone experiencing similar problems?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chaokuo
post Oct 22 2004, 12:13 PM
Post #82





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 16-October 04
Member No.: 5,046



I left a file manager on before I press the cancel(on/off) buton to suspend zaurus, and after I resumed, it seems that the sd card is not properly mounted. There seem to be fewer folders and they are mostly empty. Anyway to fix that?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Oct 24 2004, 01:42 PM
Post #83





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



I am running SL-5500 with Sharp Rom 3.13.

I installed the new Cacko Kernel for SL-5500 32-30.

My main interest was to have the battery applet show the correct percentages (which it does).

I have absolutely no problem with booting up, and all my applications work perfectly.

The only problem I have is what was reported in a previous post by Xaser, that when I plug in my charger (I don't use the cradle), the charge light flashes.
I tried doing a suspend, then plugging in the charger as suggested.
This works sometimes, but most of the time it doesn't work.
I have to keep playing with it to get the light to stay on steady.

Has this problem been addressed recently, and is there something else I should know about.

I have read through this whole thread twice and do not see any other posts regarding it, or any others complaining about it, only the one above mentioned previous post.

Other than this problem, the kernel seems to work perfectly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kurnl
post Oct 24 2004, 09:20 PM
Post #84





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 24-October 04
Member No.: 5,190



I have had the same problem with the charge light in the past. You may try reseating the battery and maybe even try cleaning the connections. There may also be a bad charger connection involved. I am not really sure how the problem went away when I had it. I do know that my battery was not being charged when the light was blinking.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maslovsky
post Oct 25 2004, 01:47 AM
Post #85





Group: Members
Posts: 1,426
Joined: 22-October 03
Member No.: 89



This is a known problem with this kernel version. Try to reinsert the connector a few times, or try plugging it with zaurus suspended, etc. I know it may be annoying, but I wasn't able to figure out the problem...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Oct 25 2004, 04:50 AM
Post #86





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



QUOTE(maslovsky @ Oct 25 2004, 04:47 AM)
This is a known problem with this kernel version. Try to reinsert the connector a few times, or try plugging it with zaurus suspended, etc. I know it may be annoying, but I wasn't able to figure out the problem...

Thank you for your response, I appreciate it.
Now I have to decide if I want to deal with it or not.
My greatest concern is that I have seen posts where people have bricked their z's over battery charging issues, and I wouldn't want this to happen to mine.
Please advise whether you think this is an issue or not.
Does the kernel control the charging of the battery (seems like it has some affect on it), or does it just report the percentage of charge left in the battery?

Thanks again, Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Oct 27 2004, 07:30 AM
Post #87





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Well, here's the situation with the battery charge indicator...

With the Cacko Kernel installed, I had a very difficult time getting the Z to charge (battery light keeps flashing).
Also when it did work, there was a delay in the battery icon changing colors from blue to "charging", and when I unplugged the charger, there was also a delay from "charging" to the blue icon.

I flashed with the Sharp Rom 3.13 and when I plug in the charger, the icon change is instant, and when I unplug it is also instant.

I don't know if this has anything to do with it or not, just thought I would mention it.

As much as I like the battery level feature, I have reverted back to just the Sharp Rom.

Thank you for all your hard work, your efforts are greatly appreciated. But like you said, it is very annoying.

I would absolutely use the kernel if you figured out the problem, since I can't afford another higher-up Z, and I need all the software I can get to work on the SL-5500.

Thanks again, Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rgzu
post Oct 28 2004, 09:12 PM
Post #88





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 25-February 04
Member No.: 2,026



I have also done the same and reflashed back to the standard ROM 3.13 which was scary in itself since it wasn't that long ago that Sharp relieved me (translate: ripped off) of $108 to reflash a corrupt ROM!

I patched it with the cacko kernel so I could finally use my Sony Ericsson phone but the flashing battery light problem got to me too since I am concerned that the constant inserting and reinserting of the device to strike lucky each time in getting it to a non blinking state has me concerned that I may end up damaging the connector in the cradle. I did think about just leaving it flashing but in my bedroom overnight in the dark the blinking would get on my nerves and it sounds like the battery may not be charging properly in that state anyway which isn't good.

I tend to use the Sony Ericsson with my bluetooth Pocket PC most of the time anyway so I guess I can live without the connectivity on my Sharp for a while longer.

I heard it said that the communication problem exists because Sony Ericsson use a non standard method. If this is the case, why is it that both my Pocket PC and Palm can communicate with it, without a hitch?

Sadly, it seems that as soon as one problem is solved in a Sharp ROM, another just as serious an issue crops up sad.gif

Oh well back to the drawing board. As dougeeebear just said, if that problem can be fixed (without causing another serious problem to replace it!) then I'll happily reinstall. though smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chyang
post Oct 31 2004, 06:11 PM
Post #89





Group: Members
Posts: 271
Joined: 19-June 03
From: Beijing,China
Member No.: 156



One solution to the annoying blink problem is to reboot your Z, it will start with the LED steady. smile.gif It's not so complex. Maybe you guys can have a try. If I have time, I may look at the battery part driver for solution.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Oct 31 2004, 07:16 PM
Post #90





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



QUOTE(chyang @ Oct 31 2004, 09:11 PM)
One solution to the annoying blink problem is to reboot your Z, it will start with the LED steady. smile.gif It's not so complex. Maybe you guys can have a try. If I have time, I may look at the battery part driver for solution.

You're right. Rebooting does start the Z with the led on steady.
Nice work!!!!
It would be great if you could check out the battery driver.
Your help is certainly appreciated.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

11 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 04:37 PM