OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Uae
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 21 2006, 03:40 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



I know it's alreayd out there, but the page it was on has gone. . . IPK for Zaurus?

Ubiquitous Amiga Emulator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kfetisov
post Mar 30 2006, 01:20 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 20-May 04
Member No.: 3,361



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Mar 21 2006, 05:40 PM)
I know it's alreayd out there, but the page it was on has gone. . . IPK for Zaurus?

Ubiquitous Amiga Emulator
*

Zaurus is too slow to emulate AMIGA computer at reasonable speed. But if you want to try it here is a link to binary:
http://www.piro.hopto.org/~piro/zaurus/emu/uae.gz

BR,

Konstantin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 30 2006, 01:48 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



It can do a 33mhz Mips PSX, but not a 7.14mhz 68k Amiga?

I'm shocked!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zeigerpuppy
post Mar 30 2006, 02:31 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 23-December 05
Member No.: 8,778



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Mar 30 2006, 01:48 AM)
It can do a 33mhz Mips PSX, but not a 7.14mhz 68k Amiga?

I'm shocked!
*


Well, it's not that simple because the Amiga was really an agglomeration of 5 custom chips, doing:
video
IO
sound
bus control
processing

That means that there is a lot more processing involved, especially considering that the processes were designed to run asynchronously. I always thought that AmigaOS would have been quite good as an embedded OS, but I guess it wasn't to be....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Mar 30 2006, 10:48 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



QUOTE(zeigerpuppy @ Mar 30 2006, 11:31 AM)
I always thought that AmigaOS would have been quite good as an embedded OS, but I guess it wasn't to be....
*


The entertaining thing is, The Zaurus 5500 was originally SUPPOSED to be an AmigaDE OS based environment, but Amiga Inc. Were as USELESS as all Amiga companies have been since 1994, and screwed it up. So, Sharp moved to Embedix.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Mar 30 2006, 10:11 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Mar 30 2006, 06:48 PM)
QUOTE(zeigerpuppy @ Mar 30 2006, 11:31 AM)
I always thought that AmigaOS would have been quite good as an embedded OS, but I guess it wasn't to be....
*


The entertaining thing is, The Zaurus 5500 was originally SUPPOSED to be an AmigaDE OS based environment, but Amiga Inc. Were as USELESS as all Amiga companies have been since 1994, and screwed it up. So, Sharp moved to Embedix.
*


ugh, ouch #&&&!!!. would have been a nice niche for amigados. Though I guess linux is more substantial, and in some sense an heir to Amiga as a sort of outlaw OS, to be dramatic about it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Mar 31 2006, 12:33 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 682
Joined: 26-December 05
From: Rochdale, Lancashire
Member No.: 8,789



AmigaOS may not have made it onto the Z but in my eyes the latest clamshell Z's might as well be called the Commodore Zaurii just coz they're the coolest computers out there. I refuse to believe that the pxa270 models, especially when overclocked, won't be able to emulate an A500- someone just has to optimise UAE enough- write a dynarec core for it maybe. I can run Neo-Geo and Atari-ST games full speed with sound on a GP2X( which runs an arm chip you can overclock to 250Mhz safely enough) so don't tell me Amiga emulation isn't possible at 624Mhz.

Makes me think- I wonder what percentage of people on this board used to own a C64 and/or Amiga? I'd bet its pretty high.

ADF- wouldn't be anything to do with Amiga Disk File would it? (Isn't that the UAE disk image file extension?)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chiark
post Mar 31 2006, 02:53 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 28-August 05
From: Leeds, England
Member No.: 7,969



it works well with the sound off under pdaxrom...

...and rich drummond is going to look at optimising for the ARM platform biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
amotyka
post Apr 14 2006, 03:15 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 9-April 06
Member No.: 9,582



I have installed uae but how do I configure it?
I get to the animated disk but I don't know how to insert disks.
Are their any instructions?

Anthony
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 07:38 PM