OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Usbmouse, Fastkernel, Guyhelm Rom Questions.
neuroshock
post Oct 24 2005, 10:21 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



A few quick questions.

In the new release 1.0 rc3 (or rc4 that's supposed to be coming out tonight)

Is the now famous "Fast Kernel" already a part of the rom, or does it come with the stock kernel?

Also I see that the various keyboard issues seem to be fixed BUT, can a mouse be used with the Guyhelm rom like the stock kernel/Sharp rom can with cwaig's fixes? or are those already incorporated into the rom? If not what would I need to do to get usb mouse functionality with the Guyhelm Rom?

Um while I'm thinking about it, how does the Guyhelm rom handle IR keyboards? My ThinkOutside Stowaway worked on the the standard sharp kernel with the irk package installed. Is the same fix valid here, or is that already integrated into Guyhelm Rom as well?

And last but not least, are there different memory configuration variants with Guyhelm? For example we use the os installed on an sdcard in the same way we used to do with the old cacko rom's and the sl-5500's and achieve a 64-0 memory config to maximize the mem availability for running programs on Guyhelm/sl-6600l?

Thanks a bunch,

-NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Oct 24 2005, 01:41 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



QUOTE(neuroshock @ Oct 24 2005, 10:21 AM)
A few quick questions.

In the new release 1.0 rc3 (or rc4 that's supposed to be coming out tonight)

Is the now famous "Fast Kernel" already a part of the rom, or does it come with the stock kernel?

Also I see that the various keyboard issues seem to be fixed BUT, can a mouse be used with the Guyhelm rom like the stock kernel/Sharp rom can with cwaig's fixes? or are those already incorporated into the rom?  If not what would I need to do to get usb mouse functionality with the Guyhelm Rom?

Um while I'm thinking about it, how does the Guyhelm rom handle IR keyboards? My ThinkOutside Stowaway worked on the the standard sharp kernel with the irk package installed.  Is the same fix valid here, or is that already integrated into Guyhelm Rom as well?

And last but not least, are there different memory configuration variants with Guyhelm?  For example we use the os installed on an sdcard in the same way we used to do with the old cacko rom's and the sl-5500's and achieve a 64-0 memory config to maximize the mem availability for running programs on Guyhelm/sl-6600l?

Thanks a bunch,

-NeuroShock
*



1. The fast kernel is included by default in the ROM. I try to do consistent work - include all my stuff in one easy to install thing :-) Next candidate is the fast libSDL, for which someone requested me to add a good mame support (1).

Please see externe.net/zaurus/kernel for a README explaining how to use the fast kernel on a default ROM. I do not support that - I just provide instructions. It should be enough to fix the USB/bluetooth keyboard problems, if you remove any keyboard fix you have installed.

2. A mouse can be used *by default* - whether it is usb or bluetooth. I do use a bluetooth mouse + keyboard daily. I recommand you the Stowaway because that's what I use and therefore support. Everything else may (99%) or may not (1% odds) work.

3. I dropped IR keyboard support long ago, because it was not satisfied hardware wise and software wise. The hardware requires a line of sight. The software is not standard, and can not work in console mode. I could try to fix IRK, but it will require a IR keyboard and hacking IRK. I do not have an IR keyboard to test that.

4. Memory configuration - on the 6000 you have 64 Mb of RAM and 64 Mb of flash, half of which is writtable by default (/home) while the other half is not (/)

I changed sharp settings to have 64 mb writtable (/). There is no need to put the root filesystem on a SD, unless you have a huge root filesystem. I was asked to support (2) a huge root filesystem, which I tested and used daily, but no longer use since I couldn't get my hands on a microdrive- the default qtopia scripts wait for the SD to be mounted before starting it.

Simply put /opt on a SD, or maybe also /home with it too, and create symlinks to it. It is quite easy : format your SD in ext2, cp -adr the files, rm -fr the originals, ln -sf from the SD to the Zaurus, and voila. On next reboot, qtopia will wait for the SD to be mounted before starting. You can also specify a fsck after reboot.

(1) and (2) helped me acquire hardware I wanted to support, therefore their request went on high priority. At the moment, I'm thinking about getting a spare 6000 to work on the distribution, because I use my 6000 daily - it's a work tool. I was offered a dead 6000 to practice on the flash and ram upgrade, which will certainly speed up everything because I wouldn't take that risk on the 6000 I need everyday. That also means I do a release only when I'm quite sure I won't do one for long time, since I must remove all my settings/put back defaults, etc. This is also why the wlan and ipkg bugs were introduced :-/

A dedicated 6000 will certainly help development. Donations to paypal@externe.net or even a working 6000 are welcome !

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Oct 24 2005, 08:06 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



Thank you!

I just finished sending you a donation! (anyone reading this who is using Guyhelm's Rom should stop what you're doing and go do the EXACT SAME THING!)

This is abnormal for me however in that I donated before I even had a working functional install of a product. I've read through the rc3 thread and the workaround's are WAY out of my league. I'm either doomed to wait for rc4, or hope that someone can sit down and send me an email telling me line by line EXACTLY what to type and what to do in order to get the major bugs fixed.

(My apologies, I'm just that dumb. I can usually muddle my way through detailed How-to's but I truly have no understanding of what I'm doing other than following the instructions!)

Guyhelm, I also have a brand new still-in-the-box Think Outside Stowaway IR keybard that I'd be happy to donate to the project if you are interested in taking on that issue. Just let me know if you want to tackle the problem and where to send it etc.

I'll make more donations as the Rom becomes useful to me, but I need to see that it will actually work for me with my particular hardware/software interests first. However; even if I have to abandon it for my own personal use, I still have no regrets with making a blind donation to a project that has already proven to be very useful to many users!

Thank you for your hard work and the support and value you add to the Sharp Zaurus SL-6000 community!

Feel free to email me when you release rc4 or when/if you can put together a detailed set of instructions (maybe a mini-How-to) on how to get my integral wifi setup, ipkg's installed etc. etc. etc.

Cheers!,

NeuroShock
dan@danzweb.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Oct 24 2005, 08:19 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



QUOTE

2. A mouse can be used *by default* - whether it is usb or bluetooth. I do use a bluetooth mouse + keyboard daily. I recommand you the Stowaway because that's what I use and therefore support. Everything else may (99%) or may not (1% odds) work.





Guyhelm In your response #2 above you recommend the Stowaway because it is what you use and therefore support. What is the exact make and model of the Stowaway keyboard that you use as I want to make sure to purchase the same one that you use in order to insure compatibility?

Thanks again,

NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Oct 24 2005, 10:23 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Probably this one.

http://www.thinkoutside.com/products_by_OS...rID=1&ModelID=2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Oct 26 2005, 05:24 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



Hello

QUOTE(neuroshock @ Oct 24 2005, 08:06 PM)
This is abnormal for me however in that I donated before I even had a working functional install of a product.  I've read through the rc3 thread and the workaround's are WAY out of my league.  I'm either doomed to wait for rc4, or hope that someone can sit down and send me an email telling me line by line EXACTLY what to type and what to do in order to get the major bugs fixed.


I'm sorry but I can't test everything. I was so sure everything was ready I posted in the Sharp ROM forum to get "end users" to try the rom.

Rc4 will be posted today.

QUOTE
Guyhelm, I also have a brand new still-in-the-box Think Outside Stowaway IR keybard that I'd be happy to donate to the project if you are interested in taking on that issue.  Just let me know if you want to tackle the problem and where to send it etc.


You're not alone with a IR keyboard so I'm interested in trying to fix it. However, I'd like to know if you do have a Thinkoutside Stoaway IR for yourself too - because I'll make sure the T.O.S IR keyboard work fine. Any different keyboard may have issue (once again 1% risk)

QUOTE
Thank you for your hard work and the support and value you add to the Sharp Zaurus SL-6000 community!


You're welcome. I do spend a lot of time, effort and money trying to do "community" stuff - usefull things like Simpad addons, SL6000 rom, cellphone software, etc. But sometimes I realise I'm spending too much in hardware - like around $400 this month - for things that only take my freetime, so I try to moderate myself through self imposed rules - like not spending money to support hardware I don't really need.

QUOTE
Feel free to email me when you release rc4 or when/if you can put together a detailed set of instructions (maybe a mini-How-to) on how to get my integral wifi setup, ipkg's installed etc. etc. etc.


The wifi icon won't be ready for rc4 - so wifi won't work unless you feel like using a script which will start the connection for you. If that case, I must know your wifi parameters to post a script here.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Oct 26 2005, 06:13 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



QUOTE(BarryW @ Oct 24 2005, 10:23 PM)


Correct - only mine is black. Had it serviced 2 times already by Dell - it breaks quite easily. Take an extended warranty with it

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Oct 26 2005, 06:16 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



QUOTE(neuroshock @ Oct 24 2005, 08:19 PM)
QUOTE

2. A mouse can be used *by default* - whether it is usb or bluetooth. I do use a bluetooth mouse + keyboard daily. I recommand you the Stowaway because that's what I use and therefore support. Everything else may (99%) or may not (1% odds) work.





Guyhelm In your response #2 above you recommend the Stowaway because it is what you use and therefore support.  What is the exact make and model of the Stowaway keyboard that you use as I want to make sure to purchase the same one that you use in order to insure compatibility?

Thanks again,

NeuroShock
*


Got:
mailbox is full: retry timeout exceeded

Another email where I can contact you?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Oct 29 2005, 05:08 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



Guyhelm,

The IR Thinkoutside Stowaway Keyboard that you will recieve soon is the exact same make and model of the one I currently use. I bought both of them at the exact same time etc. (I'm famous for buying things in duplicate- and it's saved my butt many a time when things break etc.)

You received the email error because my Greymail server settings were set a bit aggressively and it kicked you out. I did actually get the email- it just likes to make you think I didn't. I'm not sure, but sometimes I think that the software cures for spam are just as bad as the disease.

In the future, just to make sure; you can reach me at any of the following email addresses just remove the "n0spam" from each address:

dann0spam@danzweb.com
neuroshockn0spam@bigfoot.com
neuroshockn0spam@gotricounty.com

I think I might hold off on buying the bluetooth keyboard and see how things go with this IR project. I was a bit dissapointed to find out about the fragility of the unit you spoke of above. However I feel the urge to go to bluetooth getting stronger, and stronger each day! =)

I'll be sending the keyboard soon, it may take a few days to get to the post office, I am disabled and getting out of the house is a real pain (in every respect). While I am looking forward to using my IR keyboard again, I am content to wait for you to finish it- I realize you work on this stuff for free so if it takes a week or even a few weeks after you recieve it, that'll be fine.

I will post my wifi setup info to this forum for you when I get that far- for now I'm busy enough trying to get my daughter(s) sl-5500's upgraded and reloaded.

Thanks Again,

NeuroShock
Dan
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MSC_Geek
post Oct 29 2005, 07:22 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 9-May 04
From: San Luis Obispo, CA
Member No.: 3,207



Just an FYI. I have a Gyration Bluetooth mouse and keyboard that I tried out. I used the Bluetooth USB Dongle that ships with the set (had to use a goldX adapter cable). Anyway, the keyboard worked fine. All the keys were properly recognized in a console. The mouse however was stuck in the center of the screen and only moved up and down. Even that movement was kinda flaky.

I swapped out the BT mouse and keyboard and just connected a Logitech USB TracMan Wheel, which exhibited the same trouble. If anyone knows an easy fix for this, let me know. Its not a huge deal for me right now, but someday I plan to take over the world with just my Zaurus and a paperclip. It might be important then.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Oct 29 2005, 08:01 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



QUOTE(MSC_Geek @ Oct 29 2005, 03:22 PM)
Just an FYI.  I have a Gyration Bluetooth mouse and keyboard that I tried out.  I used the Bluetooth USB Dongle that ships with the set (had to use a goldX adapter cable).  Anyway, the keyboard worked fine.  All the keys were properly recognized in a console.  The mouse however was stuck in the center of the screen and only moved up and down.    Even that movement was kinda flaky. 

I swapped out the BT mouse and keyboard and just connected a Logitech USB TracMan Wheel, which exhibited the same trouble.  If anyone knows an easy fix for this, let me know.  Its not a huge deal for me right now, but someday I plan to take over the world with just my Zaurus and a paperclip.  It might be important then.
*


Thanks for the tip MSC_Geek. Exactly the kind of BT info fishing for! I hope you get the mouse issue resolved. I'll be keeping my eye on that.

Also, I have just looked at my schedule and decided that I was going to take over the world with my Z-6000K and a paperclip on November 18th. I'm pencilling it in now, if that's a good date for you feel free to join me.

P.S. I'm runnin' a bit low, so bring your own paperclip.

-NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
guylhem
post Nov 1 2005, 03:02 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 577
Joined: 17-March 04
Member No.: 2,365



hello

interesting story about the non working mouse. I will check that tomorrow with a USB mouse.

Guylhem
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Nov 4 2005, 05:29 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



QUOTE(MSC_Geek @ Oct 29 2005, 03:22 PM)
Just an FYI.  I have a Gyration Bluetooth mouse and keyboard that I tried out.  I used the Bluetooth USB Dongle that ships with the set (had to use a goldX adapter cable).  Anyway, the keyboard worked fine.  All the keys were properly recognized in a console.  The mouse however was stuck in the center of the screen and only moved up and down.    Even that movement was kinda flaky. 

I swapped out the BT mouse and keyboard and just connected a Logitech USB TracMan Wheel, which exhibited the same trouble.  If anyone knows an easy fix for this, let me know.  Its not a huge deal for me right now, but someday I plan to take over the world with just my Zaurus and a paperclip.  It might be important then.
*



MSC_Geek,

I just PMed you a message concerning your keyboard/mouse. I felt it was getting off topic or I would have just asked here. please let me know if you don't recieve the pm within 24hours or so.

Thanks,
-NeuroShock

MODERATOR: Feel free to zap this post after a day or so, thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Nov 25 2005, 01:33 AM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(guylhem @ Oct 24 2005, 10:41 PM)
QUOTE(neuroshock @ Oct 24 2005, 10:21 AM)
A few quick questions.
Also I see that the various keyboard issues seem to be fixed BUT, can a mouse be used with the Guyhelm rom like the stock kernel/Sharp rom can with cwaig's fixes? or are those already incorporated into the rom?  If not what would I need to do to get usb mouse functionality with the Guyhelm Rom?


2. A mouse can be used *by default* - whether it is usb or bluetooth. I do use a bluetooth mouse + keyboard daily. I recommand you the Stowaway because that's what I use and therefore support. Everything else may (99%) or may not (1% odds) work.


Yesterday I tried various combinations of a bus-powered USB hub, a regular PC USB keyboard (Silitek with built-in hub (branded Gateway, came from Scan.co.uk)), and a Belkin USB optical mouse.

I found that if I used the hub, off which was the keyboard and mouse, the mouse light flickered and the mouse was unreliable and even disappeared. The lights on the hub flickered a lot. The keyboard was fine when daisy-chained off the hub. Removed the mouse, hub's lights flickered a lot less.

The mouse was fine plugged directly into the Z. Then I remembered that the keyboard had its own hub (d'oh!), plugged the mouse in, and everything worked perfectly! I suspect the Z didn't like two USB hubs, or didn't have enough power to power all three devices.

So, looks like any boring USB keyboard will work, get one with built-in hub and use a regular USB mouse too. Make sure if you use a USB hub it is very low powered?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
neuroshock
post Nov 27 2005, 10:35 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 269
Joined: 12-September 04
From: North Carolina, USA
Member No.: 4,562



Speculatrix,

Cool info and thanks a bunch for it. Could you tell us what make and model usb keyboard your using that has an internal hub? I'm having trouble finding one.


IMPORTANT: Someone who had read this thread emailed me an .ipk of lirc that worked flawlessly with my Stowaway IR Keyboard on Guyhelm's Rom and Guyhelm has requested that I send it to him so he can incorporate it into the next Rom release of his. I've lost the file like the true dingleberry I am and I can't remember the name of the person who sent it to me. If your reading this PLEASE email it to me again because it will not only make Guyhelm's next Rom release more robust, but it will save him a LOT of time for once. My deepest apologies for fumbling the ball on this on guys, I'm usually not so stupidly disorganized. =(

Thanks!

-NeuroShock
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 12:38 PM