OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help Please With "error Linkling" ..., during package management
telemetric_au
post Apr 18 2006, 05:36 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



im quite tired after staying up late getting the interent working on z...

but now i got another prob,

if i install apps from package manager to SD it gives "Error Linkling" lines in the log near the end of the installation process, this doesnt happen if i install to root, but i need the space there, and would ideally like to put root to sd thus freeing up that space for more ram ??

tried a few times with some luck...

so if any ione can point me to an existing discussion or put me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated...

thankyou...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 19 2006, 01:00 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



This is using the GUI package manager?

Do the apps work, perhaps the message is warning that it cannot link things like /usr/bin (which is normal).

Otherwise try using ipkg-link.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 19 2006, 01:21 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



yes in gui,

they dont work, and there can be quite a few of these errors in a row...

the apps do work though if installed to root and run from there...

ive seen the ipkg-link term mentioned before but havnt tried it as kant access any info on it... maybe i can get synopsis or guide...

will just do an install now and get a copy of the log.. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 19 2006, 02:07 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



at the moment im running a sd file syetem config that's prettty pasic from this post:

http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=4514&st=0#

it may have something to do with it, im not going to worry too much more about this problem until i can get my whole fs onto sd and free up all built-in mem for ram...

maybe someone can suggest a method that works well for them... have tried downloading the "tar ball" from the opz site and setting that up via altboot menu, but after installation it wont boot from it... mad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Apr 19 2006, 02:53 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



If you want all of the RAM available just make sure you use the 64-0 kernel.

If you want to install everything to SD you'd be best-off using hentges: http://www.hentges.net/misc/openzaurus/index.shtml, lots of info about this on the forum too.

If you use hentges, then you probably don't need ipkg-link (I've not used it) as you can install to what the Zaurus thinks is root, but is actually the SD card. I may be wrong here though.

To use ipkg-link
------------------

ipkg-link is used to create symlinks from files installed to one of the mount points to their correct location under /.

To use ipkg-link, the appropriate mount point must be listed in /etc/ipkg.conf (lines starting with 'dest'.)

For the case of a dest line like this: dest card /media/card/packages

You would invoke ipkg-link like so: ipkg-link mount /media/card/packages

This will link all of the packages installed to that mount point. Other options are given at the command prompt if you invoke ipkg-link with no arguments.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 19 2006, 03:10 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



im running 64-0 allready but it seems to still have a 14mb root capacity ??

unless i got the images mixed up... either way ill look into the hentges, thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post Apr 20 2006, 02:21 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



worked it out
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gepeto
post May 3 2006, 09:49 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-May 05
Member No.: 7,193



QUOTE(telemetric_au @ Apr 20 2006, 05:21 PM)
worked it out
*



How? I am having a very similar problem on my C700 with OZ..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post May 3 2006, 03:42 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



it did have something to do with being unable to make the necessary links as part of the installation on sd or cf ...

so when i started using root on via altboot loop imaging i was installing to sd still but by choosing root wink.gif so no problems...

i think it may have originally been a problem of running out of space on root for the symlinks to the sd card... possibly brought on by using all internal ram (apart from flash) for ram and not storage aka 64-0 rom ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gepeto
post May 4 2006, 03:43 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-May 05
Member No.: 7,193



IPKG Is also incredibly SLOW...

Installing a small package like opie-bartender worked fine, but took forever.. just loading the ipkg.conf file must take 30seconds... is that normal speeds?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koen
post May 4 2006, 03:55 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,014
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Enschede, The Netherlands
Member No.: 6,107



QUOTE(gepeto @ May 4 2006, 11:43 AM)
IPKG Is also incredibly SLOW...

Installing a small package like opie-bartender worked fine, but took forever.. just loading the ipkg.conf file must take 30seconds... is that normal speeds?
*


No, ipkg is really fast. It will get slow when it needs to parse huge repositories and OZ has over 12 thousand packages smile.gif You can remove some feeds if you want it to be faster.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gepeto
post May 4 2006, 04:33 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-May 05
Member No.: 7,193



QUOTE(koen @ May 4 2006, 06:55 AM)
QUOTE(gepeto @ May 4 2006, 11:43 AM)
IPKG Is also incredibly SLOW...

Installing a small package like opie-bartender worked fine, but took forever.. just loading the ipkg.conf file must take 30seconds... is that normal speeds?
*


No, ipkg is really fast. It will get slow when it needs to parse huge repositories and OZ has over 12 thousand packages smile.gif You can remove some feeds if you want it to be faster.
*




Thanks for the tip. Now, I haven't tried that many packages but I was able to install Opie-bartender fine...but kopi..no luck.. I guess I'll do some more testing tonight as I still can't use the wifi at work now..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
telemetric_au
post May 4 2006, 03:00 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 28-February 06
From: South East of South Australia
Member No.: 9,251



i prefer aqkg, with the output level set to troubleshooting do you get a progress meter of current dl'ds
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2014 - 10:14 AM