OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kphone working for PC to phone calls
seachicken
post Oct 31 2004, 03:02 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 13-October 04
Member No.: 4,979



Kphone-4.04 now working for PC-Phone calls smile.gif
I've successfully called a real phone in the UK from my Zaurus in Japan.

I've only used it with the sipphone.com service, here are my tips to get it working.
    [1] There seems to be a problem with the sipphone.com service (not kphone), I contacted their technical support and they gave me a workaround. Now by dialing 099 + country + area + number I am able to successfully make voice calls to real telephones. You should just be able to dial 00+country+area+number but this doesn't work.

    [2] I have found that the stereo headphones I have make a perfectly acceptable mic and earpiece. Just use the right ear as the earpiece and the left ear as the mic. The mic quality is not very good, but usable for phone calls. I have also used a Japanese mobile phone "hands-free" set. In this case you also need a 2.5mm->3.5mm jackplug adapter. The audio quality from this mic much louder and clearer than using headphones for a mic. A final idea for an audio setup is to get an adapter used to connect 2 mono mics into a stereo jack, you can plug a mic into one input and an earpiece into the other. I haven't tried this myself, but I think it should work.

    [3] kphone 4.04 works better than kphone-pi -0.97. Both are able to make calls, but kphone-pi cannot hang up. The application just stops responding to user input once the connection has been made. To terminate the call with kphone-pi you must kill the kppi process, and get the other party to hang up their end. Kphone 4.04 works correctly, just click the Hangup button to disconnect the call.

    [4] Both kphone and kphone-pi have problems registering with the sipphone.com service. You need to be registered with the service (the client normally registers you with sipphone.com when it starts up) before you can successfully make a call. The only way I have found to get registered is to start a second client when the first client is still running. For some reason the second client pops up a dialog box asking you for your password and then successfully registers, the first client doesn't do this and eventually times out trying to register. This is a bit messy, hopefully someone can figure out an elegant solution.
Finally, what to expect...
The calls are pretty cheap, and the audio quality is very good, however there is often a delay on the line of about one second and this is quite difficult to get used to (perhaps this delay will not be so bad when calling from the US). Also, the sipphone.com service offers 5 minutes of calls free each day to various countries, very nice, but I have yet to be able to make a free call with them with any client (including their own in WindowsXP).. this may of course change at any time, or be peculiar to my setup, since things in the world of SIP phoning seem pretty volatile.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Foxdie
post Oct 31 2004, 10:28 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Birmingham, United Kingdom
Member No.: 875



When I try to dial out (the numbers I'm trying to dial are like 00441234567890) kphone locks up (using kphone 4.04) but incoming calls work fine. I called it with my cellphone from the UK and there was like 2000+ ms (aka 2 seconds) delay.

Seems cool though, now if I only had someone to call wink.gif

PS. you can register on http://my.sipphone.com/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
seachicken
post Nov 1 2004, 02:56 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 13-October 04
Member No.: 4,979



QUOTE
When I try to dial out (the numbers I'm trying to dial are like 00441234567890) kphone locks up (using kphone 4.04)


Try dialing 099441234567890 instead (assuming you are using the sipphone.com service), and make sure that you client has registered you with sipphone.com before you try to make a call (you will need to type a password and after that there will be a blue "tick" displayed in the bottom left of the main window to indicate that you are registered (registered here means "signed on/online", rather than "signed up for the service") ).

I believe if you do both of these things, it should work (if you installed kphone-pi as well you may want to check you are running the correct program by running /usr/local/bin/kphone at the command prompt. This will provide some diagnosic output that may help too). Oh, you'll need to open/redirect ports if you are behind a firewall (the port numbers are listed somewhere on www.sippphone.com), and also possibly use their STUN server. Dialing *0 should give you a message letting you know "You are behind a SIP compatible router" or "You may experience problems".

I've used kphone 4.04 to make some pretty lengthy calls to a variety of real phones all over the world, it's only failed me once, cutting out the audio on one side of the conversation half an hour into the call. The longest call I've made has been 1 hour 20 mins.. with no problems. The delay can vary from almost nothing to a second or so. It probably depends to some extent on your ping time to the proxy01.sipphone.com server (for me about 0.15 seconds)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nyar
post Nov 1 2004, 03:20 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Australia
Member No.: 4,861



Hmm, will this work with a bluetooth headset given one has a bluetooth CF card?

That would be /really/ neat.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nyar
post Nov 1 2004, 03:21 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Australia
Member No.: 4,861



Actually, scrap that, how the hell am I going to get network activity if the bluetooth card is in instead of 802.11b? :-P

Ack, wish there was a way to have wireless + bluetooth (wireless headset + talk to phone) on the clamshells; it'd really fill in a lot of the gaps I'm experiencing now. :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deniscallies
post Nov 1 2004, 01:50 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 28-March 04
Member No.: 2,539



Hi,

Bluetooth and WLAN is possible with the AIRCABLE serial Bluetooth- Adaptor.
But how to bring a Bluetooth Headset to work?
unsure.gif

Denis
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Foxdie
post Nov 1 2004, 10:47 PM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Birmingham, United Kingdom
Member No.: 875



That would require the headset/handsfree profile which CF / serial bluetooth adapters do NOT support I'm afraid. It's a hardware limitation of the cards, not the drivers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nyar
post Nov 1 2004, 10:49 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Australia
Member No.: 4,861



Oh, damn.

Anybody want a cheap Blue Monkey CF card in Australia? Looks like I won't be using mine much...

(Damn it Sharp, why can't you release a clamshell that has wireless + bluetooth [beyond just serial] built in?)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pgas
post Nov 1 2004, 10:51 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,099
Joined: 17-December 03
From: Athens, Greece
Member No.: 1,210



There are also bluetooth handsfree sets that comes with a bluetooth transmitter that
you plug inside the audio jack.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zeigerpuppy
post Jan 30 2007, 06:57 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 23-December 05
Member No.: 8,778



I have installed kphone 4.04, works when I change
audio to /dev/audio
But I get a segmentation fault after about 1 second ofr audio
any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnsutton
post Jan 30 2007, 08:17 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Wales
Member No.: 7,019



QUOTE(zeigerpuppy @ Jan 30 2007, 03:57 PM)
I have installed kphone 4.04, works when I change
audio to /dev/audio
But I get a segmentation fault after about 1 second ofr audio
any ideas?
*


I wouldn't waste your time with kphone, as a project it seems to be virtually dead and it never worked very well anyway ;-(

The future (for zaurus users) is Ekiga! And we are nearly there...(perhaps). There is an Ekiga ipk available for r121 but I don't know how good it is because r121 is too difficult (for me) to work with. But I think there is every good reason to believe it will work well - r121 is a 2.6 kernel with alsa sound, and this seems to be important for voip clients running on (relatively) slow processors.

Hopefully at some point soon some clever person/people will do one (or more) of the following:

- backport the existing ekiga ipk back to beta3
- sort out r121
- persuade the openzaurus people (who I believe have a 2.6 kernel rom which is fairly stable) that they really need to put together an ekiga ipk.

Of these options, the first is probably the easiest and most likely to happen, but the end result may never be as good because beta3 is a 2.4 kernel (I think? I'm still on beta1 so I'm not sure.)
The second option (I'm increasingly convinced) is never going to happen.
The third option is a real unknown! Why haven't they done it already? A working voip client is such a boon (to me, anyway) that I'm at a loss to understand why it doesn't already exist!

If I could find well written documentation describing the steps required to set up a build system on a Linux desktop required for making and testing ipk's targeted to (say) a beta3 system... then I would have a go at option 1 myself. Dream on...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jan 30 2007, 09:58 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



i'm trying to compile ekiga-2.0.4 undex pdaxii13 but the ./configure complains about a gnome-doc-utils that it cannot find...


i tried --without-doc without success...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kkazakov13
post Jan 30 2007, 10:12 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 3-December 06
Member No.: 13,063



here you go:

http://z.drun.net/packages/gnome-doc-utils....0_armv5tel.ipk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jpmatrix
post Jan 30 2007, 11:31 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1,019
Joined: 15-February 05
From: France
Member No.: 6,477



QUOTE(kkazakov13 @ Jan 30 2007, 08:12 PM)


gotcha!
...
now it wants libebook...

edited: installed evolution-data-server as mentionned in another thread but it didn't help....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jan 30 2007, 01:46 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



QUOTE(jpmatrix @ Jan 30 2007, 02:31 PM)
QUOTE(kkazakov13 @ Jan 30 2007, 08:12 PM)


gotcha!
...
now it wants libebook...

edited: installed evolution-data-server as mentionned in another thread but it didn't help....
*


Perhaps it's looking for a header file?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 06:22 AM